# 24.27.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY

### 000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

These rules are promulgated pursuant to Section 54-4007, Idaho Code.

### **001. SCOPE.**

These rules regulate the profession of massage therapy.

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

#### 010. **DEFINITIONS.**

**01. Approved Massage Program**. A massage therapy program conducted by an entity that is registered with the Idaho State Board of Education pursuant to Chapter 24, Title 33, Idaho Code, or with a comparable authority in another state, and that meets the entry-level educational requirements as set forth in Section 600 of these rules.

**02.** Clinical Work. Supervised hands-on clinical work by a student enrolled in a board-approved course of instruction to gain experience prior to graduation. Supervised, hands-on training in Clinical work may take place either in a classroom setting and/or in an offsite location approved by the school. The student may not hold themself out as a massage therapist nor receive compensation for services provided.

03. Code of Ethics. The Idaho Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy attached to these rules as Appendix A.

04. Standards of Practice. The Standards of Practice of Massage Therapy attached to these rules as Appendix B.

<del>011. – 199. (RESERVED)</del>

**200.** APPLICATION.

**01.** Filing an Application. Applicants for licensure must submit a complete application, verified under oath, to the Board at its official address. The application must be on the forms approved by the Board and submitted together with the appropriate fee(s) and supporting documentation.

**02. Supplemental Documents.** The applicant must provide or facilitate the provision of any supplemental third party documents that may be required under the qualifications for the license being sought.

**201. 249. (RESERVED)** 

### 250. FEES.

All fees are non-refundable except that, if a license is not issued, the license fee will be refunded

FEE TYPE	AMOUNT (Not to Exceed)
Application	\$50
Original License	\$65
Annual Renewal	\$65

)

)

License by Endorsement	\$75
Temporary License	<del>\$25</del>
Provisional Permit	\$25
Reinstatement	As provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code
Examination	Established by Administrator

## 251. -- 299. (RESERVED)

### **300. REQUIREMENTS FOR ORIGINAL LICENSURE.**

Applicants for licensure must complete an application on a board approved form submitted together with the appropriate fee(s) and proof of compliance with Idaho Code Section 54-4009.

The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure who completes an application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules and meets the following general, education, and examination requirements:

#### 01. General.

a. An applicant must provide evidence of being at least eighteen (18) years of age.

**b.** An applicant must certify that he/she has not been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude, or if the applicant has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for such a crime, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules.

**c.** An applicant must certify that he/she has not been convicted of a crime under any municipal, state, or federal narcotic or controlled substance law, or if the applicant has been convicted of such a crime, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules.

**d.** An applicant must certify that their license has not been subject to any disciplinary action by a regulatory entity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an application for licensure denied. If the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules.

**301. - 304. (RESERVED)** 

#### **305.** APPROVED EXAMINATIONS.

Approved examinations are the following examinations or another nationally recognized competency examination in massage therapy that is approved by the Board. (----)

01. Approved Examinations.

 a.
 Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) as administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB);

**b.** <u>A passing score on either the MBLEx, the NCETMB, NESL, or the NCETM examination or an examination deemed by the Board to be equivalent. National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB) or National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) as administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB), if taken before February 1, 2015</u>.

Section 000

(

)

c. Other nationally recognized competency examinations in massage therapy that are approved by the Board. A written request for approval must be submitted to the Board together with supporting documentation as may be requested by the Board.

**02.** Successful Passage. A passing score, or successful passage of the exam, will be determined by the entity administering the exam.

### **306. WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE.**

An applicant who or whose license has a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for a felony or crime involving moral turpitude, has a conviction for any crime under any municipal, state, or federal narcotic or controlled substance law, or has been subject to discipline in another state, territory or country must submit with his application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his current suitability for licensure.

**01. Consideration of Factors and Evidence**. The Board considers the factors set forth in Section 67-9411, Idaho Code.

**02.** Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. ()

**03.** Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant bears the burden of establishing his current suitability for licensure.

307.--309. (RESERVED)

#### 310. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.

The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an application as set forth in Section 200 and meets the following requirements: (\_\_\_\_\_)

01. Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current active license or certificate in good standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, issued by the authorized regulatory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirements substantially equivalent to or higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure or certification must be received by the Board from the issuing agency;

**02. Has Not Been Disciplined.** The applicant or his/her license must have not been voluntarily surrendered, revoked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant who, or whose license, has been restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules;

**03.** Is of Good Moral Character. The applicant must not have been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for any felony or any crime involving moral turpitude. If the applicant has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for such a crime the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules; and

 $\rightarrow$ 

**04. Has Not Been Convicted of a Drug Offense**. The applicant must not have been convicted of any crime under any municipal, state, or federal narcotic or controlled substance law. If the applicant has been convicted of such a crime, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules.

### 311. - 319. (RESERVED)

### **320. TEMPORARY LICENSE.**

**01. General**. Any person who has submitted to the Board a complete application for licensure by examination under Section 54 4009, Idaho Code, or by endorsement under Section 54 4010, Idaho Code, together with the required fees, may apply for a temporary license to practice massage therapy while their application is being processed by the Board.

**02. Duration**. An applicant will be issued only one (1) temporary license that will be valid for a period not to exceed four (4) months or until the Board acts upon the licensure application, whichever occurs first.

## 321. -- 329. (RESERVED)

### **330. PROVISIONAL PERMIT.**

Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees, an applicant may be issued a provisional permit to practice massage therapy if the applicant meets all the requirements for licensure under section 54-4009, Idaho Code, except for having successfully passed a nationally recognized competency examination in massage therapy that is approved by the Board as described in Subsection 305.01. While working pursuant to a provisional permit, the permit holder must be supervised by any person licensed in Idaho to provide massage therapy and whose license is in good standing.

**01. General**. A provisional permit will be issued subject to the following conditions:

**a** The applicant must certify that the applicant will take the next scheduled examination for licensure approved by the Board, and that the applicant has not failed two (2) previous examinations for licensure; and

**b.** a licensed massage therapist certifies to the Board that the applicant will practice massage therapy only under the supervision of the licensed massage therapist while both are in the same location. ()

**02. Duration and Renewal.** An applicant will be issued only one (1) provisional permit that is valid for a period not to exceed six (6) months<u>- or until the applicant is issued a temporary license or the Board acts upon the massage therapist license application, whichever occurs first. A provisional permit may <u>only</u> be renewed <u>once</u> <u>only</u> upon a showing of good cause. ()</u>

## 331. -- 399. (RESERVED)

#### 400. RENEWAL OR EXPIRATION OF LICENSE.

A license expires on the license holder's birth date. The individual must annually renew the license before the license holder's birth date. Licenses not so renewed will be immediately canceled in accordance with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code.

**01. Renewal.** A license must be renewed before it expires by submitting a complete application for renewal on forms approved by the Board together with the renewal fee. As part of a complete renewal application, the licensee will attest to completion of the required continuing education pursuant to Section 500 of these rules. False attestation of satisfaction of the continuing education requirements on a renewal application subjects the licensee to disciplinary action, including revocation.

**02. Reinstatement**. A license that has been canceled for failure to renew may be reinstated in accordance with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code.

**a.** Within five (5) years of cancellation, an applicant seeking reinstatement must submit to the Board evidence that the applicant has completed the required continuing education together with a complete renewal application and appropriate fee(s).

i. The applicant must submit evidence of completion of continuing education hours totaling the hours required at the time of cancellation and for each year the license was canceled.

ii. The applicant must pay a reinstatement fee as set forth in Section 250 of these rules. ()

**b.** After five (5) years of cancellation, the applicant will be treated as a new applicant, and application must be made on the same forms and in the same manner as an application for an original license in accordance with Section 200 of these rules.

401. -- 499. (RESERVED)

#### 500. CONTINUING EDUCATION.

All licensees must comply with the following continuing education requirements:

**01. Requirement**. Beginning with the second renewal of their license, a licensee is required to complete a minimum of six-twelve (126) hours of continuing education that is germane to the practice of massage therapy as defined in Section 54-4002, Idaho Code, which includes including one-two (21.0) hours in ethics, within the preceding twelve twenty-four (1224) months, that meet the requirements in Sections 501, 502 and 503 of these rules. ()

a. An hour is defined as fifty (50) minutes out of each sixty (60) minute segment. ( )

**b.** Continuing education credit will only be given for actual time in attendance or for the time spent participating in the educational activity.

c. The educational course setting may include a classroom, conference, seminar, on line or a virtual classroom.

**d.** If the licensee completes two (2) or more courses having substantially the same content during any one (1) renewal period, the licensee will only receive continuing education credit for one (1) of the courses. (

**02. Documentation**. Each licensee must maintain documentation verifying continuing education course attendance and curriculum, or completion of the educational activity for a period of five (5) years from the date of completion. This documentation will be subject to audit by the Board.

**a.** Documented evidence of meeting the continuing education course requirement must be in the form of a certificate or letter from the sponsoring entity that includes verification of attendance by the licensee, the title of the activity, the subject material covered, the dates and number of hours credited, and the presenter's full name and professional credentials. Documented evidence of completing a continuing education activity must be in such form as to document both completion and date of the activity.

**b.** A licensee must submit the verification documentation to the Board, if requested by the Board. In the event a licensee fails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the hours attested to on the renewal application, the licensee may be subject to disciplinary action.

**0302. Waiver**. The Board may waive the requirements of this rule for reasons of individual hardship, including health or other good cause. The licensee should request the waiver in advance of renewal and must provide any information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This waiver is granted at the sole discretion of the Board.

**04. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours**. Continuing education hours not claimed in the current renewal year may be claimed in the next renewal year. A maximum of six (6) hours may be carried forward from the immediately preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one renewal year.

05. Exemption. A licensee is exempt from the continuing education requirements under this Section

for the period between the initial issuance of the original license and the first expiration date of that license. (

#### 501. APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES.

<u>03.</u> Approved continuing education courses <u>may be provided by: are those courses and programs that</u> meet the requirements of these rules, and are approved, sponsored, or provided by the following entities or organizations, or otherwise approved by the Board:

	A College or University. A <u>a</u> ccredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency as reco States Secretary of Education; <u>or</u>	gnized
<u> </u>	—_Federal, State or Local Governmental Entities; and <u>or</u>	$\longleftrightarrow$
<u> </u>	National and State Massage Therapy Associations	( )
04. documentation must be submit	<b>Provider Course Approval.</b> Other courses may be approved by the Board based submitted by a continuing education provider. Requests for approval of courses made by the presence of a form approved by the Board that includes:	<del>upon</del> ovider ()
	The nature and subject of the course and its relevancy to the practice of massage therapy;	()
b.	The name of instructor(s) and their qualifications;	( →
<del>e.</del>	The date, time and location of the course;	$\longleftrightarrow$
<del>d.</del>	The specific agenda for the course;	( →
<u>е.</u>	The number of continuing education hours requested;	( →
f.	The procedures for verification of attendance; and	$\longleftrightarrow$
<del>g.</del>	Other information as may be requested by the Board.	( →

**h.** Upon review of all information requested, the Board may deny any request for a course that does not meet the requirements of Idaho law or rule. Board approval of a course will be granted for a period not to exceed five (5) years, or until the course materials or instructors are changed, whichever may occur first. ()

**0504.** Licensee Course Approval. Other courses may be approved by the Board based upon documentation submitted by the licensee. All requests for approval must be made to the Board in writing and will include the nature and subject of the course and, its relevancy to the practice of massage therapy, name of instructor(s) and their qualifications, date, time and locationlength of the course, and procedures for verification of attendance.

502. Continuing Education Activities.

**02.** Publishing Articles or Books. The hours awarded as determined at the discretion of the Board.

**03.** Self Study. Using books, audio tapes, video tapes, DVD's, research materials, professional publications, online sources, and/or other electronic sources/methods documented by a type written two page report

summarizing the study content.

503. CONTENT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.

The content of continuing education activities and course content must be germane to the practice of massage therapy as defined in Section 54-4002, Idaho Code, and courses in ethics must also be specific to legal issues, law, standards of practice, or ethics.

**01.** Continuing Education. Content germane to the practice of massage therapy includes, but is not limited to:

**a.** Applications of massage and bodywork therapy for specific needs, conditions, or client populations.

 C. Use of external agents such as water, sound, heat, cold, or topical applications of plant or mineralbased substances.
 (\_\_\_\_)

d. Body-centered or somatic psychology, psychophysiology, or interpersonal skills which may include communication skills, boundary functions, dual relationships, transference, counter transference, and projection.

e. Standards of practice, professional ethics, or state laws. ()

f. Strategies for the marketing of massage and bodywork therapy practices. ()

g. Theory or practice of ergonomics as applied to therapists or clients.

i. Body sciences, which may include anatomy, physiology, kinesiology or pathology, as they apply to massage therapy.

\_\_\_\_\_j. Certified CPR or first aid training.

504. -- 599. (RESERVED)

#### 600. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM STANDARDS.

Approved educational programs are those programs conducted by an entity that meet the definition in Section 010 and that consist of a minimum of five hundred three-hundred ninety (500390) hours of in-class supervised hours of coursework and elinical one-hundred ten (110) hours supervised clinical work that meets the following entry level educational standards as set by the Board.:

<del>01.</del>	Coursework Content and Hours. Coursework must include the following content area	<del>as and</del>
minimum hours:		$( \longrightarrow )$
<del>8.</del>	Two hundred (200) hours in massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application;	<i>(</i> →
<b>b.</b> kinesiology;	One hundred twenty five (125) hours in body systems including anatomy, physiolog	<del>y, and</del> ()
<del>c</del> .	Forty (40) hours in pathology;	()

Twenty five (25) hours in business and ethics; and
 O2. Clinical Work. A minimum of one hundred ten (110) hours must be clinical work.

**a.** Students are not permitted to render any clinical services to clients until students have completed at least twenty percent (20%) of the required hours of instruction. ( )

**b.** All clinical services must be performed under the supervision of a person fully licensed.

### 601. SUPERVISION.

**01. Supervision of Clinical Work**. The supervising massage therapist must consult with the student, evaluate student performance and be physically present and available to render direction in person and on the premises where massage therapy is being provided.

**02.** Supervision of Fieldwork. The supervising massage therapist must be available to render direction either in person or by means of telecommunications but is not required to be physically present on the premises where massage therapy is being provided.

602. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. SCOPE OF PRACTICE. All licensees must practice in a competent manner consistent with their level of education, training, and experience.

### 701. -- 749. (RESERVED)

### 750. STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.

All licensees must comply with the Idaho Standards of Practice for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and attached as Appendix B.

751. -- 799. (RESERVED)

## 800. CODE OF ETHICS.

All licensees must comply with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and attached to these rules as Appendix A.

#### 801. -- 899. (RESERVED)

#### 900. DISCIPLINE.

If the Board determines that grounds for discipline exist for violations of Title 54, Chapter 40, Idaho Code, violations of these rules, or both, it may impose disciplinary sanctions against the licensee including, without limitation, any or all of the following: ()

01.	Refuse License. Refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate a license;	( )	)

02. Revoke License. Revoke or suspend the licensee's license(s); ( )

**03.** Restrict License. Condition, r<u>R</u>estrict, or limit the licensee's practice, license, or both; ( )

**04.** Administrative Fine. Impose an administrative fine not to exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000) for each violation of the Board's laws or rules; and/<u>or</u> ()

**05.** Licensee Costs. Order a licensee to pay the costs and fees incurred by the Board in the investigation, prosecution, or both, of the licensee for violation(s) of the Board's laws, rules, or both.

## <del>901. --</del> 999. (RESERVED)

# IDAHO BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY CODE OF ETHICS -- APPENDIX A

Preamble: This Code of Ethics is a summary statement of the standards of conduct that define ethical practice of massage therapy. All licensees are responsible for maintaining and promoting ethical practice.

A licensee shall:

**1.** Conduct all business and professional activities honestly and within their scope of practice and all applicable legal and regulatory requirements.

2. Inform clients of the limitations of the licensee's practice, the limitations of massage therapy, and the contraindications for massage therapy.

3. Refer the client to other professionals or services if the treatment or service is beyond the licensee's scope of practice.

4. Not engage in any sexual conduct, sexual activities, or sexualizing behavior involving a client, even if the client attempts to sexualize the relationship. Sexual activity includes any verbal and/or nonverbal behavior for the purpose of soliciting, receiving, or giving sexual gratification.

5. Be truthful in advertising and marketing, and not misrepresent services, charges for services, credentials, training, experience or results.

6. Safeguard the confidentiality of all client information, unless disclosure is requested by the client in writing or as allowed or required by law.

7. Obtain informed and voluntary consent from clients.

8. Allow a client the right to refuse, modify or terminate treatment regardless of prior consent given.

9. Provide draping and treatment in a way that ensures the safety, comfort, and privacy of the client.

**10.** Possess the right to refuse to treat any person or part of the body.

11. Refuse any gifts or benefits that are intended to influence a referral, decision, treatment or the professional relationship between the licensee and the client.

**12.** Report to the Idaho Board of Massage Therapy any unlicensed practice of massage therapy, and any evidence indicating unethical, incompetent or illegal acts committed by a licensee or individual.

**13.** Do no harm to the physical, mental, and emotional well being of clients.

# IDAHO BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY STANDARDS OF PRACTICE --APPENDIX B

## Standard I: Professionalism

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Cooperate with any Board investigation regarding any alleged violation of the Massage Therapy law or rules.

2. Use professional verbal, nonverbal, and written communications.

**3.** Provide an environment that is safe for the client and which meets all legal requirements for health and safety.

4. Use standard precautions to ensure professional hygienic practices and maintain a level of personal hygiene appropriate for practitioners in the therapeutic setting.

5. Wear clothing that is clean and professional.

6. Obtain voluntary and informed consent from the client, or written informed consent from client's legal guardian, prior to initiating the treatment plan.

7. If applicable, conduct an accurate needs assessment, develop a plan of care with the client, and update the plan as needed.

**8.** Use appropriate draping to protect the client's physical and emotional privacy. When clients remain dressed for seated massage or sports massage, draping is not required.

9. Not practice under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any illegal substances, with the exception of legal or prescribed dosage of medication which does not impair the licensee.

## Standard II: Legal and Ethical Requirements

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Maintain accurate and complete client billing and records. Client Records includes notes written by a licensee and kept in a separate client file that indicates the date of the session, areas of complaint as stated by client, and observations made and actions taken by the licensee.

2. Report within thirty (30) days to the Idaho Board of Massage Therapy any felony or misdemeanor criminal convictions of the licensee.

## **Standard III: Confidentiality**

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Protect the confidentiality of the client's identity in conversations, all advertisements, and any and all other matters unless disclosure of identifiable information is requested or permitted by the client in writing or is required or allowed by law.

2. Protect the interests of clients who are minors or clients who are unable to give voluntary and informed consent by securing written informed consent from an appropriate third party or guardian.

- **3.** Solicit only information that is relevant or reasonable to the professional relationship.
- **4.** Maintain the client files for a minimum period of seven (7) years.
- 5. Store and dispose of client files in a secure manner.

## **Standard IV: Business Practices**

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Not use sensational, sexual, or provocative language and/or pictures to advertise or promote their business.

**2.** Display/discuss a schedule of fees in advance of the session that is clearly understood by the client or potential client.

3. Make financial arrangements in advance that are clearly understood by, and safeguard the best interests of, the client or consumer.

# **Standard V: Roles and Boundaries**

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Not participate in client relationships that could impair professional judgment or result in exploitation of the client.

# Standard VI: Prevention of Sexual Misconduct

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Not engage in any behavior that sexualizes, or appears to sexualize, the client/licensee relationship.

2. Not participate in a sexual relationship or sexual conduct with the client, whether consensual or otherwise, from the beginning of the client/licensee relationship and for a minimum of twelve (12) months after the termination of the client/licensee relationship.

3. In the event that the client initiates sexual behavior, clarify the purpose of the therapeutic session and, if such conduct does not cease, terminate or refuse the session.