24.27.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY. These rules are promulgated pursuant to Section 54-4007, Idaho Code.	()
001. SCOPE. These rules regulate the profession of massage therapy.	()
002 009. (RESERVED)		
010. DEFINITIONS.		
01. Approved Massage Program . A massage therapy pregistered with the Idaho State Board of Education pursuant to Chapt comparable authority in another state, and that meets the entry-level education of these rules.	er 24, Title 33, Idaho Code, or with tional requirements as set forth in Section	a
O2. Clinical Work. Supervised hands-on clinical work by course of instruction to gain experience prior to graduation. Supervised, ha place either on campusa classroom setting excluding instructional hours, school. The student may not hold themself out as a massage therapis provided.	nds-on training in Clinical work may tak or in an offsite location approved by the	<u>ce</u> 1e
03. Code of Ethics. The Idaho Code of Ethics for Mass Appendix A.	age Therapy attached to these rules (1S)
94. Standards of Practice. The Standards of Practice of M Appendix B.	assage Therapy attached to these rules (1S)
011. – 199. (RESERVED)		
200. APPLICATION.		
01. Filing an Application. Applicants for licensure must under oath, to the Board at its official address. The application must be submitted together with the appropriate fee(s) and supporting documentation.	on the forms approved by the Board an	
O2. Supplemental Documents. The applicant must prove supplemental third party documents that may be required under the qualification.	ide or facilitate the provision of an ations for the license being sought.	1y -)
201. – 249. (RESERVED)	,	

All fees are non-refundable except that, if a license is not issued, the license fee will be refunded

FEE TYPE	AMOUNT (Not to Exceed)
Application	\$50
Original License	\$65

YDunbar_01122023 Section 000 Page 1

Annual Renewal	\$65
License by Endorsement	\$75
Temporary License	\$25
Provisional Permit	\$25
Reinstatement	As provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code
Examination	Established by Administrator

(

251. – 299. (RESERVED)

300. REQUIREMENTS FOR ORIGINAL LICENSURE.

Applicants for licensure must complete an application on a board approved form submitted together with the appropriate fee(s) and proof of compliance with Idaho Code Section 54-4009.

	and meets the following general, education, and examination requirements:	
01.	General.	
a.	An applicant must provide evidence of being at least eighteen (18) years of age.	(
b.	An applicant must certify that he/she has not been found guilty, convicted, received	d a withhe
idgment, or s	suspended sentence for a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude, or if the application	ant has be
ound guilty, c	convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for such a crime, the ap	plicant mı
ubmit a writte	en statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules.	(
r federal narc ust submit a	otic or controlled substance law, or if the applicant has been convicted of such a crime, written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules.	the applica (
censure denic	An applicant must certify that their license has not been subject to any disciplinary ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must subject to the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must subject to the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must subject to the applicant of the applicant must subject to the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must subject to the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must subject to the applicant of the applicant of the applicant must subject to the applicant must subject to the applicant of the applicant must subject to the applicant must subject to the applicant of the applicant must subject to the applica	plication f
censure denic	ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an ap	plication f
censure denic tatement of su	ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an ap	plication f
censure denice tatement of succession of the control of the contro	ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an apped. If the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must substitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules. (RESERVED) ROVED EXAMINATIONS.	plication 1 mit a writt (
censure denice atement of succession of succ	ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an apped. If the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must substitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules. (RESERVED) ROVED EXAMINATIONS. minations are the following examinations or another nationally recognized competency ex	plication f mit a writt (
censure denice tatement of succession of succession of succession of the control	ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an apped. If the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must substitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules. (RESERVED) ROVED EXAMINATIONS.	plication f mit a writt (
censure denice atement of succession of succ	ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an apped. If the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must substitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules. (RESERVED) ROVED EXAMINATIONS. minations are the following examinations or another nationally recognized competency ex	plication 1 mit a writt (
ocensure denicatement of su 01 304. 05. APPI pproved examples the rap 01. 01.	ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an apped. If the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must substitubility for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules. (RESERVED) ROVED EXAMINATIONS. minations are the following examinations or another nationally recognized competency expy that is approved by the Board. Approved Examinations. Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) as administered by the F	plication 1 mit a writt (amination (
onsure denicatement of successive description of successive descriptio	ity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an apped. If the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must subject to discipline,	plication 1 mit a writt (amination (

Section 000 Page 2 YDunbar_01122023

		(
е.	Other nationally recognized competency examinations in massage therapy that are	e approved
the Board. A wi	titten request for approval must be submitted to the Board together with supporting doc	cumentation
may be requeste	ed by the Board.	(
02	Successful Passage. A passing score, or successful passage of the exam, will be dete	ermined by
entity administe		(
02	Date of Exam. The passage of the exam may have occurred prior to the effective	dota of th
rules.	— Date of Exam. The passage of the exam may have occurred prior to the effective	(
20.6 HADIT		`
	TEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE. ho or whose license has a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspende	d sentence
	ne involving moral turpitude, has a conviction for any crime under any municipal, st	
narcotic or con	trolled substance law, or has been subject to discipline in another state, territory or	country m
	application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his cur	
for licensure.	approaction a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his cur	гент зина01
tor neensure.		(
	Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board considers the factors set forth	in Section
9411, Idaho Co	de.	(
02.	Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant.	(
		`
03.	Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant bears the burden of establishin	g his curr
	**	
-	censure. (RESERVED)	(
307. 309. 310. REQU	CENSURE. (RESERVED) VIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. (regrant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an app	(
307. 309. 310. REQU	Censure. (RESERVED)	(
307. 309. 310. REQU	(RESERVED) VIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. Figrant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant meets the following requirements:	vication as
310. REQUE The Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in get	(RESERVED) UREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant must be the holder of a current action of standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought,	lication as (ive license issued by
307. 309. 310. REQUE The Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in goauthorized regue	(RESERVED) UREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. Grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant and meets the following requirements: Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current act and standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latery entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement.	lication as (ive license issued by s substantic
307. 309. 310. REQUE The Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in goauthorized regue	(RESERVED) UREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. Grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant and meets the following requirements: Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current act and standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latery entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement.	dication as (ive license issued by a substantia
307. 309. 310. REQUE The Board may forth in Section 01. Coertificate in good authorized regue equivalent to or	(RESERVED) UREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant must be the holder of a current action of standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought,	dication as (ive license issued by a substantic
307. 309. 310. REQUITHE Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in goauthorized regulequivalent to or must be receive	IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant must be the holder of a current action of standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of the board from the issuing agency;	vication as ive license issued by s substantic
307. 309. 310. REQU The Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in go authorized regulequivalent to or must be receive 02.	(RESERVED) (IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant and meets the following requirements: Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current act and standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latery entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement thigher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of the board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be	vication as ive license issued by s substantic or certificat
307. 309. 310. REQUE The Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in go authorized regue equivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revenue.	IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant must be the holder of a current active and standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of the board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant or higher than those requirements.	lication as ive license issued by s substantion or certificat en voluntar who, or wh
307. 309. 310. REQUE The Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in goauthorized regue equivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revelicense, has been	UREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant must be the holder of a current active and standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of the Board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant or restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her license must have not be restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her license must have not be restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her license must have not his/her license must have not be restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her license must have not his/her license must have not be restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her license must have not be restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined.	lication as ive license issued by s substantion or certificate en volunta who, or wheense has b
307. 309. 310. REQUITIES Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in go authorized regulequivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revisionse, has bee subject to discipled to	IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. Grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant and meets the following requirements: Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current active standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latery entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of d by the Board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant or restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her license the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for the supplicant must submi	lication as ive license issued by s substantion or certificate en volunta who, or wheense has b
307. 309. 310. REQUITHE Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in go authorized reguivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revilieense, has bee subject to discip	UREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. The grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an apple 200 and meets the following requirements: Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current active active active and standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure and by the Board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant or restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her licensure as set for est;	dication as ive license issued by s substantic certificat certificat who, or whe cense has be orth in Sect
307. 309. 310. REQUE The Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in goauthorized reguequivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revelicense, has been subject to discip 306 of these rules.	IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an app 200 and meets the following requirements: Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current action of standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of downward to be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant or restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her licensure as set folione, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set folione, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set folione. Its of Good Moral Character. The applicant must not have been found guilty, conversed.	dication as ive license issued by s substantic en voluntar who, or whe cense has be orth in Sect
307. 309. 310. REQUE The Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in go authorized regue equivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revelicense, has been subject to discip 306 of these rules. 03. a withheld judges.	IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. Grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant meets the following requirements: Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current act odd standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of drop the Board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant or restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her licensure as set for es; Is of Good Moral Character. The applicant must not have been found guilty, convenent, or suspended sentence for any felony or any crime involving moral turpitude. I	en voluntary who, or who cense has be corth in Sect
307. 309. 310. REQUITHE Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in go authorized regulequivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revisions, has been subject to discipated to discipate to discipate the discipated of these rules. 03. a withheld judghas been found	IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. Togrant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant must be the holder of a current action of standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of by the Board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant on restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her licensure as set for estimate the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for estimated. The applicant must not have been found guilty, convenent, or suspended sentence for any felony or any crime involving moral turpitude. It guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for sucless.	en voluntaryho, or whosense has borth in Sectificated, receif the applic
307. 309. 310. REQUITHE Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in go authorized regulequivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revisions, has been subject to discipated to discipate to discipate the discipated of these rules. 03. a withheld judghas been found	IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. Grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant meets the following requirements: Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current act odd standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of drop the Board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant or restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her licensure as set for es; Is of Good Moral Character. The applicant must not have been found guilty, convenent, or suspended sentence for any felony or any crime involving moral turpitude. I	en voluntaryho, or whosense has borth in Sectificated, receif the applic
307. 309. 310. REQUITHE Board may forth in Section 01. certificate in go authorized regulequivalent to or must be receive 02. surrendered, revisions, has been subject to discipated to discipate to discipate the discipated of these rules. 03. a withheld judghas been found	IREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. Togrant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an applicant must be the holder of a current action of standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, latory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirement higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure of by the Board from the issuing agency; Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not be roked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant on restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her licensure as set for estimate the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set for estimated. The applicant must not have been found guilty, convenent, or suspended sentence for any felony or any crime involving moral turpitude. It guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for sucless.	ive license issued by is substantia or certificat en volunta who, or wh cense has b orth in Sect (icted, receif the applic

of these rules. (
311. – 319. (RESERVED)
320. TEMPORARY LICENSE.
01. General . Any person who has submitted to the Board a complete application for licensure by examination under Section 54-4009, Idaho Code, or by endorsement under Section 54-4010, Idaho Code, togethe with the required fees, may apply for a temporary license to practice massage therapy while their application is being processed by the Board.
O2. Duration. An applicant will be issued only one (1) temporary license that will be valid for a period not to exceed four (4) months or until the Board acts upon the licensure application, whichever occurs first.
321. — 329. — (RESERVED)
PROVISIONAL PERMIT. Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees, an applicant may be issued a provisional permit to practice massage therapy if the applicant meets all the requirements for licensure under section 54-4009, Idaho Code, except for having successfully passed a nationally recognized competency examination in massage therapy that is approved by the Board as described in Subsection 305.01. While working pursuant to a provisional permit the permit holder must be supervised by any person licensed in Idaho to provide massage therapy and whose licenses in good standing.
01. General. A provisional permit will be issued subject to the following conditions: (
a. The applicant must certify that the applicant will take the next scheduled examination for licensurapproved by the Board, and that the applicant has not failed two (2) previous examinations for licensure; and
b. a licensed massage therapist certifies to the Board that the applicant will practice massage therapism under the supervision of the licensed massage therapist while both are in the same location.
O2. Duration and Renewal. An applicant will be issued only one (1) provisional permit that is valid for a period not to exceed six (6) months, or until the applicant is issued a temporary license or the Board acts upon
the massage therapist license application, whichever occurs first.—A provisional permit may only be renewed only upon a showing of good cause.
331. – 399. (RESERVED)
100. RENEWAL OR EXPIRATION OF LICENSE. A license expires on the license holder's birth date. The individual must annually renew the license before the license holder's birth date. Licenses not so renewed will be immediately canceled in accordance with Section 67
2614, Idaho Code. (
Q1. Renewal. A license must be renewed before it expires by submitting a complete application for renewal on forms approved by the Board together with the renewal fee. As part of a complete renewal application the licensee will attest to completion of the required continuing education pursuant to Section 500 of these rules raise attestation of satisfaction of the continuing education requirements on a renewal application subjects the icensee to disciplinary action, including revocation.
92. Reinstatement. A license that has been canceled for failure to renew may be reinstated in accordance with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code.
a. Within five (5) years of cancellation, an applicant seeking reinstatement must submit to the Board

	d appropriate fee(s).	
i. hours required	The applicant must submit evidence of completion of continuing education hours to lat the time of cancellation and for each year the license was canceled.	otaling th
	The applicant must pay a reinstatement fee as set forth in Section 250 of these rules.	
b.	After five (5) years of cancellation, the applicant will be treated as a new appl	icant. ar
application maccordance w	ust be made on the same forms and in the same manner as an application for an original ith Section 200 of these rules.	license (
401. – 499.	(RESERVED)	
500. CO N	ITINUING EDUCATION.	
	must comply with the following continuing education requirements:	(
01.	Requirement. Beginning with the second renewal of their license, a licensee is r inimum of six (6) hours of continuing education, which includes one (1.0) hour in ethics,	equired within th
preceding two	lve (12) months that meet the requirements in Sections 501, 502 and 503 of these rules.	(
a.	An hour is defined as fifty (50) minutes out of each sixty (60) minute segment.	(
b.	Continuing education credit will only be given for actual time in attendance or for the	time spe
participating i	n the educational activity.	
classroom.	The educational course setting may include a classroom, conference, seminar, on line of	o r a virtu
02.	Documentation. Each licensee must maintain documentation verifying continuing ance and curriculum, or completion of the educational activity for a period of five (5) year etion. This documentation will be subject to audit by the Board.	education
form of a cert title of the ac name and pro	Documented evidence of meeting the continuing education course requirement must ificate or letter from the sponsoring entity that includes verification of attendance by the lice tivity, the subject material covered, the dates and number of hours credited, and the present fessional credentials. Documented evidence of completing a continuing education activity of document both completion and date of the activity.	censee, t l enter's fi
b.	A licensee must submit the verification documentation to the Board, if requested by the	. D d
the event a lic	ensee tails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the nours attested to on t	, Board. he renew
application, th	ensee fails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the hours attested to on the licensee may be subject to disciplinary action.	he renew
application, the option of the	Waiver. The Board may waive the requirements of this rule for reasons of individual lth or other good cause. The licensee should request the waiver in advance of renewal	he renew (
application, the description of	Waiver. The Board may waive the requirements of this rule for reasons of individua	he renew (

for the period t	between the initial issuance of the original license and the first expiration date of that license.	
	ROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES.	
Approved cont	tinuing education courses are those courses and programs that meet the requirements of th	ese rulc
and are approv	ved, sponsored, or provided by the following entities or organizations, or otherwise approv	ed by t l
Board:		
0.4		
01.	A College or University. Accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency as re	eognize
by the United S	States Secretary of Education;	
	Federal, State or Local Governmental Entities; and	(
02.	rederal, State of Local Governmental Entitles, and	
03.	National and State Massage Therapy Associations.	(
00.	Transcript Transcript Transcript Transcript	
04.	Provider Course Approval. Other courses may be approved by the Board base	sed upo
documentation	submitted by a continuing education provider. Requests for approval of courses made by the	: provid
must be submi	tted on a form approved by the Board that includes:	
a.	The nature and subject of the course and its relevancy to the practice of massage therapy;	
		,
	The name of instructor(s) and their qualifications;	
	The date, time and location of the course;	(
е.	The date, time and location of the course;	
	The specific agenda for the course;	(
u.	The specific agencia for the course,	
е.	The number of continuing education hours requested;	_(
f.	The procedures for verification of attendance; and	
g.	Other information as may be requested by the Board.	
n.	Upon review of all information requested, the Board may deny any request for a course	that do
five (5) years	equirements of Idaho law or rule. Board approval of a course will be granted for a period not or until the course materials or instructors are changed, whichever may occur first.	to exce
iive (3) years,	or until the course materials or instructors are changed, whichever may occur first.	
05.	Licensee Course Approval. Other courses may be approved by the Board bas	ed un
	submitted by the licensee. All requests for approval must be made to the Board in wr	iting at
include the no	ature and subject of the course and its relevancy to the practice of massage therapy,	name
	nd their qualifications, date, time and location of the course, and procedures for verifi	
attendance.		
		Ì
502. Conti	nuing Education Activities.	
The following	educational activities qualify for continuing education as set forth:	_(
0.4		
01.	Teaching a Course For The First Time, Not to Exceed Six Hours. A report must be s	
meruding the i	name of the course, course outline, qualifications for teaching, number of hours taught, n	umber (
participants tat	ight, date and location of the training.	
	Publishing Articles or Books. The hours awarded as determined at the discretion of the Bo	oard.
0 2.	1 donorming Artifetes of Dooks. The nours awarded as determined at the discretion of the Bo	Juru.
03.	Self Study. Using books, audio tapes, video tapes, DVD's, research materials, pro-	ofession
publications, o	nline sources, and/or other electronic sources/methods documented by a type written two pa	
summarizing t	he study content.	
_		

herapy as def	f continuing education activities and course content must be germane to the practice of massage ined in Section 54 4002, Idaho Code, and courses in ethics must also be specific to legal issues, law ractice, or ethics.
standards of pr	detice, or entics.
01.	Continuing Education. Content germane to the practice of massage therapy includes, but is no
limited to:	(
a.	Applications of massage and bodywork therapy for specific needs, conditions, or clien
oopulations.	(
b.	Client assessment protocols, skills for client record keeping, strategies for interfacing with other
realth care pro	widers. (
 	Use of external agents such as water, sound, heat, cold, or topical applications of plant or minera
based substanc	tes. (
d.	Body centered or somatic psychology, psychophysiology, or interpersonal skills which ma
i nclude comn projection.	nunication skills, boundary functions, dual relationships, transference, counter-transference, an
J	
e.	Standards of practice, professional ethics, or state laws. (
f.	Strategies for the marketing of massage and bodywork therapy practices. (
g.	Theory or practice of ergonomics as applied to therapists or clients. (
<u>h.</u>	Hygiene, methods of infectious disease control, organization and management of the treatment
environment.	(
i.	Body sciences, which may include anatomy, physiology, kinesiology or pathology, as they appl
to massage the	rapy . (
j.	Certified CPR or first aid training. (
504. – 599.	— (RESERVED)
	CATIONAL PROGRAM STANDARDS. cational programs are those programs conducted by an entity that meet the definition in Section 01
	st of a minimum of five hundred three-hundred ninety (500390) hours of in-class supervised hours of
	d elinical one-hundred ten (110) hours supervised clinical work that meets the following entry level
educational sta	andards as set by the Board.:
01.	Coursework Content and Hours. Coursework must include the following content areas an
mmmum nou	
a.	Two hundred (200) hours in massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application; (
b.	One hundred twenty five (125) hours in body systems including anatomy, physiology, an
kinesiology;	(
е.	Forty (40) hours in pathology; (
	d. Twenty five (25) hours in business and ethics: an

		Clinical Work. A minimum of one hundred ten (110) hours must be clin	ical wor
	a. Students	are not permitted to render any clinical services to clients until students have	complete
at least to		%) of the required hours of instruction.	(
	b. All clinic	cal services must be performed under the supervision of a person fully licensed.	
601.	SUPERVISION.		
	01 Sunawia	sion of Clinical World. The companying massages themselve movet consult with the	a atuda
		sion of Clinical Work. The supervising massage therapist must consult with the consult with	
		nerapy is being provided.	(
	02. Supervis	sion of Fieldwork. The supervising massage therapist must be available	to rend
direction	either in person (or by means of telecommunications but is not required to be physically presented to be physically pres	ent on t
premises	where massage in	terapy is being provided.	(
602. – 6	99. (RESER	(VED)	
700.	SCOPE OF PRA	CTICE.	
All licen	sees must practice	in a competent manner consistent with their level of education, training, and ex	perience
			(
701 7	49. (RESER	(VED)	
	utic Massage & Bo	ocument titled "Standards of Practice" published by the National Certification B odywork, Inc. (NCBTMB) is herein adopted and incorporated by reference and i ite: https://www.ncbtmb.org/standards-of-practice/.	
ble on th	C NCD I MD WC031		
	99. (RESER		
751 7 5		eved)	
751. 7 800. All licen	99. (RESER) CODE OF ETHIC sees must comply	ICS. The with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and a	ittached
751 7. 800. All licen these rul	CODE OF ETHICATE COMPLY COMPLETE THE COMPLET	ICS. The with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and a	
751. 7 800. All licen these rul The curr	CODE OF ETHICAL COMPLETE COMPLICATION COMPLETE COMPLICATION COMPLETE COMPLICATION COMPLETE COMPLETE COMPLETE COMPLICATION COMPLETE COMPLICATION COMPLICATION COMPLETE COMPLICATION COMPLICATION COMPLICAT	ICS. with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and a document titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein ad	opted a
751. 7. 800. All licen these rul The curr incorpora	CODE OF ETHIC es as Appendix A. rent and updated of ated by reference a	ACS. The with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and a document titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein ad and is available on the NCBTMB website: https://www.ncbtmb.org/code-of-ethics.	opted a
751. 7. 800. All licen these rul The curr incorpora	CODE OF ETHIC es as Appendix A. rent and updated of ated by reference a	ACS. The with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and a document titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein ad and is available on the NCBTMB website: https://www.ncbtmb.org/code-of-ethics.	opted a
751. 79 800. All licen these rul The currincorport	CODE OF ETHICAL SEES MUST COMPLY COMPLETE AND ADDRESS AS APPENDED ADDRESS AS APPENDED AND ADDRESS AS APPENDED ADDRESS AS APPEN	ICS. with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board-and-adocument titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein adona is available on the NCBTMB website: https://www.ncbtmb.org/code-of-ethics//www.ncbtmb.org/code-	opted and cs/.
751. 79 800. All licen these rul The currincorpors 801. 8	CODE OF ETHICAL SECTION (RESERVANCE) CODE OF ETHICAL SECTION (RESERVA	ICS. with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board-and a document titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein ad and is available on the NCBTMB website: https://www.ncbtmb.org/code-of-ethics//www.ncbtmb.org/cod	opted and cs/.
800. All licen these rulincorpor: 801. 8	CODE OF ETHICAL SEES MUST COMPLY A. Tent and updated content by reference a seed by reference a seed determines to these of these rules, of the rules, of th	ICS. with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and a document titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein ad and is available on the NCBTMB website: https://www.ncbtmb.org/code-of-ethics//www.ncbtmb.org/cod	opted a cs/.
751. 7. 800. All licen these rul The currincorpors 801. 8. 900. If the B violation limitation	CODE OF ETHICAL SECRET AND COMPANY OF A STATE OF THE CONTROL OF TH	ICS. with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and a document titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein ad and is available on the NCBTMB website: https://www.ncbtmb.org/code-of-ethics//www.ncbtmb.org/cod	opted and cs/.
751. 79 800. All licen these rul- The curr incorpore 801. 89 900. If the B violation	CODE OF ETHICAL SERVING SERVIN	ICS. In with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board-and and document titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein ad and is available on the NCBTMB website: https://www.ncbtmb.org/code-of-ethics/ EVED) That grounds for discipline exist for violations of Title 54, Chapter 40, Idea or both, it may impose disciplinary sanctions against the licensee including following: License. Refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate a license;	opted a cs/.
751. 79 800. All licen these rul- The curr incorpore 801. 89 900. If the B violation	CODE OF ETHICAL SERVING SERVIN	ICS. with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board-and-adocument titled "Code of Ethics" published by the NCBTMB is herein adotand is available on the NCBTMB website: https://www.ncbtmb.org/code-of-ethics//www.ncbtmb.org/cod	opted a cs/.

	Administrative Fine. Impose an administrative fine not to exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000)
for each violati	on of the Board's laws or rules; and ()
05.	Licensee Costs. Order a licensee to pay the costs and fees incurred by the Board in the
investigation, p	prosecution, or both, of the licensee for violation(s) of the Board's laws, rules, or both.
901 999.	(RESERVED)
	DAHO BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY CODE OF ETHICS APPENDIX A
Preamble: This massage therap	s Code of Ethics is a summary statement of the standards of conduct that define ethical practice of by. All licensees are responsible for maintaining and promoting ethical practice.
- A liee	ensee shall:
	Conduct all business and professional activities honestly and within their scope of practice and all land regulatory requirements.
2.	— Inform clients of the limitations of the licensee's practice, the limitations of massage therapy, and ations for massage therapy.
3. licensee's scop	Refer the client to other professionals or services if the treatment or service is beyond the e of practice.
even if the clubehavior for the	Not engage in any sexual conduct, sexual activities, or sexualizing behavior involving a client, ient attempts to sexualize the relationship. Sexual activity includes any verbal and/or nonverbal e purpose of soliciting, receiving, or giving sexual gratification.
5.	Be truthful in advertising and marketing, and not misrepresent services, charges for services, ining, experience or results.
6.	Safeguard the confidentiality of all client information, unless disclosure is requested by the client allowed or required by law.
7.	Obtain informed and voluntary consent from clients.
8.	Allow a client the right to refuse, modify or terminate treatment regardless of prior consent given.
9.	Provide draping and treatment in a way that ensures the safety, comfort, and privacy of the client.
10.	Possess the right to refuse to treat any person or part of the body.
11.	Refuse any gifts or benefits that are intended to influence a referral, decision, treatment or the
	lationship between the licensee and the client.
12.	Report to the Idaho Board of Massage Therapy any unlicensed practice of massage therapy, and adicating unethical, incompetent or illegal acts committed by a licensee or individual.
13.	— Do no harm to the physical, mental, and emotional well being of clients.

Standard I: Professionalism

In his/her profe	ssional role the licensee shall:
1.	Cooperate with any Board investigation regarding any alleged violation of the Massage Therapy
2.	Use professional verbal, nonverbal, and written communications.
and safety.	Provide an environment that is safe for the client and which meets all legal requirements for health
4. personal hygier	Use standard precautions to ensure professional hygienic practices and maintain a level of ne appropriate for practitioners in the therapeutic setting.
5.	Wear clothing that is clean and professional.
	Obtain voluntary and informed consent from the client, or written informed consent from client's prior to initiating the treatment plan.
7. update the plan	If applicable, conduct an accurate needs assessment, develop a plan of care with the client, and as needed.
8. remain dressed	Use appropriate draping to protect the client's physical and emotional privacy. When clients for seated massage or sports massage, draping is not required.
9. legal or prescrib	Not practice under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any illegal substances, with the exception of bed dosage of medication which does not impair the licensee.
	Standard II: Legal and Ethical Requirements
In his/her profe	ssional role the licensee shall:
by a licensee ar	Maintain accurate and complete client billing and records. Client Records includes notes written nd kept in a separate client file that indicates the date of the session, areas of complaint as stated by revations made and actions taken by the licensee.
2.	Report within thirty (30) days to the Idaho Board of Massage Therapy any felony or misdemeanor etions of the licensee.
	Standard III: Confidentiality
In his/her profe	ssional role the licensee shall:
all other matter required or allo	Protect the confidentiality of the client's identity in conversations, all advertisements, and any and sunless disclosure of identifiable information is requested or permitted by the client in writing or is wed by law.
2. informed conse	Protect the interests of clients who are minors or clients who are unable to give voluntary and on the securing written informed consent from an appropriate third party or guardian.

3.	Solicit only information that is relevant or reasonable to the professional relationship.
4.	Maintain the client files for a minimum period of seven (7) years.
	Store and dispose of client files in a secure manner.
	Standard IV: Business Practices
In his/her professi	ional role the licensee shall:
1.	Not use sensational, sexual, or provocative language and/or pictures to advertise or promote their
2. or potential client	Display/discuss a schedule of fees in advance of the session that is clearly understood by the client.
3. interests of, the cl	Make financial arrangements in advance that are clearly understood by, and safeguard the best ient or consumer.
	Standard V: Roles and Boundaries
In his/her professi	onal role the licensee shall:
1. exploitation of the	Not participate in client relationships that could impair professional judgment or result in elient.
	Standard VI: Prevention of Sexual Misconduct
In his/her professi	ional role the licensee shall:
1. relationship.	Not engage in any behavior that sexualizes, or appears to sexualize, the client/licensee
otherwise, from the	Not participate in a sexual relationship or sexual conduct with the client, whether consensual or the beginning of the client/licensee relationship and for a minimum of twelve (12) months after the client/licensee relationship.
3. and, if such condu	In the event that the client initiates sexual behavior, clarify the purpose of the therapeutic session act does not cease, terminate or refuse the session.