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Promoter 
Informa on 

R E M E M B E R …  
 
A great promoter will have a solid 
understanding of Idaho Law and Rules 
pertinent to the operation of the Idaho 
Athletic Commission.  
 
They will understand that the majority of 
their decisions and plans will need to be 
approved by the commission and as much 
lead time as possible will make the 
preparation for a fight smoother and more 
efficient.  

IDAHO ATHLETIC COMMISSION 

Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licenses 

I D A H O  A T H L E T I C  C O M M I S S I O N  

TO APPLY 
Promoter applications must be signed, 
notarized, and include required materials and 
fee when received by the commission to 
prevent processing delay. 

Applica on Fee $1000 

Renewal Fee 
(Annual) 

$750 

Reinstatement 
Penalty (expired 

$35 

O N  T H E  W E B  
The Idaho Athletic Commission is located 
within the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licenses office. All 
applications, including those for promoters, 
ring officials, matchmakers, seconds, and 
combatants, the laws and rules of the 
commission, and a wealth of other 
information can be found at:  
 
 

dopl.idaho.gov 
 



Promoter Responsibilities I D A H O  A TH L E T I C  C O M M IS S I ON 

R I N G  O F F I C I A L S  
Every event is required to have licensed ring 
officials. It is the promoter’s responsibility to pay 
ring officials for their services.  

-Referee(s)  -Judges (3) 

-Timekeeper  -Ringside Physician 

 

M ATC H M A K E R  
All events must have a licensed matchmaker. While 
there is nothing to preclude a person from holding 
both promoter and matchmaker licenses, the same 
person cannot act in both capacities for a single 
event.  

Promoters are responsible for finding and paying the 
matchmaker for any given event.  

H E A LT H  I N S U R A N C E  
Promoters must obtain health insurance sufficient to 
cover the medical, surgical, and hospital care of 
every event participant other than the promoter, for 
injuries sustained while participating in the event.  

The insurance shall provide primary coverage for 
each participant with a minimum coverage of 
$10,000 per participant. The participant may not be 
required to pay a deductible under this insurance.  

F I G H T E R S  &  S E C O N D S  
 

Promoters should work closely with their 
matchmaker to ensure that every fighter and second 
they plan to host has turned in the appropriate 
paperwork at least 14 days prior to the event.  

Every fighter must be licensed by the State of Idaho. 
For reference, every applicant must submit: 

 A completed and notarized application 

 $150 application fee for professional 
combatants  

 $100 application fee for amateur combatants 

 Blood test for HIV, Hep B surface antigen, 
and Hep C within six (6) months of the fight 

 5 panel drug test by blood or urine within six 
(6) months of the fight  

 A full physical completed by a licensed 
physician within 12 months of the fight 

Seconds (cornermen), and managers are required to 
be licensed in Idaho as well as combatants. 
Promoters should do everything in their power to 
ensure that seconds are licensed as far in advance as 
possible. For reference, every applicant must submit: 

 A completed and notarized application 

 $150 application fee 

 

Applications for new second licenses must be 
received BEFORE the day of the fight.  

S A N C T I O N I N G  P E R M I T  
After receiving their Idaho promotor’s license, 
deciding on a venue and a potential date, and 
securing a licensed matchmaker, a bond or other 
financial security, and health insurance coverage for 
all fighters, promoters need to apply for an Event 
Sanctioning Permit. This is an opportunity for the 
Commission to review the date, venue, officials, 
available commission staff, and all other aspects of 
the promoter’s proposed event. If approved, the 
Commission will issue a permit for the fight.  

At the time of the sanctioning permit application, the 
promoter is also required to pay an initial event 
tax of $1,000.  

Permit Application fee:  $200 

Ini al Event tax:  $1000 

B O N D / S E C U R I T Y  
Promoters must supply a bond payable to the State of 
Idaho that guarantees the payment of all taxes, fees, 
and fines including but not limited to the payment of 
purses to fighters, contributions for required 
insurance, repayment to ticketholders of purchased 
tickets, and the payment of fees to ring officials.  

 

PROMOTERS ARE 
RESPONSIBLE FOR... 


