Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Building #4 Boise ID 83714 or P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0063 Phone: (208) 334-3233 Website: https://dopl.idaho.gov
E-mail: pht@dopl.idaho.gov

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE INSTRUCTIONS

Attached is the required application form for licensure to practice physical therapy in Idaho. Processing will be delayed for applications that do not include a social security number or other documentation required under Idaho Code § 73-122. You must also review the Idaho Laws and Rules Governing the Physical Therapy Licensure Board. The most current version can be found on this website and will assist you in completing the required open book examination. Incomplete applications that do not include all the items required (excluding those items that must be sent directly to our office from an issuing authority) will delay licensure.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION – Keep a copy of this application.

The completed application form (including signature and notary)
Proof of age – a clear and readable color copy of a government-issued photo ID such as a passport, military ID, or valid driver's license must be attached.
☐ The completed open book examination
Evidence of graduation sent directly from the issuing authority. (see question #7)
Two (2) completed reference forms
If you answered 'Yes' to question #11, 12, 13 or 14; Documentation as it relates to the question(s) for which you answered Yes.
The total payment of fees: \$50.00 if you have taken and passed the NPTE or have already registered through another jurisdiction.
\underline{OR} \$70.00 if you are applying through Idaho to register and sit for the NPTE
There is an optional verification of licensure form at the end of the application for those who are planning to pursue licensure in a state other than
Idaho and need verification from Idaho.
APPLICATION CHECKLIST FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT- Keep a copy of this application. The completed application form (including signature and notary) and fee of \$50. Make check or money order payable to DOPL. Proof of age – a clear and readable color copy of a government-issued photo ID such as a passport, military ID, or valid driver's license must be attached.
☐ The completed open book examination
Evidence of graduation sent directly from the issuing authority. (see question #7)
☐ Two (2) completed reference forms ☐ If you answered 'Yes' to question #11, 12, 13 or 14; Documentation as it relates to the question(s) for which you answered Yes.
NPTE exam score
Verification of licensure from all other state(s) in which you have held a license.
(Please note: a photocopy of your license card(s) will not meet this requirement.)
☐ The payment of fees for a total of \$50.00.
FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. Please make checks and money orders payable to DOPL. All returned checks are subject to a \$20.00 fee and the application will be invalid.
If you are applying for licensure as a foreign educated physical therapist, please also provide or arrange to provide the following credentials:
*Education credentials evaluated by a credential evaluation agency
*Written proof your school is recognized by its own ministry of education and that the education you received qualify you to practice physical therapy without limitation in the country where the education occurred
*If you have practiced abroad, written proof of authorization to practice without limitation in the country where you practiced. *Proof of legal authorization to reside and seek employment in the U.S. or its territories
*If English is not your native language, proof of successfully passing either the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or the Test of English as a
Foreign Language – Internet Based (TOEFL – IBT). Please refer to Board Rule 175 for requirements or visit the TOEFL website at: https://www.ets.org/
If you wish to be scheduled for these examinations or want to have verification of your scores sent to this office, contact the TOEFL/TSE Registration Office at P.O. Box 6152, Princeton, NJ 08541-6152 or call 1-609-771-7100. Fax: 1-610-290-8972. Email: toefl@ets.org_The "TOEFL code" for Idaho State is 7321.
ATTENTION MEMBERS AND SPOUSES OF MEMBERS OF THE ARMED SERVICES
If you are a member of the armed forces, an honorably discharged veteran or the spouse of an active member or veteran of the military, you are entitled to certain benefits because of your service. Those benefits may include expedited processing of your application and credit for military training that is relevant to the occupational license/registration for which you are applying. For a full explanation of eligibility and a comprehensive description of benefits available see <u>Idaho Code §§ 67-9401-9407</u> . Additionally, active members of the military may be eligible for a waiver of renewal fees and other renewal requirements see <u>Idaho Code § 67-2602A</u> .
To utilize experience or education gained in the military to qualify you for this license/registration, please attach a copy of your DD-214.
If the name on your application does not match the proof of age document or the transcripts, please provide proof of the name change in the form of a

marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order.

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Building #4 Boise ID 83714 or P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0063

Phone: (208) 334-3233 Website: https://dopl.idaho.gov
E-mail: pht@dopl.idaho.gov

APPLICATION FOR PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSE

The application fee is \$25.00

The licensure fee is an additional \$25.00

If applying to take the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) there is also an additional \$20.00 fee All returned checks are subject to a \$20.00 fee.

Note: You may combine the fees into one payment in the form of a money order, cashier's check, certified check, or personal check and made payable to DOPL.

I hereby submit my qualifications and make application for a Physical Therapist license in the State of Idaho under the provisions of Title 54, Chapter 22, Idaho Code, and provide the following:

	Full Name (Mr., Mrs., or Ms.)								
	Address of Public Record								
	(The above address is a public record.)	Street	City	State	Zip				
3.	Mailing Address(Will be used as address of record if none provided in the provided i	led above) Street/PO Box	City	State	Zip				
4.	Date of Birth// mm dd yyyy (Proof of age – a clear and readable color copy of	Social Security #// (This is not a public record; required by	I.C. § 73-122.) assport, military ID, or valid drive	er's license must b	e attached.))			
5.	Business Phone ()	Cell Phone ()	E-mail						
	(The above phone number is a public record	Cell Phone () (The above phone number is not publi	c record.) (This is not a	public record; rec	quired by I.0	C. § 6	57-2609.)		
6.	Are you or your spouse an active me	mber or honorably discharged ve	teran of the United State	s Armed Serv	ices?				
	• •	·) Yes	() No		
7.	I am a graduate of		educational inst	itution on			. (date		
	I am a graduate of (If applying by exam, official transcripts or the cyct graduated but will within 90 days prior to tal attach a copy of the diploma.)		st be received by this office direc	tly from the school	ol registrar.				
8.	Is the institution a nationally accredit (If No, additional documentation may be requested)			() Yes	() No		
9.	Have you passed the National Physic (If Yes, official documentation of your score mu		e National Board.)	() Yes	() No		
10	Are you or have you ever been licensed as a physical therapist or pt assistant in any state, territory, or country?								
	List licensure states: (If Yes, we must receive certification of licensure	e from the issuing authority)		() Yes	() No		
11	Have you ever had disciplinary actio			including an	w agency	y wyit	thin the		
11.	state of Idaho or any other state?	n taken against you by any profes	ssional regulatory agency) Yes				
	(If Yes, a copy of the charges & the final order r	nust be received before your application will	be processed.)	,) I Cs	•) 110		
12.	Have you ever had a license revoked refused, revoked or suspended by th		•		tion for li	icen	sure		
	(If Yes, related documentation must be received	before your application will be processed.)		() Yes	() No		
13.	Have you ever been charged, convict	ed, found guilty, received a withh	eld judgment or suspend	ed sentence fo	or anv cr	ime	, other		
	than minor traffic offenses, in this or (If yes, the Criminal Conviction Disclosure Forr received with this application.)	any other state, territory, or cou	ntry?	() Yes	() No		
14.	Do you have any physiological or oth	er condition that impairs or migh	nt impair your ability to s	safely and con	petently	pra	actice?		
	(If Ves a detailed statement medical records &	•		•	·				

APPLICATION FOR PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSE

(continued)

NAME OF BUSINESS EMPLOYER'S NAME	es, phone
EMPLOYER'S NAME	
DATES OF EXPERIENCE FROM: TO:	
NARRATIVE OUTLINING SCOPE OF DUTIES: NAME OF BUSINESS	
NAME OF BUSINESS	
EMPLOYER'S NAME PHONE NO DATES OF EXPERIENCE FROM: TO: NARRATIVE OUTLINING SCOPE OF DUTIES: (If more space is needed, attach a separate sheet of paper) AFFIDAVIT Upon oath I certify each of the following: (1) the responses and information provided in this application and in the attached addend documentation are true and correct to the best of my knowledge; (2) I am the applicant named in and who has signed this application and united States citizen or a legal permanent resident or I am otherwise lawfully present in the United States; (4) I have read and conform to the Laws and Rules governing the profession for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice; (5) I acknowledge	
EMPLOYER'S NAME	
DATES OF EXPERIENCE FROM:	
NARRATIVE OUTLINING SCOPE OF DUTIES: (If more space is needed, attach a separate sheet of paper) AFFIDAVIT Upon oath I certify each of the following: (1) the responses and information provided in this application and in the attached addend documentation are true and correct to the best of my knowledge; (2) I am the applicant named in and who has signed this application and united States citizen or a legal permanent resident or I am otherwise lawfully present in the United States; (4) I have read and conform to the Laws and Rules governing the profession for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice; (5) I acknowledge	
(If more space is needed, attach a separate sheet of paper) AFFIDAVIT Upon oath I certify each of the following: (1) the responses and information provided in this application and in the attached addend documentation are true and correct to the best of my knowledge; (2) I am the applicant named in and who has signed this application and united States citizen or a legal permanent resident or I am otherwise lawfully present in the United States; (4) I have read and conform to the Laws and Rules governing the profession for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice; (5) I acknowledge	
AFFIDAVIT Upon oath I certify each of the following: (1) the responses and information provided in this application and in the attached addend documentation are true and correct to the best of my knowledge; (2) I am the applicant named in and who has signed this application am a United States citizen or a legal permanent resident or I am otherwise lawfully present in the United States; (4) I have read and conform to the Laws and Rules governing the profession for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice; (5) I acknowledge	
Upon oath I certify each of the following: (1) the responses and information provided in this application and in the attached addend documentation are true and correct to the best of my knowledge; (2) I am the applicant named in and who has signed this application am a United States citizen or a legal permanent resident or I am otherwise lawfully present in the United States; (4) I have read and conform to the Laws and Rules governing the profession for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice; (5) I acknowledge	
agree the use of intentional misrepresentation or fraud in this application or violation of any Laws or Rules governing the profession which I am seeking a license or authority to practice shall constitute cause sufficient for denial, suspension, cancellation or revocat license or authority applied for or granted to me; (6) I will provide additional or corrected information if material changes occur who cause responses or information provided in or with this application to be inaccurate or incomplete; (7) I authorize and direct any perspectative, any information, communication, report, record, statement, disclosure, or recommendation that may have bearing or eligibility for or maintenance of the license or authority for which I am applying and hereby release and exonerate any of them from liability of any kind resulting from the release or collection thereof; and (8) I authorize the Division of Occupational and Profession Licenses to release to any other regulatory entity in any jurisdiction any information requested about me that may otherwise be proconfidential that may have bearing on my eligibility for or maintenance of any license or authority issued or applied for in this or a jurisdiction and hereby release and exonerate them from any liability of any kind resulting from the release thereof. Signature of Applicant	on; (3) I will ge and n for ion of any nich would rson, norized n my n any nal tected or
This box is for notary use only. All applications must be signed and notarized to be complete.	
State of, County of, ss. Subscribed and sworn before me this day of , 20 .	
(seal)	
Notary Public Official Signature My Commission Expires	

Note: The applicant's signature must be notarized. The applicants must declare the answers provided are true in front of a notary (jurat). The language "subscribed and sworn" must appear before the applicant's signature. An "acknowledgement" where the notary only verifies the identity of the applicant is not acceptable.

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Building #4 Boise ID 83714 or P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0063

Phone: (208) 334-3233 Website: https://dopl.idaho.gov
E-mail: pht@dopl.idaho.gov

REFERENCE FORM

The Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board requires an application to include two (2) references from individuals, other than relatives or individuals living with the applicant, who have at least two (2) years of personal knowledge of the applicant's character and ability to provide physical therapy.

NOTE: These completed forms may either be sent separately (via fax or postal mail) or can be included with the submission of the application form. You will need to duplicate this form.

1.	Applicant Name:				
2.	Reference Name:				
3.	Have you known the candidate for at lea	st two (2) years	?		
4.	Please describe your relationship with th	ne candidate: (ch	eck all appropria	ate boxes)	
	() Colleague () Teacher () Super	visor () Perso	onal acquaintance	e () Other	
5.	If you are or were ever an employer, sup to, AND the ca mm/dd/yyyy the name of the organization	indidate's title/p	osition	, AN	D
6.	Please indicate your knowledge of the ca				
	Tuoining	Thorough Knowledge	General Knowledge	Little Knowledge	
	Training Work Experience				
	Work Experience				
	Abilities Personality				
7.	Do you believe, on the basis of ethical co- candidate is qualified for licensure to pr (If No, please explain on a separate sheet	actice in the pro		-	I professional judgment, the \square Yes \square No
8.	Do you have any reservations, not previous therapist? If Yes, please explain:	ously mentioned	, about fully reco	mmending this cand	lidate for licensure as a physical ☐ Yes ☐ No
•		Signatur	e of Person Com	pleting Reference F	orm
		Date		Ph	one Number

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Building #4 Boise ID 83714 or P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0063

Phone: (208) 334-3233 Website: https://dopl.idaho.gov

E-mail: pht@dopl.idaho.gov

REFERENCE FORM

The Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board requires an application to include two (2) references from individuals, other than relatives or individuals living with the applicant, who have at least two (2) years of personal knowledge of the applicant's character and ability to provide physical therapy.

NOTE: These completed forms may either be sent separately (via fax or postal mail) or can be included with the submission of the application form. You will need to duplicate this form.

1.	Applicant Name:					
2.	Reference Name:					
3.	Have you known the candidate for at le	ast two (2) years	?			
4.	Please describe your relationship with t	he candidate: (ch	neck all appropria	ate boxes)		
	() Colleague () Teacher () Super	rvisor () Perso	onal acquaintanc	e () Other		
5.	If you are or were ever an employer, su to, AND the commodd/yyyy the name of the organization	andidate's title/p	osition	, AN	D	: from
6.	Please indicate your knowledge of the c	andidate's:				
	Training	Thorough Knowledge	General Knowledge	Little Knowledge		
	Work Experience					
	Abilities					
	Personality					
7.	Do you believe, on the basis of ethical co candidate is qualified for licensure to p (If No, please explain on a separate shee	ractice in the pro		-	professional judgment, t □ Yes □ No	the
8.	Do you have any reservations, not previous therapist? If Yes, please explain:	ously mentioned	, about fully reco	mmending this cand	idate for licensure as a p ☐ Yes ☐ No	hysical
		Signatur	re of Person Com	pleting Reference Fo	orm	
		Date		Pho	one Number	

OPEN BOOK TEST

This is the "Open Book Test (Examination)" and must be completed in full and submitted for licensure.

Please print your name in the upper right corner of all examination pages. Answer all 20 questions. Failure to submit or failure to pass the examination will result in the license not being issued.

Should you have questions regarding the examination, please contact The Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses, (208) 334-3233.

You may also access the Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board's homepage at https://dopl.idaho.gov. Click on the links "State Licensure Law" and "State Licensure Rules" to access information in answering the questions for this exam, which you may download and print from this site as well.

IDAHO PHYSICAL THERAPY LICENSURE BOARD

Open Book Jurisprudence Examination

CAREFULLY READ EACH NUMBERED STATEMENT. BELOW EACH STATEMENT CLEARLY MARK THE WORD OR PHRASE THAT MOST CORRECTLY COMPLETES OR RESPONDS TO THE STATEMENT. RETURN THE COMPLETED EXAMINATION WITH YOUR APPLICATION.

- 1. Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants shall adhere to the recognized standards of ethics of the physical therapy profession as set forth in the:
 - a. Idaho State Constitution
 - b. Western Region of Physical Therapists
 - c. administrative rules adopted by the Physical Therapy Licensure Board
 - d. the laws governing the Idaho Physical Therapy Association
- 2. All of the following are procedures and interventions which shall be performed exclusively by a physical therapist except for the:
 - a. prescribing of medication to relieve pain
 - b. interpretation of a referral for physical therapy
 - c. development or modification of a treatment plan of care
 - d. performance of a re-evaluation when any change in a patient's condition occurs
- 3. The practice of physical therapy shall not include the use of radiology, surgery, or:
 - a. bronchopulmonary hygiene
 - b. medical diagnosis of disease
 - c. debridement
 - d. joint mobilization

Open Book Jurisprudence Examination

- 4. The board may conduct random continuing education audits of those persons required to obtain continuing education in order to renew a license and require that proof acceptable to the board of meeting the continuing education requirement be submitted to:
 - a. the Idaho Physical Therapy Association
 - b. the licensee's employer
 - c. the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
 - d. the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
- 5. The board may, upon proof that a person has been in violation of the law, take the following actions except:
 - a. impose a restriction and/or condition as to the scope of practice
 - b. revoke the certificate of graduation
 - c. suspend a license
 - d. refuse to issue or renew a license
- 6. A physical therapist assistant may not continue to provide treatment as specified under a treatment plan of care if:
 - a. a patient's condition changes
 - b. a patient's insurance benefit change
 - c. a patient has been a no-show for two (2) appointments
 - d. it's within their scope of practice
- 7. The application for licensure shall be made under oath, and shall:
 - a. show evidence of graduation from a nationally accredited school
 - b. disclose any criminal conviction or charge against the applicant, other than minor traffic violations
 - c. disclose the denial of registration or licensure by any other state or district regulatory body
 - d. all of the above
- 8. All licenses shall be subject to annual renewal and shall expire unless renewed in the manner prescribed by the board regarding applications for renewal, continuing education and:
 - a. employment status
 - b. fees
 - c. work history
 - d. supervisor's name
- 9. A licensed physical therapist shall provide <u>direct</u> supervision and be responsible for <u>routine</u> physical therapy tasks given by:
 - a. physicians
 - b. physician assistants
 - c. supportive personnel
 - d. licensed nursing staff

Open Book Jurisprudence Examination

- 10. The ratio of a physical therapist to a physical therapist assistant should be no more than:
 - a. 1:5
 - b. 1:4
 - c. 1:3
 - d. 1:2
- 11. The Board may condition, limit, suspend, or refuse to renew the license of any individual whom the Board determines submitted a false report of continuing education or failed to comply with:
 - a. the open public meeting law
 - b. parliamentary procedures
 - c. building safety requirements
 - d. the continuing education requirements
- 12. The following are principles to the code of ethics which shall be binding for a physical therapist except:
 - a. the financial responsibility of patients
 - b. to achieve and maintain professional competence
 - c. to exercise sound professional judgment
 - d. to endeavor to address the health needs of society.
- 13. All of the following conduct, acts, or conditions shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action except:
 - a. providing patient care
 - b. obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by fraud
 - c. having been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude
 - d. commission of any act of sexual contact, misconduct, exploitation or intercourse with a patient
- 14. Every person holding a license issued by the Board must annually complete the following number of contact hours of continuing education prior to license renewal:
 - a. twelve (12)
 - b. ten (10)
 - c. fifteen (15)
 - d. sixteen (16)
- 15. Reinstatement of a lapsed license shall require all of the following except:
 - a. payment of a renewal fee
 - b. proof of successful completion of continuing education
 - c. a letter of recommendation from a supervisor
 - d. a reinstatement fee

Open Book Jurisprudence Examination

- 16. The Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board does not have the authority to:
 - a. impose incarceration upon an individual
 - b. evaluate the qualifications of applicants
 - c. perform investigations of misconduct
 - d. evaluate curricula of nationally accredited schools of physical therapy
- 17. The following are principles to the code of ethics which shall be binding for a physical therapist assistant except:
 - a. to respect the rights and dignity of all individuals
 - b. to comply with laws and regulations governing physical therapy
 - c. to develop a patient's plan of care
 - d. to protect the public and the profession from unethical, incompetent, and illegal acts
- 18. All licensed physical therapists or physical therapist assistants shall report to the Board any name change or changes in business and home addresses within:
 - a. seven (7) days
 - b. fourteen (14) days
 - c. five (5) business days
 - d. immediately
- 19. Any person who shall be aggrieved by any action of the board in denying, refusing to renew, suspending or revoking a certificate of licensure, issuing a censure, imposing any restriction upon a license, or imposing any fine, may seek:
 - a. refund for licensure fees
 - b. judicial review
 - c. a review by the Idaho Physical Therapy Association
 - d. a review by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
- 20. An applicant who fails an examination may retake an examination one (1) additional time without reapplication for licensure, provided the second examination occurs within the following number of months from the notification of the first failure:
 - a. six (6) months
 - b. nine (9) months
 - c. three (3) months
 - d. twelve (12) months

ADDENDUM 1 (complete only if you have not yet graduated)

APPLICANT NAME	
I hereby certify that the applicant named above is on s	schedule to graduate pending compliance with all requirements with a degree in
i	issued by
	Name of Institution
located in	and which shall be granted on
City, State	Date
(Official Institution seal)	Signature of Registrar
	Printed Name of Registrar

Optional Page

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Building #4 Boise ID 83714 or P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0063 Phone: (208) 334-3233 Website: https://dopl.idaho.gov

E-mail: pht@dopl.idaho.gov

REQUEST FOR OFFICIAL PT/PTA LICENSE/REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION

This is an optional form. Those who plan to work in Idaho do not need to complete this form. Those who plan to practice in a state other than Idaho and need verification of licensure in Idaho, may complete the following and submit it with this application.

Each state requires different forms of certification of licensure. Please check with the state where you are applying to see what is required before requesting certification from Idaho.

Certifications can be obtained two ways from Idaho:

- 1. Free primary source verification of license/registration status may be obtained via the web at https://dopl.idaho.gov. Click on search licenses and registration. These certifications contain all public information.
- 2. If the receiving state doesn't accept web-based certifications or requires information exempt from third-party disclosure (example: exam scores) to be included in the certification, use this form, which must include a notarized signature of the license holder and a \$10.00 fee.

Requestor Name:			 	
Phone Number:	E-mail:			
	rtification of license/registration #		license has not y	et been issued,
Please mail the certified docur State Board:	ment to the State Board listed below:			
I hereby make request for an	official certification of license/registration	on #	·	
Pleasemail ore-m	ail the certified document to:			
Name:				
Email:				
Address:				
	PO Box	City	State	Zip
	AFFIDAVIT			
-	of the license/registration noted above or that I has pational and Professional Licenses to certify to an entity noted above.		-	
Signature:	I	Date:		
State of, County of Subscribed and sworn before me this	s, ss, 20			
(seal)		Official Signature ion Expires		-
	Optional Page			