PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS

BOARD OF DENTURITRY

IDAPA 24.16.01
RULE: 100 SERIES

Proposed Rule:

100. LICENSURE.

01.  Examination. The Board will accept either the Idaho Denturitry Exam, administered by the Board, or the Universal
Testing Services (UTS) Denturitry Exam.

a. Idaho Denturitry Examination. Applicants must pass both the written and practical examinations with a score of seventy-
five percent (75%) or better. Applicants who fail one or both examinations will be required to pay a re-examination fee to the Board
prior to retaking the failed examination(s).

b. UTS Denturitry Examination. Applicants must pass the written and the practical sections of the examination, each with
a score of seventy-five percent (75%) or better.

02.  Internship. To be eligible for internship, the applicant must have completed the educational requirements set forth in
Section 54-3310(b), Idaho Code. During the internship, the supervising denturist must be present and directly observe any intern
interaction with a patient.

03.  Internship Equivalency. A one (1) year internship acquired through a formal training program in an acceptable school
will be accepted toward the two (2) year required internship for licensure. A person is considered to have the equivalent of two (2) years
internship under a licensed denturist who has met and verifies one (1) of the following within the five (5) years immediately preceding
application:

a. Two (2) years internship as a denture lab technician under a licensed dentist; or

b. Two (2) years in the military as a denture lab technician; or



C.

04.

Three (3) years experience as a denturist under licensure in another state or Canada.

Continuing Education. Continuing education must be germane to the practice of denturitry.

Current Rule: Same essential elements as proposed rule.

Legal Authority: Idaho Code §§ 54-3309, 54-3310, 54-3311, and 54-3314

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

\ To provide standards for licensing of denturists in Idaho.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)

How is the proposed Idaho rule more
stringent? (if applicable)

N/A

N/A

State Law Comparison

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the
proposed
Idaho  rule
more
stringent? (if
applicable)
Alaska AK does not license denturists. N/A
Montana The licensing of denturists in MT is encompassed within dentistry and governed by the rules of the | The proposed
Board of Dentistry. Denturists must successfully pass (1) a written exam, (2) a clinical/practical | rule is no




exam, and (3) the state jurisprudence exam; complete two years of formal education at an accredited
institution; and complete a clinical internship of at least one year. The internship must consist of
2,000 clock hours of training. MT accepts the Universal Testing Services (UTS) Denturitry Exam.

Licenses are renewed on a three-year cycle with a 36-hour CE requirement for denturists. Inactive
and volunteer licenses are exempt from the CE requirement.

https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=24.138

more
restrictive.

Nevada

NV does not license denturists.

N/A

Oregon

OR governs licensing by statute and rule. Applicants must possess an associate degree in denture
technology; complete 1,000 hours of supervised clinical practice; and pass a written and a clinical
exam from the Universal Testing Service or Washington Board of Denturists. Military training can
satisfy the first two requirements. Denturists licensed in other states may be licensed in OR without
examination. While waiting to take the clinical practice exam, a denturist may receive a temporary
license, which will allow them to practice with supervision.

Licenses are renewed annually with a ten-hour CE requirement.

Any person licensed to practice dentistry or medicine is exempted from the denturism licensing
requirements.

https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HLO/Pages/Board-Denture-Technology-Laws-Rules.aspx

The proposed
rule is no
more
restrictive.

South Dakota

SD does not license denturists.

N/A

Utah

UT does not license denturists.

N/A

Washington

WA governs denturist licensing by statute and rule. Initial applicants must graduate from a program
of denturism of at least two years and pass both a written and a clinical exam from the Universal
Testing Service or Washington Board of Denturists. Denturists licensed in other jurisdictions may
be licensed upon proof of passage of written and clinical exams substantially similar to WA's.

Licenses are renewed annually with a 15-hour CE requirement.

The proposed
rule is no
more
restrictive.



https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=24.138
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HLO/Pages/Board-Denture-Technology-Laws-Rules.aspx

Dentists and dental labs and technicians working under the written prescription of a dentist may
practice denturism without a denturist license.

https://app.leg.wa.gov/rew/default.aspx?cite=18.30& full=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-812 & full=true

Wyoming WY does not license denturists. N/A

If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal government or the reviewed states, describe the
evidence base or unique circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:

| N/A \

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

Category Potential Impact
Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or
federal fund

Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small
businesses

Impact to any local government in Idaho



https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=18.30&full=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-812&full=true

