PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY LICENSURE BOARD

IDAPA 24.06.01

RULE: 100 SERIES

Proposed Rule:

100. LICENSURE

- **01. Approved Education**. An educational program in occupational therapy accredited by the American Occupational Therapy Association's Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE), or by a predecessor or successor organization recognized by the United States Secretary of Education, the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, or both.
- **02. Supervised Fieldwork**. During the period of supervised fieldwork, students must be under daily in-person contact with an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant who is appropriately supervised by an occupational therapist. The occupational therapist is responsible for the overall use and actions of the student.
- **03.** Continuing Education. Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants must complete and maintain proof of completion of ten (10) hours of germane continuing education each year during the licensee's renewal cycle. Proof of completion must be provided to the board upon request and must include licensee's name, date of activity or when course was completed, provider name, course title, description of course/activity, and number of contact hours.

Current Rule: Same essential elements as proposed rule.

Legal Authority: Idaho Code § 54-3712, 54-3715, 54-3717, and 54-3720

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

To provide standards for the licensing of occupational therapists and occupational therapist assistants in Idaho.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
N/A	N/A

State Law Comparison

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed
		Idaho rule
		more
		stringent?
		(if
		applicable)
Alaska	While Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy are combined into a single board, each	The
	profession maintains its own licensing standards, governed both by statute (AS 08.84.030–120) and	proposed
	rule (12 AAC 54.600–725).	rule is no
		more
	AK requires license applicants to graduate from a recognized school of OT; provide a professional	restrictive.
	letter of reference; perform at least 60 hours of OT service; pass the NBCOT exam; complete an	
	internship of at least 150 hours; and pass a jurisprudence exam. OTs must also complete supervised	
	fieldwork, consisting of two three-month internships. Applicants may receive a temporary license;	
	applicants for initial licensure must be supervised by a licensed OT when working; applicants	
	merely awaiting credential acceptance may work without supervision. AK also allows temporary	
	license to active-duty military and spouses.	
	Renewal is on a biennial cycle with a 12-hour/year CE requirement. Active-duty military are exempt	
	from the CE requirement.	

	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/PT-OTStatutes.pdf	
Montana	MT governs licensing by statute, supplemented by rule. Applicants must graduate from an OT program recognized by the American Occupational Therapy Association or the American Society of Hand Therapists; complete a period of supervised fieldwork of 6 months for OTs and 2 months for OTAs; be certified by NBCOT; and pass the NBCOT exam. Licenses renew annually with a 10-hour CE requirement.	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
	MT allows for temporary permits, but temporary permit holders must practice under the supervision of fully-licensed OTs. MT also allows for inactive licenses; to reactivate, the OT must have either (1) practiced in another state; (2) complete at least 6-hours of CE in the 6 months prior to reactivating; or pass the NBCOT exam again.	
	https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0240/part_0030/sections_index.html https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=24%2E165	
Nevada	NV governs licensing by statute, supplemented by rule. Each applicant must have (1) graduated from an OT program accredited by ACOTE or AOTA; (2) have completed supervised fieldwork of 24 weeks for an OT or 16 weeks for an OTA; (3) and have passed the NBCOT exam. The first and second requirements are waivable for graduates of foreign schools and the third for OTs already certified by NBCOT. NV also requires a jurisprudence exam. OTs already possessing an unrestricted license in another state can license by endorsement. Temporary licenses may be issued pending results of the NBCOT exam, but those with temporary licenses can only practice under the supervision of an OT with an unrestricted license.	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
	Licenses are renewed biennially with 24 hours of CE (12 hours per year). Expired licenses may be reinstated within 5 years with 12 hours of CE and the jurisprudence exam completed in the year preceding reinstatement. Waivers can be granted for the CE requirement for extenuating circumstances.	
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-640A.html https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-640A.html	

Oregon	OR governs licensing by statute, implemented by rule. Applicants must have graduated from a program accredited by ACOTE; passed the NBCOT exam; and completed at least six months of supervised fieldwork. Applicants must also pass a state jurisprudence exam. Pending the NBCOT exam, OTs and OTAs may receive a limited permit, allowing them to practice under the routine supervision of a licensed OT. Active-duty military or their spouses may be granted temporary licenses if licensed in another state. Licenses renew on a biennial basis with a 30-hour CE requirement. Waivers of the CE requirement may be granted in individual cases of physical disability, illness, or undue hardship. https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/ORS%20675.210%20to%20675.340.pdf https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayChapterRules.action?selectedChapter=131	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
South Dakota SD governs licensing by statute, supplemented by rule. Applicants must have graduated from accredited OT or OTA program; completed 6 months of fieldwork for OTs and 2 months for OT and passed the NBCOT exam. The education requirements may be waived under certain condit Pending the NBCOT exam, an applicant may receive a limited permit. SD also allows recipilicensure. Licenses renew on an annual basis with a 12-hour CE requirement. Waivers of the CE requirement be granted in circumstances of illness or undue hardship. https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2061102 https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/11015		The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
Utah	UT governs licensing by both statute and rule. Applicants must graduate from a program accredited by ACOTE; complete supervised fieldwork of 24 weeks for OTs and 16 weeks for OTAs; and pass the NBCOT exam. OTs licensed in another state may receive licensure by endorsement. Licenses renew on a biennial basis with a 24-hour CE requirement. https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter42A/58-42a.html https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-42a/Current%20Rules ?	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.

Washington	Washington WA governs licensing by both statute (RCW 18.59.050–090) and rule (WAC 246-847-040–140–150). Applicants must pass the state's jurisprudence exam with a 100% score. In addition, to must graduate from an ACOTE-accredited OT or OTA program; must complete fieldwork of months for OTs and two months for OTAs; and must pass the NBCOT exam. The education requirement can be waived, and a military equivalence is granted, too. Exam requirements are awaivable for OTs licensed in other states. WA also provides a path to licensure for individuals was an expired out-of-state license. Limited permits are available pending NBCOT exam and result. Licenses renew biennially with a 30-hour CE requirement. Suspended licenses are subject renewal. WA is a compact state. https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=18.59&full=true, https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-847&full=true	
Wyoming WY governs licensure by rule. Applicants must graduate from a program accredited complete supervised fieldwork; and pass the NBCOT exam. An OT licensed in anoth either apply for a temporary license or can license by endorsement. Limited licenses a to applicants awaiting the NBCOT exam and results. OTs that have been out of pract years may re-enter practice may also be granted a limited license and, with an addition of CE for every year out of practice, can return to full licensure. Licenses renew annually with a biennial 32-hour CE requirement. https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=083 (chapter 2).		The proposed rule is no more restrictive.

If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:

ı	3. 1	r /	
ı		1/	Λ
ı	1.	//	$\boldsymbol{\Delta}$

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

Category	Potential Impact
Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or	
federal fund	
Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small	
businesses	
Impact to any local government in Idaho	

<u>Cumulative regulatory volume this proposed rule adds:</u>

Category	Potential Impact
Net change in word count	
Net change in restrictive word count	