PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS

PHYSICAL THERAPY LICENSURE BOARD

IDAPA 24.13.01

RULE: 100 SER	IES		
Proposed Rule: [Add rule text here]		
Current Rule: [A	add rule text here or, for longer rules, summarize key elements]		
Legal Authority	Idaho Code §§ 54-2206 (discretionary: authorized rulemaking), 54-220	9 (mandatory: shall authorize	exams)
Define the specif	ic problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved	through non-regulatory me	ans?
What evidence is	there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?		
Federal Law Co	mparison (where applicable)		
Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho rule stringent? (if applicable)			o rule more
N/A		N/A	
State Law Comp	<u>arison</u>		
State	Summary of Law (include direct link)		How is the proposed Idaho rule more

		stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	While Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy are combined into a single board, each profession maintains its own licensing standards, governed both by statute (AS 08.84.030–120) and rule (12 AAC 54.030–440).	N/A
	Applicants for licensure must graduate from an accredited school with a supervised field work component; pass the NPTE; provide a signed letter of professional reference for new applicants; and passed a jurisprudence exam. Graduates from schools located outside of the U.S. must also have graduated from a course of study equivalent to an accredited school; must complete an internship; and must pass an English competency exam. PTAs with military training can also be licensed on those credentials.	
	PTs and PTAs licensed in other states may receive licensure by acceptance of credentials, if those credentials are substantially equivalent to those required by AK. The Board may also issue non-renewable temporary permits to applicants whose licensing applications are pending exam results or review for credentialing.	
	Lapsed licenses may be renewed, provided that a license lapsed for more than three years may require proof of continued competency.	
	AK specifically enumerates the grounds for denial of license.	
	Licenses renew on a biennial basis. To renew license, PTs must complete the jurisprudence exam; either work in physical therapy for 60 hours or complete the NPTE or complete a 150-hour internship; and complete 24 hours of CE. Active-duty military are exempt from CE requirements during service.	
	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/PT-OTStatutes.pdf	
Montana	Applicants for licensure as a PT or PTA must be adults of good moral character; have graduated from a CAPTE-accredited school or its equivalent for foreign graduates or candidates with prior military training and experience; and passed the respective NPTE. PTs who have been practicing in a foreign	

	country may be allowed a temporary license while preparing for the exam. PTs licensed out-of-state may be required to pass a refresher course before receiving a license in MT. MT specifically enumerates the grounds for denial of license. Licenses renew on a 2-year cycle with 30 hours of CE required each renewal. https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0110/part_0030/sections_index.html https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=24%2E177	
Nevada	Applicants for licensure must provide professional references; graduate from a CAPTE-accredited school of physical therapy; pass the NPTE; and pass a state-specific jurisprudence exam. Graduates from foreign universities must also submit an evaluation from the FCCPT showing that their school has the equivalent credential as a CAPTE-accredited school; show that the applicant's ability to practice PT in the foreign country is not impaired; and demonstrate proficiency in the English language. Applicants willing to practice in medically underserved areas of NV may also receive a temporary license.	N/A
	PTs may reinstate a license that has been expired for less than two years. After two years, the licensee must reapply as a new applicant. NV requires specific training, including 150 didactic hours, before PT can perform dry-needling.	
	Licenses renew annually "1.5 units of an approved course" (CE appears to require college-level coursework). https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-640.html#NRS640Sec190	
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-640.html	
Oregon	Applicants for licensure must be of good moral character; graduate from a CAPTE-accredited education program, or have equivalent military training and experience in physical therapy, or (if a graduate from a foreign school) provide evidence that the program was substantially equivalent to one accredited by CAPTE; and pass the NPTE. Foreign applicants must also demonstrate proficiency	N/A

	in English and, if currently working as PTs, may submit a reference letter from an employer to receive licensure by endorsement. PTs from other states may apply for reciprocity if they meet the above requirements. OR specifically enumerates the grounds for denial of license. Licenses renew every 2 years with a requirement of 24 hours of CE. https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors688.html ,	
South Dakota	SD does not currently have an independent board of Physical Therapy, but there is an advisory committee for practice and credentialing standards.	N/A
	Applicants for licensure as a PT or PTA must have graduated from a CAPTE-accredited program and have passed the respective NPTE exam. PTs licensed in other states may receive reciprocity if the state's qualifications are substantially equivalent to SD.	
	Prior to performing dry needling, a PT must complete additional specialized coursework. Licenses renew annually with a requirement of 15 hours of CE. SD allows for waiver of the CE requirement for illness, disability, military service, or other undue hardship. PTs and PTAs must sign an attestation to show compliance with the CE requirement and provide proof of completion of the CE hours upon request by the Board.	
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2059923, https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/11022	
Utah	Applicants for licensure as a PT or a PTA must graduate from a CAPTE accredited program or, if a foreign school, a program determined to be CAPTE equivalent by the FCCPT; pass the NPTE; and be able to speak, read, write, and understand English. PTs already licensed and practicing in another jurisdiction may receive licensure by endorsement. UT issues temporary licenses to PTs from other states while pending full licensure in UT.	N/A

	Licenses renew on a 2-year cycle with 40 hours of CE required each cycle, at least 2 of which must be in ethics/law.	
	https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter24B/C58-24b_1800010118000101.pdf https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-24b/Current%20Rules?	
Washington	Applicants for licensure as a PT must be of good moral character and have obtained either a bachelor's degree in physical therapy from a CAPTE accredited school, or an advanced degree and certificate. Applicants for licensure as a PTA must be of good character and have completed a board-approved PTA program. PTs or PTAs licensed in other states under the same or similar qualifications can apply for licensure by endorsement. All applicants must have passed the NPTE.	N/A
	Students may apply for an interim permit allowing them to practice physical therapy under the supervision of a licensed PT for up to six months while awaiting the results of the NPTE. They can also apply for full licensure prior to graduation, allowing them to practice as soon as the Board receives their transcript and passing NPTE score.	
	Applicants with military experience satisfy the training and experience requirements for licensure, unless the Board determines that the training was inadequate. Military spouses may receive temporary practice permits while completing requirements for full licensure.	
	WA allows out-of-practice PTs and PTAs to place their licenses on inactive status. PTs may reactive licenses if they have been actively practicing in another jurisdiction or have not been out of practice for more than five years. If out of practice for more than five years, PT must show that they meet all requirements for licensure and retake the NPTE.	
	Licenses renew on a 2-year cycle. PTs must complete 32 hours of CE every two years, 10 of which must be in spinal manipulation for those with credential. PTA requires 24 hours of CE every two years. All must complete a one-time suicide risk assessment training.	
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=18.74&full=true https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-915&full=true	

Wyoming	Applicants for licensure as a PT or PTA must present evidence of good character; have graduated from a PT or PTA education program accredited by CAPTE, respectively; have passed the NPTE physical therapy examination; and must participate in a personal interview if requested by the Board. Foreign graduates must also complete a PT residency, complete any additional education required by the Board, and pass an English proficiency exam. PT's and PTA's already licensed and in good standing in another state may license in WY by endorsement. WY does not allow applicants to become PT if they fail the NPTE more than 6 times. Temp licenses are available for out-of-state PT to practice during public health emergencies. License renewal cycle is 2 years with 15 CE hours required per year. The CE requirement is waivable for extreme hardship: illness, disability, active military service, etc. https://casetext.com/statute/wyoming-statutes/title-33-professions-and-occupations/chapter-25-physical-therapists, https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=062.	

If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

Category	Potential Impact
Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or	
federal fund	
Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small	
businesses	
Impact to any local government in Idaho	