PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS IDAHO BOARD OF PODIATRY IDAPA 24.11.01

Proposed 100 Series:

100. LICENSURE.

01. Approved Education. Applicants must graduate from a four (4) year school of podiatry located within the United States or Canada approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education and the American Podiatric Medical Association, or its foreign equivalent.

02. Accredited Podiatric Residency. Applicants must complete a podiatric residency approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of no less than twenty-four (24) months, a minimum of twelve (12) months of which must be surgical. Proof of completion must be received directly from the residency program.

03. Approved Examination: Applicants for licensure by examination must successfully pass all parts of the American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination administered by the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners.

04. Continuing Education. Podiatrists who have been licensed in Idaho for two (2) or more years will submit proof of completion of thirty (30) hours of continuing education every two (2) years, reported with their annual renewal application in evennumbered years. Podiatrists licensed less than two (2) years will submit proof of fifteen (15) hours of continuing education. All continuing education must be germane to the practice of podiatry.

Current Rules: Same essential elements as proposed rule.

Legal Authority: Idaho Code §§ 54-605, 54-606 – discretionary.

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

To provide standards for the licensing of podiatrists in Idaho.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
N/A	N/A

State Law Comparison

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	AK governs podiatry through its State Medical Board. licensure by statute. Licensure is required to practice podiatry. To qualify for licensure, applicants must submit certificates of graduation for legally chartered schools of podiatry, pass a board-approved exam, complete a surgical residency of one or two years, and receive at least two hours of education in opioid use and addiction. AK also requires continuing education in pain management and opioid addiction. AK allows temporary licenses, provides a path to licensure for graduates of foreign medical schools, and allows "curtesy" licenses. License renewal is on a two-year cycle with 50 hours of CE (25/year). https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/MedicalStatutes.pdf	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
Montana	MT's license qualifications are generally governed by statute. They include graduation from a recognized school of podiatry, at least 1 year of post-graduate training, and passing the NBPME's national exam. Podiatrists wishing to perform ankle surgeries must obtain additional ankle surgy certification, which requires a podiatric surgical residency. Renewal appears to be on a biennial basis.	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.

	https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E156%2E1003 https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0060/part_0030/section_0020/0370-0060-0030-	
	<u>0020.html</u>	
Nevada	NV's license requirements are generally governed by statute. Licensees must have received a DPM from an accredited school of podiatry; completed a residency program; and passed the NBPME exam. NV also provides for licenses by endorsement, limited practice licenses, and provisional licenses. Licenses are renewed biennially, but podiatrists are only required to submit CE credits every other 	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
Oregon	OR governs initial licensure by rule and renewal by statute, ORS 677.820–837. To qualify for licensure, an applicant must graduate from an accredited school of podiatry with a DPM; must pass all sections of the NBPME exam; and must complete a one-year post-graduate residency. If the applicant wishes to perform surgeries, he or she must complete a surgical residency. License renewal appears to be on a two-year cycle with 50 CE credits.	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
	https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_677.820 https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=3899	
South Dakota	SD governs licensure by rule and statute. Applicants for licensure must be at least 18, possess a Doctor of Podiatry Medicine, complete a residency, and pass the NBPME's national exam. Licensing is renewed on a biennial basis with 30 CE credits. SD provides a method for evaluating foreign schools of podiatry.	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2059661 https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/10785	
Utah	UT provides rules governing the licensure of podiatrists. Applicants must have completed a post- graduate residency of either 2 years or 1 year with an additional progressive resident training program,	The proposed

	and they must pass all parts of the NBPME exam. The renewal cycle for licenses is biennial with a 40 CE credit requirement. <u>https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-5a/Current%20Rules</u> ?	rule is no more restrictive.
Washington	WA licensure requirements are governed both by rule and statute. Applicants must complete a podiatry course from an accredited school, complete a one-year post-graduate podiatric residency or other medical training program, and have passed all sections of the NBPME exam. WA allows a limited license during the post-graduate residency and also provides for temporary licenses. Renewal is on a biennial basis with a 100-hour CE requirement. <u>https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=18.22&full=true&pdf=true</u> <u>https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-922&full=true&pdf=true</u>	The proposed rule is no more restrictive.
Wyoming	WY provides rules governing the licensure of podiatrists. Applicants must have graduated with a DPM; complete a residency; and pass the NBPME exam. All podiatrists are required to sit for an additional jurisprudence exam and must achieve an 80% to pass. License renewal is biennial with a 40-hour CE requirement. WY allows an administrative grace period for late renewal, but once that grace period has passed, the licensee must apply for re-licensure. <u>https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=028&Program=0001</u>	rule is no

If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:

N/A

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

Category	Potential Impact
Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or	Licensure fees collected are deposited in the Board of Podiatry's
federal fund	general fund.

Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small	The rule does not negatively impact Idaho businesses.
businesses	
Impact to any local government in Idaho	The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho.

<u>Cumulative regulatory volume this proposed rule adds:</u>

Category	Potential Impact
Net change in word count	
Net change in restrictive word count	