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IDAHO SPEECH, HEARING AND COMMUNICATION SERVICES LICENSURE BOARD 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 

11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Building #4 Boise ID 83714 or  
PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0063 

Phone: (208) 334-3233  Website: https://dopl.idaho.gov 
E-mail: shs@dopl.idaho.gov

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR AUDIOLOGY LICENSE 
Please read all application questions carefully. Several questions, if answered Yes, require additional documentation. You are required to contact the 
source of the required documentation and request that said documentation be submitted directly to the Board office at the address above. If the source 
will not provide the documentation, or the documentation is otherwise unobtainable, you must submit a written explanation and any documents in your 
possession that would assist the Board in reviewing your application.  Completed licensure applications along with all requested documentation must 
be received in the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses at least 7 business days prior to the next scheduled meeting. Applications 
received after that date may be held over for the Board’s next meeting. Processing will be delayed for applications that do not include a social security 
number or other documentation required under Idaho Code § 73-122. Incomplete applications that do not include all the items required 
(excluding those items that must be sent directly to our office from an issuing authority) will delay licensure. 

Application Checklist for Original License - Please keep a copy of this application for your records. 

Please use this checklist as a guide to completing your application. This method is for those who are new licensees. Those who are licensed in 
another state with requirements substantially similar to Idaho should fill out the endorsement application. Supporting documentation must 
come to the address above from the issuing source. 

 Completed application. All requested information must be provided and the form must be notarized. 
 Full name currently being used. Also include any other names previously used. (If the name on your application does not match supplemental 
materials, such as the proof of age document or the transcripts, please provide proof of the name change in the form of a marriage certificate, 
divorce decree or court order.) 

 Proof of age – a clear and readable color copy of a government-issued photo ID such as a passport, military ID, or valid driver’s license is 
acceptable. 
 Copy of official transcripts sent directly to our office from the issuing authority. 
 Documentation of having obtained supervised professional experience. 
 Any other supporting documentation (See Questions 9 through 15). 
 Applicable fees of $95.00. 

APPLICATION FEE - $25.00    LICENSE FEE - $70.00 

FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. Please make checks and money orders payable to IDOPL. All returned checks are subject to a $20.00 fee and the 
application will be invalid  

All applicants must review the Idaho laws & rules prior to licensure.  Please note that according to Section Idaho Code § 54-2904, you must be 
licensed to practice. The Board’s Laws and Rules may be downloaded at: https://dopl.idaho.gov 

Definitions 
Definitions pertaining to the practice of Audiology in the state of Idaho may be found in Idaho Code § 54-2903.  Please review the laws and rules on 
the website: https://dopl.idaho.gov. 

License Requirement 
Except as otherwise provided by law, it shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the practice or to perform or offer to practice audiology or to act 
as a hearing aid dealer or fitter unless such person is duly licensed. A license issued by the Board shall be posted in the licensee's established place of 
business or carried upon the person, and shall be presented as proof of licensure upon demand. 

Provisional permit 
The board may issue a provisional permit to allow a person to engage in the practice of audiology while completing either the required postgraduate 
experience or a comparable experience as part of a doctoral program in audiology as required by law. The holder of a provisional permit may practice 
only while under the supervision of a person fully licensed under Idaho law. (See Rule 450.) Please use the Provisional Permit Application form. 

Dual licensure 
A person may be licensed as both an audiologist and a speech-language pathologist if such person duly meets the requirements of licensure for both. A 
person obtaining licensure as both an audiologist and a speech-language pathologist shall be charged fees as though the person had obtained only one 
(1) license.

ATTENTION MEMBERS AND SPOUSES OF MEMBERS OF THE ARMED SERVICES 
If you are a member of the armed forces, an honorably discharged veteran or the spouse of an active member or veteran of the military, you are 
entitled to certain benefits because of your service.  Those benefits may include expedited processing of your application and credit for military 
training that is relevant to the occupational license/registration for which you are applying. For a full explanation of eligibility and a comprehensive 
description of benefits available, see Idaho Code §§ 67-9401-9407.  Additionally, active members of the military may be eligible for a waiver of 
renewal fees and other renewal requirements, see Idaho Code § 67-2602A.    
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IDAHO SPEECH, HEARING AND COMMUNICATION SERVICES LICENSURE BOARD 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 

11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Building #4 Boise ID 83714 or  
PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0063 

Phone: (208) 334-3233  Website: https://dopl.idaho.gov 
E-mail: shs@ibol.idaho.gov

APPLICATION FOR AUDIOLOGY ORIGINAL LICENSE - $95 

I hereby submit my qualifications and application for an audiology license in the State of Idaho under the provisions of Title 
54, Chapter 29, Idaho Code, and provide the following:  

1. Full Name (Mr., Mrs., or Ms.) ______________________________________________________________________
(Please include any other names used previously or currently. Legal documentation of any name changes is required if any supporting documentation includes other 
names.) 

2. Address of Record _______________________________________________________________________________ 
(The above address is a public record.)                                        Street                                            City                                     State                Zip 

3. Mailing Address _________________________________________________________________________________
(Will be used as address of record if none provided above.)    Street/PO Box                               City                                     State                Zip 

4. Date of Birth ____/____/______
mm       dd         yyyy

(Proof of age – a clear and readable color copy of a government-issued photo ID such as a passport, military ID, or valid driver’s license must be attached.) 

5. Social Security No. ____/____/_____     E-mail ________________________________________________________
(This is not a public record; required by I.C. § 73-122.)               (This is not a public record; required by I.C. § 67-2609.) 

6. Business Phone (____)________________     Cell Phone (____)________________
(The above phone number is a public record.)                                (The above phone number is not a public record.)

7. Master’s degree from ______________________________ on ____/____/______ with Major in _________________

8. Doctorate degree from _____________________________ on ____/____/______ with Major in _________________
You must document either a master’s or doctoral degree with emphasis in audiology or not less than seventy-five (75) semester credit hours of post-
baccalaureate study that culminates in a doctoral or other recognized degree from a nationally accredited school for audiology with a curriculum
acceptable to the board. Official university/college transcripts noting that the degree has been conferred must be received by this office directly from
the school registrar.

9. Are you or your spouse an active member or honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed Services?
(To utilize experience or education gained in the military to qualify you for this license/registration, please attach a copy of your DD-214.)  (  ) Yes   (  ) No

10. Have you ever taken the National Examination for the Professional Practice of Audiology? (  ) Yes   (  ) No 
       (If Yes, we must receive official certification from the interstate reporting service or official Certification of Clinical Competence from the 

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) or the American Board of Audiologists (ABA) before your application will be 
processed.) 

11. Attach documentation of having obtained supervised professional experience.
If you received your professional education outside of the United States, the board may deem such education acceptable. You must provide

documentation acceptable to the board, that equivalent education requirements have been met. The board, in its discretion, may require that you
provide additional information concerning such professional education. The board may also, in its discretion, require successful completion of
additional coursework before proceeding with the application process.

NOTE: Providing proof of official Certification of Clinical Competence from the American Speech Language Hearing Association (ASHA) will
provide the necessary proof for questions 7-10.

12. Are you currently or have you ever been licensed or practiced in this field in another state? (  ) Yes   (  ) No
(If Yes, list the State(s) here____________________________________. Certification of licensure must be received directly from the licensing
authority or received in a print out from the issuing authority website guaranteeing primary source verification before your application will be
processed.)

13. Have you ever had a license, or registration revoked, suspended or otherwise sanctioned or been disciplined in
connection with this practice?         (  ) Yes   (  ) No
(If Yes, a copy of the charges and the final order must be received before your application will be processed.) 

(continued) 
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APPLICATION FOR AUDIOLOGY LICENSE 
(continued) 

14. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license, certification, or registration? (  ) Yes   (  ) No 
(If Yes, a written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the surrender must be attached.) 

15. Have you ever been convicted, punished, found guilty, pled guilty or nolo contendere, entered an Alford plea, or
received a withheld or suspended judgment  for a felony or crime other than a minor traffic offense?

(  ) Yes   (  ) No
(If yes, the Criminal Conviction Disclosure Form, official court documents, and probation and parole documents along with any other relevant information must be 
received with this application.) 

AFFIDAVIT 

Upon oath I certify each of the following:  (1) the responses and information provided in this application and in the attached addendum(s) 
and documentation are true and correct to the best of my knowledge;  (2) I am the applicant named in and who has signed this application; 
(3) I am a United States citizen or a legal permanent resident or I am otherwise lawfully present in the United States; (4) I have read and
will conform to the Laws and Rules governing the profession for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice; (5) I acknowledge
and agree the use of intentional misrepresentation or fraud in this application or violation of any Laws or Rules governing the profession
for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice shall constitute cause sufficient for denial, suspension, cancellation or revocation
of any license or authority applied for or granted to me; (6) I will provide additional or corrected information if material changes occur
which would cause responses or information provided in or with this application to be inaccurate or incomplete; (7) I authorize and direct
any person, agency, firm, or other entity to release, upon the request of the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses or
its authorized representative, any information, communication, report, record, statement, disclosure, or recommendation that may have
bearing on my eligibility for or maintenance of the license or authority for which I am applying and hereby release and exonerate any of
them from any liability of any kind resulting from the release or collection thereof; and (8) I authorize the Division of Occupational and
Professional Licenses to release to any other regulatory entity in any jurisdiction any information requested about me that may otherwise
be protected or confidential that may have bearing on my eligibility for or maintenance of any license or authority issued or applied for in
this or any jurisdiction and hereby release and exonerate them from any liability of any kind resulting from the release thereof.

______________________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 

State of ______________, County of _________________, ss. 
Subscribed and sworn before me this ______ day of _______________________, 20 _____. 

______________________________________________________ 
        (seal) Notary Public Official Signature 

My Commission Expires__________________________________ 

Note: The applicant’s signature must be notarized. The applicants must declare the answers provided are true in front of a 
notary (jurat). The language “subscribed and sworn” must appear before the applicant’s signature. An “acknowledgement” 
where the notary only verifies the identity of the applicant is not acceptable. 
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