IDAHO SPEECH, HEARING AND COMMUNICATION SERVICES LICENSURE BOARD Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Boise ID 83714 or PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0063 Phone: (208) 334-3233 Website: <u>https://dopl.idaho.gov</u> E-mail: shs@dopl.idaho.gov

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AIDE or ASSISTANT LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT

Please read all application questions carefully. Several questions, if answered Yes, require additional documentation. You are required to contact the source of the required documentation and request that said documentation be submitted directly to the Board office at the address above. If the source will not provide the documentation, or the documentation is otherwise unobtainable, you must submit a written explanation and any documents in your possession that would assist the Board in reviewing your application. Completed licensure applications along with all requested documentation must be received in the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses at least 7 business days prior to the next scheduled meeting. Applications received after that date may be held over for the Board's next meeting. Processing will be delayed for applications that do not include a social security number or other documentation required under Idaho Code § 73-122. Incomplete applications that do not include all the items required (excluding those items that must be sent directly to our office from an issuing authority) will delay licensure.

Endorsement Application Checklist ****** Please keep a copy of this application for your records.

Please use this checklist as a guide to completing your application. This method is for those who have a current license in another state with requirements substantially similar to Idaho's. Those seeking licensure for the first time should fill out the original license application. Please remember any supporting documentation must come directly from the issuing source.

Completed application, including the Open Book Exam. All requested information must be provided and the form must be notarized.

- Full name currently being used. Also include any other names previously used. (If the name on your application does not match the proof of age document or the transcripts, please provide proof of the name change in the form of a marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order.)
- Proof of age a clear and readable color copy of a government-issued photo ID such as a passport, military ID, or valid driver's license is acceptable.

□ Verification of Licensure from any states you have held or currently hold a license sent directly to our office from the issuing authority. If the licensing state guarantees they are a primary source verification state, you may provide a print out of the license certification and include it with your application.

A copy of the licensure Laws/Rules from the state in which you are currently licensed or Official Certification of Clinical Competence.

Applicable fees of \$95.00.

Requirements for Licensure by Endorsement in the State of Idaho may be found in Idaho Code § 54-2904

APPLICATION FEE - \$25.00 LICENSE FEE - \$70.00

FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. Please make checks and money orders payable to IDOPL. All returned checks are subject to a \$20.00 fee and the application will be invalid

All applicants must review the Idaho laws & rules prior to licensure. Please note that according to Section Idaho Code § 54-2904, you must be licensed to practice. The Board's Laws and Rules may be downloaded at: <u>https://dopl.idaho.gov</u>.

Definitions

Definitions pertaining to the practice of Speech Language Pathology Aide and Assistant in the State of Idaho may be found in Idaho Code § 54-2903. Please review the laws and rule on the website: <u>https://dopl.idaho.gov</u>.

License Requirement

Except as otherwise provided by law, it shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the practice or to perform or offer to practice speech-language pathology unless such person is duly licensed. A license issued by the Board shall be posted in the licensee's established place of business or carried upon the person and shall be presented as proof of licensure upon demand.

ATTENTION MEMBERS AND SPOUSES OF MEMBERS OF THE ARMED SERVICES

If you are a member of the armed forces, an honorably discharged veteran or the spouse of an active member or veteran of the military, you are entitled to certain benefits because of your service. Those benefits may include expedited processing of your application and credit for military training that is relevant to the occupational license/registration for which you are applying. For a full explanation of eligibility and a comprehensive description of benefits available, see <u>Idaho Code § 67-9401-9407</u>. Additionally, active members of the military may be eligible for a waiver of renewal fees and other renewal requirements, see <u>Idaho Code § 67-2602A</u>.

Note: The applicant's signature must be notarized. The applicants must declare the answers provided are true in front of a notary (jurat). The language "subscribed and sworn" must appear before the applicant's signature. An "acknowledgement" where the notary only verifies the identity of the applicant is not acceptable.

IDAHO SPEECH, HEARING AND COMMUNICATION SERVICES LICENSURE BOARD Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 11341 W. Chinden Blvd., Boise ID 83714 or PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0063 Phone: (208) 334-3233 Website: <u>https://dopl.idaho.gov</u> E-mail: <u>shs@dopl.idaho.gov</u>

	APPLICATION FOR SPEECH-LAN reby submit my qualifications and application for a licen- te of Idaho under the provisions of Title 54, Chapter 29, I	se to practice as a	() S	peech-La	1guage P				
514	e of faund under the provisions of Thice 51, chapter 29, T	auno coue, ana pre	ovide t		<u></u>				
1.	Full Name (Mr., Mrs., or Ms.)								
2.	Address of Record								
	(This address is a public record.)	Street				City		State	Zip
2	Mailing address								
5.	Mailing address	ove.) Street/PO E	Box			City		State	Zip
4.	Date of Birth///								
(Pr	oof of age – a clear and readable color copy of a governm	ent-issued photo II	D such	as a passp	ort, milit	ary ID, or valid	driver's lice	ense must be	e attached.)
5.	Social Security No. / / E-mail (This is not a public record; required by I.C. § 73-122.) (This is not a public record; required by I.C. § 67-2609.)								
6.	Business Phone ()								
7.	Associates degree from		on	/	_/	with Ma	ajor in _		
8.	Baccalaureate degree from		_on	/	/	with Ma	ajor in _		
9.	Are you or your spouse an active member (To utilize experience or education gained in the military								
10.	Are you currently or have you ever been li (If Yes, certification of licensure must be received direct source verification before your application will be proce Please list the state(s):	etly from the licens essed. NOTE: Plea	sing au	thority or	received by of licer	in a print out fro nsure law/rules i	om the issuin information	ng authority from your c	() Yes () No website guaranteeing primary current state(s).)
11.	Have you ever had a license, or registration revoked, suspended or otherwise sanctioned or been disciplined in connection with this practice? () Yes () No (If Yes, a copy of the charges and the final order must be received before your application will be processed.)								
12.	Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a li (If Yes, a written explanation of the circumstances surro	cense, certifica unding the surrendo	ation, er mus	, or regi st be attach	stratio	n?			() Yes () No
13.	3. Have you ever been convicted, punished, found guilty, pled guilty or nolo contendere, entered an Alford plea, or received a withheld or suspended judgment for a felony or crime other than a minor traffic offense? () Yes () No (If yes, the Criminal Conviction Disclosure Form, official court documents, and probation and parole documents along with any other relevant information must be received with this application.)								
to t law (5) see ina Lic or col abo	on oath I certify each of the following: (1) the responses a he best of my knowledge; (2) I am the applicant named in fully present in the United States; (4) I have read and wil I acknowledge and agree the use of intentional misrepre- king a license or authority to practice shall constitute cau ζ_{1} (6) I will provide additional or corrected information i ccurate or incomplete; (7) I authorize and direct any perso- enses or its authorized representative, any information, cc- maintenance of the license or authority for which I am ap- lection thereof; and (8) I authorize the Division of Occupat- ut me that may otherwise be protected or confidential that jurisdiction and hereby release and exonerate them from	and who has signe l conform to the La sentation or fraud se sufficient for de f material changes on, agency, firm, or ommunication, repo- pplying and hereby ional and Professio at may have bearing	wided ed this a aws and in this enial, s coccur r other ort, rec r other onal Lio g on m	application d Rules gc s application uspension which we entity to r ord, stater se and exc censes to r ny eligibili	r; (3) I an overning t on or vio , cancella ould caus elease, up nent, disc onerate ar elease to a ty for or	n a United States he profession for lation of any La tion or revocati- e responses or i boon the request of closure, or recorn yo of them from any other regulat maintenance of	s citizen or a or which I at aws or Rule on of any li information of the Idaho numendation any liabilit tory entity in	legal perma n seeking a s governing cense or aut provided in Division of that may ha y of any kin n any jurisdi	anent resident or I am otherwis license or authority to practice g the profession for which I ar thority applied for or granted to n or with this application to be f Occupational and Profession ave bearing on my eligibility for nd resulting from the release of iction any information requested
		S	Signa	ture of A	Applicar	nt			
Sta	te of, County of bscribed and sworn before me this day	, ss.			~	0			
Su	oscribed and sworn before me this day	y of			, 2	0			

(seal)	Notary Public Official Signature						
	My Commission Expires						
DOPL-03/2021 SHSA/SLPA/END/01-25/04-70	2 of 4						

Date: _____

Examination for SLP-Assistants or Aides

Please circle the correct response. Refer to Idaho Statutes §§ 54-2907, 54-2910, 54-2914, 54-2915, Rule 350 and 400 and the application form provided with this exam to assist you.

- 1) Who is responsible for on the job training of speech-language pathology assistants or aides?
 - A. Hearing aid fitter and dealer
 - B. Audiologist
 - C. Speech-language pathologist
 - D. None of the above
- 2) Which one of the following titles is NOT appropriate according to Idaho's Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Laws?
 - A. Aide
 - B. Support personnel
 - C. Assistant
 - D. Helper
- 3) Who establishes the **Idaho** licensing rules that define the roles of speech-language support personnel, aides and assistants? A. Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
 - B. Idaho Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board
 - C. Hearing Aid Fitters and Dealers
 - D. American Speech, Language and Hearing Association
- 4) What areas **may** be defined in the licensing rules?
 - A. Supervisory responsibilities of the licensee
 - B. Ratio of support personnel, aides or assistants to licensees
 - C. Scope of practice for speech-language pathology aides and assistants, restrictions and responsibilities
 - D. All of the above
- 5) What must a speech-language pathology aide or assistant do to become licensed in Idaho?
 - A. File a written application with the Board
 - B. Provide documentation that the applicant possesses the appropriate degree from an accredited college
 - C. Pass an examination approved by board
 - D. Never had a license revoked
 - E. All of the above
- 6) Who accepts full responsibility for the tasks and activities of the speech-language pathology support personnel, aide or assistant being supervised?
 - A. Support personnel
 - B. Supervising speech-language pathologist
 - C. Any speech-language pathologist
 - D. Aide
 - E. Assistant
- 7) Who approves applications for licensure?
 - A. Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board
 - B. Governor
 - C. Idaho Speech and Hearing Association
 - D. Legislature and Governor
 - E. Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses

- 8) What is required for an application to be considered complete?
 - A. Social Security number
 - B. Payment of fees
 - C. Proof of age
 - D. All of the above
- 9) Application for a license as an SLP- Aide includes documentation of a:
 - A. Doctoral degree
 - B. Baccalaureate degree
 - C. Masters Degree
 - D. Associate's degree as an SLP-A
- 10) Application as an SLP-Assistant includes documentation of an:
 - A. Doctoral degree
 - B. Baccalaureate degree
 - C. Masters degree
 - D. Associate's degree
- 11) License renewal occurs on an applicant's birthday:
 - A. Every three years
 - B. Every other year
 - C. Twice per year
 - D. Once per year
- 12) Applicants for an SLP-A license must disclose:
 - A. Any criminal conviction or charge other than minor traffic infractions
 - B. Any disciplinary action against the applicant by any regulatory agency
 - C. Any denial of ...licensure by any state or district
 - D. All of the above
- 13) Support personnel, speech-language pathology aides and speech-language pathology assistants shall only:
 - A. Work in accredited school districts
 - B. Work under classified personnel
 - C. Work under the direction and supervision of a speech-language pathologist
 - D. Work under hearing aid dealers and fitters
- 14) If a speech-language pathology aide or assistant is interviewed by the speech and hearing services licensure board, the interview will be limited to a review of the applicant's:
 - A. Personal life
 - B. Qualifications and professional credentials
 - C. Qualifications and personal interests
 - D. Professional credentials and activities
- 15) Which of the following is true about required continuing education credits?
 - A. It is the responsibility of the applicant to maintain continuing education verification documents and provide them to the board upon request.
 - B. Any continuing education credits are accepted for licensure.
 - C. Continuing education is strongly encouraged but not mandatory.
 - D. All of the above.