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State of Idaho 
Division Of Occupational and Professional Licenses 
Drinking Water and Water Professionals Board 

BRAD LITTLE 
Governor 

RUSSELL BARRON 
Administrator 

11341 W Chinden Blvd. 
P.O. Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720-0063 
(208) 334-3233
dopl.idaho.gov

Application for Drinking Water Licensure 

Select Application Type: 
 OIT License Upgrade  Endorsement

Upgrade to Class I
 Initial License 

OIT or Class I 
($55.00) ($25.00)

 License Upgrade 
Upgrade to Class II+ 
($25.00) ($55.00)

Select License Type: 
Water Treatment Water Distribution

Select License Class: 
 Operator-in-Training  Class I  Class IV
 Very Small Water System  Class II  N/A
 Class I Restricted  Class III

Applicant Information 

Applicant Name: ______________________________________________________________________ 

Date of Birth: __________________________ Social Security Number: ________ - _____ - ________ 
(This is not a public record; required by I.C. § 73-122) 

Address of Record: ____________________________________________________________________ 
(The above address is a public record. Street Address, City, State, Zip Code) 

Mailing Address: ______________________________________________________________________ 
(Applicant Residential Address. Used as public address of record if not provided above. Street Address, City, State, Zip Code.) 

Cell Phone: ________________________ Applicant Email: _______________________________ 
(The above phone number is not a public record.)  (This is not a public record; required by I.C. § 67-2609.) 

Are you or your spouse an active member or honorably discharged veteran of 
the United States Armed Services? 

Do you hold a current drinking water license in Idaho issued by the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licenses? 

Have you ever had a license or registration denied, surrendered, suspended, 
revoked, or otherwise disciplined in any state, including Idaho, or other 
jurisdiction? 
(If yes, complete and submit the Disclosure Form with this application) 

 Yes  No

 Yes  No

 Yes  No
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Have you ever received a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment or 
suspended sentence for any felony in any state, including Idaho, or other 
jurisdiction? 
(If yes, complete and submit the Disclosure Form with this application) 

Education 

Do you hold a high school diploma or GED?  

Do you meet the post high school educational requirement? 
2-years post high school education required (Class III)
4-years post high school education required (Class IV)

If no, are you using any substitutions for education or experience? 
Only allowable for a Class II or higher license. Education substituted for on-site operating  
experience may not be also credited toward the education requirement. 

Substituting Experience for Education 
Class III+ License - One (1) year of additional responsible charge time = one (1) year post-high school education. 

I would like to substitute _________ year(s) of responsible charge time experience for 
_________ year(s) of education. 

Substituting Education for Experience 
Class II License - May substitute up to 50% of experience, maximum of 1.5 years 
Class III+ License - May substitute up to 50% of experience, maximum of 2 years 

I would like to substitute _________ year(s) of education for _________ year(s) of experience. 

Experience 
Do you meet the experience requirement? (Answer Yes or No for the license type in which you are applying) 

Operator-in-Training 
• Must meet one of the following requirements:

☐ Attending Apprenticeship Program
☐ Employed by: _____________________________________

Very Small Water System –  
• Document eighty-eight (88) hours of acceptable on-site operating

experience at a water system
• Complete an approved six (6) hour water treatment course or an

approved six-hour chlorination course or a combination of said
approved courses equaling six (6) hours

• Complete an approved six (6) hour water distribution course

Class I Restricted – 
• Document two hundred sixty (260) hours of acceptable relevant on-

site operating experience during twelve (12) consecutive months
with the system

• Complete sixteen (16) hours of continuing education relevant to the
license

 Yes  No

 Yes  No

 N/A       Yes  No

 Yes  No

 Yes  No

 Yes  No

   Yes  No
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Class I Operator –  
• Document one (1) year of acceptable relevant on-site operating 

experience at a DEQ Class I or higher system or successfully 
complete one (1) year of an Approved Apprenticeship Program 

 
Class II Operator –  
• Document three (3) years of acceptable relevant on-site operating 

experience at a DEQ Class I or higher system or successfully 
complete an Approved Apprenticeship Program 

 
Class III Operator –  
• Document four (4) years of acceptable relevant on-site operating 

experience 
• Two (2) years of the relevant on-site operating experience mentioned 

above must include responsible charge of a major segment of a DEQ 
Class II or higher system 

 
Class IV Operator –  
• Document four (4) years of acceptable relevant on-site operating 

experience 
• Two (2) years of the relevant on-site operating experience mentioned 

above must include responsible charge of a major segment of a DEQ 
Class III or higher system 

 
Examination 
 
Have you taken and passed the applicable examination through ABC Testing? 
(Passing score is 70% or higher) 
 
Was the exam taken in the State of Idaho? 

If no, you must include a copy of the test scores with this application. 
 
  

   Yes          No 

   Yes          No 

   Yes          No 

   Yes          No 

   Yes          No 

   Yes          No 
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Application Checklist 

The following documentation must be submitted with this application: 

  Processing fee 

  Copy of your High School Diploma or GED, unless already on file with DOPL 

  Copy of passing exam test score from ABC Testing

  License verification from other state, if endorsement application 

  Employment Addendum (Not applicable for Operator-in-Training applicants) 

  Job description from employer 

  Letter explaining education and experience calculation, optional if substituting experience 

or 

education 

  Disclosure Statement Form, if applicable 
  Denial, Surrender or Revocation Documentation from another state board, if applicable 

The following documentation must be submitted if applying for a Class III or Class IV license: 

  College Transcripts showing:  2-years post high school education (Class III) 
4-years post high school education (Class IV)

Certification 

Upon oath I certify each of the following: (1) the responses and information provided in this application and in the 
attached addendum(s) and documentation are true and correct to the best of my knowledge; (2) I am the applicant 
named in and who has signed this application; (3) I am a United States citizen or a legal permanent resident or I am 
otherwise lawfully present in the United States; (4) I have read and will conform to the Laws and Rules governing 
the profession for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice; (5) I acknowledge and agree the use of 
intentional misrepresentation or fraud in this application or violation of any Laws or Rules governing the profession 
for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice shall constitute cause sufficient for denial, suspension, 
cancellation or revocation of any license or authority applied for or granted to me. 

Signature of Applicant Date 
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Employment Addendum Drinking Water Licensure 
Current Employer 

 
NOTE: Self-verification will not be accepted 
 
Applicant Name: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Title/Position: ________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Current Employer: _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
System Classification:  Distribution     Treatment 

 Very Small Water System   
  

System Type:   Class I  Class II  Class III  Class IV  Other: ___________ 
(Only required for collection or treatment systems) 
 
Business Address: _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Phone: __________________ Supervisor Name: _____________________________________ 
 
 
Number of Hours Worked 
NOTE: The number of hours worked may NOT include vacation, sick, or paid holidays taken. Applicants 
may not receive more than one (1) year of experience for hours worked in excess of one thousand six 
hundred (1,600) hours in a calendar year unless specifically approved by the Board based upon 
documentation submitted by the Applicant (IDAPA 24.05.01.300.03). 
 
 
Dates of Employment: ____ / ____ / _____      to      ____ / ____ / _____  
              mm      dd      yyyy               mm      dd      yyyy 
 
Dates of Responsible Charge: ____ / ____ / _____      to      ____ / ____ / _____  
(Required for Class III or IV License)     mm      dd      yyyy             mm      dd      yyyy 
 
 
Total Number of On-Site Experience Hours: ________ hours 
 
Total Number of Responsible Charge Experience Hours: ________ hours 
 
Are the above dates taken from payroll records:        Yes   No  

 
If No, please explain: ____________________________________________________________ 
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Job Duties Relevant to Class of Licensure 
If applying for Class 3 or higher, list responsible charge duties.  
NOTE: An operator-in-training cannot accept or perform the designated responsible charge duties at any 
system (IDAPA 24.05.01.250.04) 
 

 

 
Certification 

 
Upon oath I certify each of the following: the responses and information provided in this addendum is true and 
correct to the best of my knowledge; falsification of any information could lead to disciplinary including but not 
limited to revocation of licensure; any of the hours submitted are subject to additional verification.  
  
 
Supervisor Name: ___________________________________  
  
 
Title: _____________________________________________   License Number: ___________________ 
 
 
 
Supervisor Signature: ________________________________      Date: ___________________ 

 
 

  



Updated May 17, 2023 Application for Drinking Water Licensure / Page 7 of 9 

Employment Addendum Water Licensure 
Previous Employer 

NOTE: Self-verification will not be accepted 

Applicant Name: ______________________________________________________________________ 

Title/Position: ________________________________________________________________________ 

Previous Employer: ___________________________________________________________________ 

System Classification:  Distribution     Treatment 
 Very Small Water System

System Type:   Class I  Class II  Class III  Class IV  Other: ___________
(Only required for collection or treatment systems) 

Business Address: _____________________________________________________________________ 

Business Phone: __________________ Supervisor Name: _____________________________________ 

Number of Hours Worked 
NOTE: The number of hours worked may NOT include vacation, sick, or paid holidays taken. Applicants 
may not receive more than one (1) year of experience for hours worked in excess of one thousand six 
hundred (1,600) hours in a calendar year unless specifically approved by the Board based upon 
documentation submitted by the Applicant (IDAPA 24.05.01.300.03). 

Dates of Employment: ____ / ____ / _____      to      ____ / ____ / _____ 
            mm      dd      yyyy         mm      dd      yyyy 

Dates of Responsible Charge: ____ / ____ / _____      to      ____ / ____ / _____ 
(Required for Class III or IV License)     mm      dd      yyyy            mm      dd      yyyy 

Total Number of On-Site Experience Hours: ________ hours 

Total Number of Responsible Charge Experience Hours: ________ hours 

Are the above dates taken from payroll records:        Yes   No 

If No, please explain: ____________________________________________________________ 
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Job Duties Relevant to Class of Licensure 
If applying for Class 3 or higher, list responsible charge duties.  
NOTE: An operator-in-training cannot accept or perform the designated responsible charge duties at any 
system (IDAPA 24.05.01.250.04) 
 

 

 
Certification 

 
Upon oath I certify each of the following: the responses and information provided in this addendum is true and 
correct to the best of my knowledge; falsification of any information could lead to disciplinary including but not 
limited to revocation of licensure; any of the hours submitted are subject to additional verification.  
  
 
Supervisor Name: ___________________________________  
  
 
Title: _____________________________________________   License Number: ___________________ 
 
 
 
Supervisor Signature: ________________________________      Date: ___________________ 
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Disclosure Statement for Criminal Conviction or  
Denial, Surrender or Revocation of a License/Registration 

 
  Felony Conviction   Denial, Surrender or Revocation of a License/Registration 

 
Applicant Name: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Please complete one form for each conviction, regardless of when the crime was committed or whether it 
was a withheld judgement or suspended sentence. All fields must be completed. If the question does not 
apply, please write N/A in the box. 

 
Felony Conviction 

Maiden Name/Aliases:  
Conviction Date:  Case/Docket Number:  

Court Name and Location:  
Crime:  

Are you listed on the Idaho 
Sex Offender Registry?            Yes                      No 

Sentence: 
(Punishment imposed by the court) 

 

Incarceration Date:  Release Date:  
Probation/Parole Date:  Release Date:  

Fines (amount): $ Have these fines been paid?        Yes            No 
Restitution (amount): $ Have these fines been paid?        Yes            No 

Brief description of the crime:  

Rehabilitation Efforts:  
(What positive changes have you made in 

your life since this conviction?) 

 

 
Denial, Surrender or Revocation of a License/Registration 

Date of occurrence:  State:  
Explanation:  

Certification:  Yes, I have attached board documentation regarding disciplinary action 
that occurred in another state.  
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