
PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS 

BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY SERVICES LICENSING BOARD 

IDAPA 24.28.01 

RULE 325 (WILL BE 100 SERIES) 

Legal Authority: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-5818 states that “the board shall have authority to prescribe 
safety, disinfection and sanitary requirements for barber and cosmetology establishments, retail cosmetics dealers, retail thermal styling 
equipment dealers and barber and cosmetology schools as such requirements apply to the nature of the work performed.  

State Law Comparison 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho rule 
more stringent? (if applicable) 

Alaska The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation has a 40 page regulation 
for the health, safety, and environmental conservation related to Hair and Body 
Art Schools and Shops: 18 AAC 23. The Board of  Barbers and Hairdressers has 
fully incorporated the environmental regulations into their rules by reference.  
 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf 
https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1033/18-aac-23.pdf  

N/A 

Montana Establishments must provide floorplans and blueprints, have approved restrooms, 
be separate from residences, maintain a generator, and may not allow non 
cosmetology businesses to share unpartitioned space.  
 
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E407  
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E1302  

Idaho has the same regulations, 
but goes into more detail as to the 
floor plans, restrooms, and 
plumbing, and includes 
additional references to 
“contiguous establishments”  

Nevada Specifies regulations for drinking cups, waste disposal, exhaust systems, 
restrooms, walls, floor, plumbing, headrests, foot spas, disinfectants, clippers, wax 
pots, garments, footwear, hot steamed towels, infections, skin removal, residential 
establishments, and other establishments.   

Idaho has significantly fewer 
specific regulations, but goes into 
more detail as to the floor plans 
and includes additional 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf
https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1033/18-aac-23.pdf
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E407
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E1302


 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-
644A.html#NAC644ASec700  

references to “contiguous 
establishments” 

Oregon Oregon places sanitation requirements on each authorization holder working 
within an establishment, not the establishment itself, allowing for citation of each 
authorization holder for any violations within the establishment. No other 
specifications regarding square footage or bathrooms or water are present in their 
rules.  
 
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision
=5600  

Idaho is more restrictive as it 
dictates more specifics for 
establishments and holds the 
establishment owner liable for 
acts of licensees within the 
establishment.  

South 
Dakota 

Specifies square footage of license space, plumbing, restrooms, ventilation, 
private residences, nursing facility salons, and specific equipment requirements.  
 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/10877  

N/A.  

Utah Utah’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate establishment licensure. 
 
https://rules.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/r156-11a.pdf   

Utah’s Board of Cosmetology 
does not regulate establishments 

Washington Regulates plumbing, laundry and a slew of sanitation, disinfectant, storage, and 
maintenance standards for all equipment within a licensed establishment.  
 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-20-110  

Idaho has significantly fewer 
specific regulations, but goes into 
more detail as to the floor plans 
and includes additional 
references to “contiguous 
establishments” 

Wyoming Barbers (016: Chapter 9): Minimum equipment, potable water, restrooms, 
separation from residence/non-barber businesses, mobile shop rules, temporary 
location rules.  
 
Cosmetologists (033: Chapter 7):   Minimum equipment, partitions with other 
businesses, heating, lighting, ventilation, separation from residence.  
 
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001  

Idaho has significantly fewer 
specific regulations, but goes into 
more detail as to the floor plans 
and includes additional 
references to “contiguous 
establishments” 

 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec700
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec700
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=5600
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=5600
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/10877
https://rules.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/r156-11a.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-20-110


RULE 328 (WILL BE REMOVED) 

Legal Authority: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-5818 states that “the board shall have authority to prescribe 
safety, disinfection and sanitary requirements for barber and cosmetology establishments, retail cosmetics dealers, retail thermal styling 
equipment dealers and barber and cosmetology schools as such requirements apply to the nature of the work performed.  

State Law Comparison 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho rule 
more stringent? (if applicable) 

Alaska Alaska’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate thermal styling 
equipment dealers. 
 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf 

Idaho is the only state that has 
this rule in its board rules.  

Montana Montana’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate thermal styling 
equipment dealers. 
 
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=24%2E121  

Idaho is the only state that has 
this rule in its board rules.  

Nevada Nevada’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate thermal styling 
equipment dealers. 
 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-
644A.html#NAC644ASec700  

Idaho is the only state that has 
this rule in its board rules.  

Oregon Oregon’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate thermal styling 
equipment dealers. 
 
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayChapterRules.action?selectedChapter=1
19  

Idaho is the only state that has 
this rule in its board rules.  

South 
Dakota 

South Dakota’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate thermal styling 
equipment dealers.  
 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/13683  

Idaho is the only state that has 
this rule in its board rules.  

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=24%2E121
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec700
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec700
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayChapterRules.action?selectedChapter=119
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayChapterRules.action?selectedChapter=119
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/13683


Utah Utah’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate thermal styling 
equipment dealers. 
 
https://rules.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/r156-11a.pdf   

Idaho is the only state that has 
this rule in its board rules.  

Washington Washington’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate thermal styling 
equipment dealers. 
 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-20  

Idaho is the only state that has 
this rule in its board rules.  

Wyoming Wyoming’s board of cosmetology does not appear to regulate thermal styling 
equipment dealers. 
 
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001   

Idaho is the only state that has 
this rule in its board rules.  

https://rules.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/r156-11a.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-20
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001


RULE 710 

Legal Authority: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-5808(2)(c) states that “(c)  A person licensed or certificated 
under this chapter to practice barbering, barber-styling, cosmetology, esthetics, makeup artistry or nail technology provided that:(i)   The 
services provided outside a licensed establishment are limited to those authorized by board rule;”  

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable) 

Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if applicable) 

  

State Law Comparison 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed 
Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if applicable) 

Alaska Alaska’s board of barbers and cosmetology allows for practice outside a licensed shop 
or school where “adequate health and sanitary conditions can be provided.” 
 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf 

Idaho limits the services 
which can be performed 
outside a licensed shop 
and is therefore more 
stringent.   

Montana Montana’s board of barbers and cosmetology does not appear to address practice 
outside a licensed establishment, although rules exist for temporary establishment 
permits. 
 
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E1302  

Idaho allows practice 
outside of a licensed 
establishment, and is 
therefore less stringent. 

Nevada Nevada allows barbers only, not cosmetologists, to operate outside of their licensed 
establishment only during an emergency with board approval or if a customer’s 
doctor’s note requires services to be performed off-site.  
 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-
644A.html#NAC644ASec700  

Idaho does not limit 
reasons for off site 
services, only the scope.   

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E1302
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec700
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec700


Oregon Oregon’s board of barbers and cosmetology does not appear to address practice outside 
a licensed establishment, although rules exist for temporary establishment permits. 
 
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=5600  

Idaho allows practice 
outside of a licensed 
establishment, and is 
therefore less stringent. 

South Dakota South Dakota allows cosmetologists only, not barbers, to operate outside of their 
licensed establishment only for limited mobility clients, or events with prior board 
approval.   
 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2060310  

Idaho does not limit 
reasons for off site 
services, only the scope.   

Utah Utah’s board of barbers and cosmetology does not appear to address practice outside a 
licensed establishment, although rules exist for temporary establishment permits. 
 
https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-11a/Current%20Rules  

Idaho allows practice 
outside of a licensed 
establishment, and is 
therefore less stringent. 

Washington Washington’s board of barbers and cosmetology does not appear to address practice 
outside a licensed establishment, although rules exist for temporary establishment 
permits. 
 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-20  

Idaho allows practice 
outside of a licensed 
establishment, and is 
therefore less stringent. 

Wyoming Wyoming’s board of barbers and cosmetology does not appear to address practice 
outside a licensed establishment, although rules exist for temporary establishment 
permits. 
 
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ki_RJ4wgqdzcKqyrscAeT1fjfaQpIr6d/view  

Idaho allows practice 
outside of a licensed 
establishment, and is 
therefore less stringent. 

 

 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=5600
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2060310
https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-11a/Current%20Rules
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-20
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ki_RJ4wgqdzcKqyrscAeT1fjfaQpIr6d/view


RULE 800 

Legal Authority: This is a discretionary authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-5807(i) states that the board has the power to “Take 
such action as may be necessary to enforce the provisions of this chapter and to regulate the practice of occupations licensed, certificated 
and registered under this chapter;”  

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable) 

Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if applicable) 

  

State Law Comparison 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed 
Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if applicable) 

Alaska Alaska’s board of barbers and cosmetology does not appear to address unprofessional 
conduct. 
 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf 

Idaho lists 10 activities 
which are unprofessional, 
making Idaho’s rules 
more stringent.   

Montana Montana’s board of barbers and cosmetology lists approximately 30 activities which 
are unprofessional, only three of which overlap with Idaho’s: wax rollers, apprentices, 
and investigations.  
 
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E1302  

Idaho regulates different, 
more specific, but fewer 
types of unprofessional 
conduct and is therefore 
less stringent.  

Nevada Nevada’s board of barbers and cosmetology only appears to regulate professional 
conduct during board meetings, but not in general. The rules do have a section on “gross 
misconduct” which is a general prohibition against malpractice and malice.  
 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-
644A.html#NAC644ASec700  

Idaho lists 10 activities 
which are unprofessional, 
making Idaho’s rules 
more stringent.   

Oregon Oregon’s board of barbers and cosmetology does not appear to address unprofessional 
conduct. 

Idaho lists 10 activities 
which are unprofessional, 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E1302
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec700
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec700


 
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=5600  

making Idaho’s rules 
more stringent.   

South Dakota South Dakota code section 36-14-32 (barbers) and 36-15-58 (cosmetology) each state 
that “unprofessional conduct” is grounds for revocation of licensure, but neither statute 
nor rules define the term.  
 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2060219  
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2060310  

Idaho lists 10 activities 
which are unprofessional, 
making Idaho’s rules 
more stringent.   

Utah Utah’s board of barbers and cosmetology lists 20 activities which are unprofessional, 
only three of which overlap with Idaho’s: skin cutting, apprentices, and practice outside 
scope of training.  
 
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter11A/58-11a-S501.html?v=C58-11a-
S501_2016051020160510  

Idaho regulates different, 
more specific, but fewer 
types of unprofessional 
conduct and is therefore 
less stringent. 

Washington Washington’s board of barbers and cosmetology rules cite to the general unprofessional 
practice section applying to all licenses. There is only overlap as to the general rules 
regarding practicing outside the scope of training and participating with board 
investigations. 
 
https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/cosmetology/docs/cosmetology-law-book.pdf  
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=18.235.130  

Idaho regulates different, 
more specific, but fewer 
types of unprofessional 
conduct and is therefore 
less stringent. 

Wyoming Wyoming’s board of barbers and cosmetology lists approximately 19 activities which 
are unprofessional, only two of which overlap with Idaho’s: practicing outside scope 
of training and investigations.  
 
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lalr3Bf6g5lZx-HVbCkIU2Ikpzgr-zX-/view  

Idaho regulates different, 
more specific, but fewer 
types of unprofessional 
conduct and is therefore 
less stringent. 

 

 

 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=5600
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2060219
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2060310
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter11A/58-11a-S501.html?v=C58-11a-S501_2016051020160510
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter11A/58-11a-S501.html?v=C58-11a-S501_2016051020160510
https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/cosmetology/docs/cosmetology-law-book.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=18.235.130
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lalr3Bf6g5lZx-HVbCkIU2Ikpzgr-zX-/view


RULE 851 

Legal Authority: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-5818 states that “the board shall have authority to prescribe 
safety, disinfection and sanitary requirements for barber and cosmetology establishments, retail cosmetics dealers, retail thermal styling 
equipment dealers and barber and cosmetology schools as such requirements apply to the nature of the work performed. 

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable) 

Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if applicable) 

  

State Law Comparison 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed 
Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if applicable) 

Alaska Alaska regulates safety and disinfection through environmental statute, not licensing 
rule. The 38 page document includes all 11 subjects addressed in rule 851.  
 
https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1033/18-aac-23.pdf  

Idaho regulates safety for 
establishments and 
schools as a licensing 
rule, not an environmental 
statute, making it less 
restrictive.    

Montana Montana’s board of barbers and cosmetology only regulates establishments and 
schools’ premises, fixtures, and general sanitation, and does not go into detail regarding 
each specific sub-category.   
 
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E1501  

Idaho regulates different, 
more specific, and more 
types of safety and 
disinfection and is 
therefore more stringent.  

Nevada Nevada’s board of cosmetology does not specifically address safety and disinfection of 
establishments and schools as separate topic, but rules 644A.700 through 644A.795 
address different aspects of what establishments and schools are required to have, and 
each of those sub topics (restrooms, walls, wax pots, cosmetics, etc) each have 
sanitization standards included.  
 

Idaho carves out 11 
examples of safety and 
disinfection compared to 
Nevada’s 20 subsections 
with individual 

https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1033/18-aac-23.pdf
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E1501


https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-
644A.html#NAC644ASec740  

disinfection rules, making 
Idaho less stringent.    

Oregon Oregon’s board of barbers and cosmetology regulates all the same safety and 
disinfection rules as Idaho, but includes more specific and general rules (17 topics each 
with several sub topics as compared to Idaho’s 1 topic with 11 sub topics) 
 
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=3666  

Idaho lists 11 activities 
which are unprofessional 
compared to Oregon’s 17, 
making Idaho’s rules less 
stringent.   

South Dakota South Dakota barber rules include rules regarding infection control in 5 separate 
sections. The Cosmetology rules do not address sanitization standards.  
 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/13396  
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/13620  

Idaho’s rules are in line 
with South Dakota’s for 
barbers, but also apply to 
cosmetologists, making 
Idaho’s rules more 
stringent.  

Utah Utah’s board of barbers and cosmetology does not regulate safety and disinfection 
standards. Those rules are codified in Heath and Disease Control statute.  
 
https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-11a/Current%20Rules  
https://epi.health.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/R392-
702_CosmetologyFacilitySanitation.pdf  

Idaho’s board addresses 
safety and disinfection, 
making it more stringent 
as a licensing body.  

Washington Wyoming’s board of barbers and cosmetology lists 19 sections of safety and 
disinfection, all of which are addressed in Idaho’s rules. 
 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=308-20-110  

Idaho regulates fewer 
types categories for safety 
and disinfection and is 
therefore less stringent. 

Wyoming Wyoming’s board of barbers and cosmetology lists 17 sections of safety and 
disinfection, all of which are addressed in Idaho’s rules. 
 
https://drive.google.com/file/d/136fcCw9pCIesIWrRf8fGZcEN55HDsWUo/view  

Idaho regulates fewer 
types categories for safety 
and disinfection and is 
therefore less stringent. 

 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec740
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-644A.html#NAC644ASec740
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=3666
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/13396
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/13620
https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-11a/Current%20Rules
https://epi.health.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/R392-702_CosmetologyFacilitySanitation.pdf
https://epi.health.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/R392-702_CosmetologyFacilitySanitation.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=308-20-110
https://drive.google.com/file/d/136fcCw9pCIesIWrRf8fGZcEN55HDsWUo/view

