#### **PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS**

### LICENSING BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS

IDAPA 24.15.01

#### **RULE 100.01 (LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR)**

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-3404 states that the board shall have the power to regulate the practice of professional counselors, clinical professional counselors, associate marriage and family therapists and marriage and family therapists in the state of Idaho."

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	The Alaska Board of Professional Counselors does not distinguish between LPCs and LCPCs. Given that Alaska rule 08.29.110(6) requires 3000 hours of supervised experience, the requirements are closer to Idaho's LCPC, and therefore Alaska has no LPC licensing.	Idaho allows for LPC licensure, making Idaho less restrictive.
	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/CounselorStatutes.pdf	
Montana	The Montana Board of Behavioral Health does not distinguish between LPCs and LCPCs. Montana specifically references LCPC licensure, but has no LPC licensure.	Idaho allows for LPC licensure, making Idaho less restrictive.
	https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/ docs/arm/CH-219-BBH-as-of-06-30-2021.pdf	
Nevada	The Nevada Board of Marriage And Family Therapists And Clinical Professional Counselors does not distinguish between LPCs and LCPCs. Montana specifically references LCPC licensure, but has no LPC licensure. (internships are required for LCPC licensure and may be similar to LPC in that time)	Idaho allows for LPC licensure, making Idaho less restrictive.
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-641A.html#NAC641ASec075	

Oregon	Oregon requires 60 semester credit hours or 90 quarter credit hours, a course in 8	Idaho's requirements are the
	defined areas, and 700 clock hours with 280 direct client contact hours.	same, but do not require the 700
		clock hours, making Idaho less
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=201895	restrictive.
South	The South Dakota Board of Examiners for Counselors and Marriage and Family	Idaho allows for LPC licensure,
Dakota	Therapists does not distinguish between LPCs and LCPCs. Given that South	making Idaho less restrictive.
	Dakota's rule 20:68:01:10 requires 2000 hours of board approved supervision	
	experience, the requirements are closer to Idaho's LCPC, and therefore South	
	Dakota has no LPC licensing.	
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/11067	
Utah	Utah does not use the terms "Professional Counselor" nor "Clinical Professional	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	Counselor". However, "clinical mental health counselors" require 3,000 hours of	making Idaho less restrictive.
	supervised experience, the requirements are closer to Idaho's LCPC, and therefore	
	Utah has no LPC licensing. (Worth noting, Utah code 58-60-404 allows for "an	
	associate clinical mental health counselor", but 58-60-405 only delineated	
	licensure for the non associate license. The associate license is not mentioned	
	elsewhere.	
	https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-60c/Current%20Rules?	
	https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter60/58-60-S404.html?v=C58-60-	
	S404 1800010118000101	
Washington	Washington has four types of licensure: "Licensed advanced social worker",	Idaho's LPC license only
	"Licensed independent clinical social worker", "licensed mental health counselor"	requires 1,000 hours of
	and "Licensed marriage and family therapist." All of which require minimum of	supervised experience, making it
	3,000 hours of supervised experience. Nothing appears to align with Idaho's LPC	less restrictive than any
	rules	Washington option.
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.225.090	
Wyoming	Wyoming requires 90 quarter hours or 60 semester hours of graduate level course	Idaho's requirements include 280
	work across 9 defined areas, 600 clock hours of a supervised internship, with 240	hours, as opposed to Wyoming's
	clock hours of direct service.	240, but do not require the 700
		clock hours.

1 // 1 // 1 OA 0700D 0001	
https://rules.wvo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001	
integration of the second of t	

#### **RULE 100.02 (LICENSED CLINICAL PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR)**

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-3404 states that the board shall have the power"to regulate the practice of professional counselors, clinical professional counselors, associate marriage and family therapists and marriage and family therapists in the state of Idaho."

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	The Alaska Board of Professional Counselors requires 3000 hours of supervised	
	experience with 1000 hours of direct counseling with clients. (100 hours face to	supervised experience, but all
	face: at least 50 hours 1:1, 50 hours group allowed.)	2000 hours must be direct client
	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/CounselorStatutes.pdf	contact, making Idaho's rule simultaneously more and less
		stringent.
Montana	The Montana Board of Behavioral Health requires 3000 hours of supervised	Idaho requires 2000 hours of
	experience with 1000 hours of direct counseling with clients. The remaining	supervised experience, but all
	supervisor ratios match with Idaho's requirements.	2000 hours must be direct client
		contact, making Idaho's rule
	https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/_docs/arm/CH-219-BBH-as-of-06-30-2021.pdf	simultaneously more and less
		stringent
Nevada	Nevada's Board of Marriage And Family Therapists And Clinical Professional	Idaho requires 2000 hours of
	Counselors requires an internship prior to licensing an LCPC. The internship	supervised experience, but all
	includes requirements for 1500 hours of direct client contact, 300 hours of	2000 hours must be direct client
	counseling under direct supervision, and 1200 hours of work related to the	contact, making Idaho's rule
	practice, for a total of 3,000 hours.	simultaneously more and less
		stringent

	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-641A.html#NAC641ASec146	
Oregon	Oregon requires 2400 supervised direct client contact hours.	Idaho requires 2000 supervised direct client contact hours,
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=282032	making Idaho less restrictive.
South	South Dakota requires 2,000 board approved hours of supervision.	Idaho has the same hourly
Dakota		requirement, but specifies what
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2061150	those hours look like. Without
		knowing what South Dakota's
		board might approve, it is not
		possible to know if Idaho is more restrictive.
Utah	Utah requires 3,000 hours of training, 1,000 occurring after completion of	Idaho requires 2000 hours of
	education, including 100 hours of direct supervision. This requirement is in code,	supervised experience, but all
	not in rule.	2000 hours must be direct client
		contact, making Idaho's rule
	https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-60c/Current%20Rules?	simultaneously more and less
	https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter60/58-60-S405.html?v=C58-60-	stringent.
Washington	S405_2022050420220504  Washington requires 3,200 hours of supervised training, including 90 direct	Idaho requires 2000 hours of
Washington	supervision, 800 of direct client contact	supervised experience, but all
	supervision, 800 of direct chefit contact	2000 hours must be direct client
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-20	contact, making Idaho's rule
	integration with the definition of the state	simultaneously more and less
		stringent
Wyoming	Wyoming requires 3,000 hours of training, all of which must occur after	Idaho only requires 2000 hours,
	completion of education, including 1200 hours of direct client contact and 100	have no limitation as to before or
	hours of direct supervision.	after education, but require all
		2000 to be supervised.
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001	

### RULE 100.03 (ASSOCIATE MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-3404 states that the board shall have the power to regulate the practice of professional counselors, clinical professional counselors, associate marriage and family therapists and marriage and family therapists in the state of Idaho."

## Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed
		Idaho rule more
		stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	Alaska's board of Marital and Family Therapy allows practice as a "marital therapy	Idaho defines what hours
	associate" as long as educational requirements are met, including "one year of surprised	are required within the
	clinical practice."	one year of supervised
		clinical practice,
	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BandHStatutes.pdf	including 300 hours of
		direct client contact and
		100 hours with families,
		making Idaho more
		restrictive.
Montana	Montana's board of Behavioral Health does not allow for Associate Marriage and	Idaho allows for AMFT
	Family Therapists.	licensure, making Idaho
		less restrictive.
	https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/ docs/arm/CH-219-BBH-as-of-06-30-2021.pdf	
Nevada	Nevada's Board of Marriage And Family Therapists And Clinical Professional	Idaho allows for AMFT
	Counselors does not allow for Associate Marriage and Family Therapists.	licensure, making Idaho
		less restrictive.
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-641A.html#NAC641ASec075	

Oregon	Oregon's Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapist does not allow for	Idaho allows for AMFT
	Associate Marriage and Family Therapists.	licensure, making Idaho
		less restrictive.
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayChapterRules.action?selectedChapter=12	
South Dakota	The South Dakota Board of Examiners for Counselors and Marriage and Family	Idaho allows for AMFT
	Therapists does not allow for Associate Marriage and Family Therapists.	licensure, making Idaho
		less restrictive.
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/14937	
Utah	Utah does not allow for Associate Marriage and Family Therapists.	Idaho allows for AMFT
		licensure, making Idaho
	https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-60b/Current%20Rules?	less restrictive.
Washington	Washington does not allow for Associate Marriage and Family Therapists.	Idaho allows for AMFT
		licensure, making Idaho
		less restrictive
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.225.090	
Wyoming	Wyoming does not allow for Associate Marriage and Family Therapists.	Idaho allows for AMFT
		licensure, making Idaho
	https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ki_RJ4wgqdzcKqyrscAeT1fjfaQpIr6d/view	less restrictive.

### RULE 100.04 (ASSOCIATE MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-3404 states that the board shall have the power "to regulate the practice of professional counselors, clinical professional counselors, associate marriage and family therapists and marriage and family therapists in the state of Idaho."

## Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed
		Idaho rule more
		stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	Alaska requires 3,000 hours of experience over a minimum of two calendar years,	Idaho requires 2,000
	demonstrating 1,000 hours of direct client contact of 100 of face-to-face supervision	
	with a qualified supervisor.	direct client contact, 200
		must be supervised (100
		by an LMFT with the
	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/CounselorStatutes.pdf	remaining 100 by a
		qualified mental health
		practitioner. 100 must be
		individual). Idaho
		requires fewer total hours
		but more supervised
		hours.
Montana	Montana requires 3,000 hours of direct supervision, 1,000 hours of face-to-face, no	Idaho is less restrictive.
	more than 500 during education.	
	https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0370/part_0020/section_0010/0370-	
	<u>0370-0020-0010.html</u>	

	100 individual hours using a 5:1 ratio of client contact hours to supervision hours. Group supervision of no more than 6:1. 1000 hours with couples and families with a 5:1 ratio of client contact to supervision, 200 hours of face-to-face supervision, 100 hours with raw clinical data.  https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E219%2E704	
Nevada	Nevada requires 3,000 hours of supervised experience. 1,500 must be direct client contact, 1,200 must be related to marriage and family therapy including less than 500 hours of educational client contact, less than 300 hours of group counseling, less than 200 hours of teaching, less than 150 hours of individual counseling from a non-supervisor, and less than 50 hours of additional training approved by the supervisor.  https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-641A.html#NAC641ASec075	Idaho requires 2,000 hours: 1,000 must be direct client contact, 200 must be supervised (100 by an LMFT with the remaining 100 by a qualified mental health practitioner. 100 must be individual). Idaho requires fewer total hours but more supervised hours.
Oregon	Oregon requires three years of supervised clinical experience with no less than 1,900 (was 2,400) supervised direct client contact hours, 750 working with couples and families. <a href="https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Documents/PermOAR Filed 2-24-23.pdf">https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Documents/PermOAR Filed 2-24-23.pdf</a>	Idaho is less restrictive.
South Dakota	The South Dakota requires 2,000 hours of supervised experience.1,000 must be client contact hours, with no more than 400 being electronic. 100 hours must be with a board approved supervisor. 0 may be group supervision. 900 must related to counseling related activities.  https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:68	South Dakota and Idaho are substantially similar.
Utah	Washington requires 4,000 hours of experience over a minimum of two calendar years, demonstrating 1,000 hours of direct client contact of which 500 is with two or more clients and 100 hours with direct supervision	Idaho is less restrictive.

Washington	https://rules.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/r156-60b.pdf  Washington requires 3,000 hours of experience over a minimum of two calendar years, demonstrating 1,000 hours of direct client contact of which 500 is in diagnosis, 200 hours with a qualified supervisor (100 with an LMFT, and the other 100 with any other mental health practitioner. 100 must be one-on-one, the rest can be in groups.)  https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-809-130	Idaho requires 2,000 hours: 1,000 must be direct client contact, 200 must be supervised (100 by an LMFT with the remaining 100 by a qualified mental health practitioner. 100 must be individual). Idaho is less
Wyoming	Wyoming requires 3,000 hours of supervised clinical work, 1,200 must be direct client	restrictive.  Idaho is less restrictive.
	https://wyoleg.gov/arules/2012/rules/ARR19-020.pdf	

# **RULE 100.07 (CONTINUING EDUCATION)**

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-3404(2) states that the board shall have the power "...to adopt rules requiring annual continuing education as a condition for the renewal of licenses issued under this chapter."

# Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed
		Idaho rule more
		stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	Alaska requires 40 hours of continuing education biannually.	Idaho requires 12 total
		hours biannually for all
	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/CounselorStatutes.pdf	license level. Idaho is less
		restrictive, but more
		prescriptive.
Montana	Montana requires 20 hours of continuing education annually, 2 hours must be for	Idaho requires 12 total
	suicide prevention.	hours biannually for all
		license levels: 6 hours of
	https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E219%2E435	ethics and 6 hours in
		suicide assessment. Idaho
		is less restrictive but more
		prescriptive.
Nevada	Nevada requires 20 hours of continuing education annually, including 3 hours on ethics	Idaho is less restrictive.
	and 2 hours of suicide prevention.	
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-641A.html#NAC641ASec075	
Oregon	Oregon requires 40 hours of continuing education biannually, including 6 hours in	Idaho is less restrictive.
	ethics and 8 hours in cultural competency.	

	https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Documents/BLPCT Statutes-OARs.pdf	
South Dakota	South Dakota requires 40 hours of continuing education biannually.	Idaho requires 12 total
		hours biannually for all
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:68	license levels: 6 hours of
		ethics and 6 hours in
		suicide assessment. Idaho
		is less restrictive but more
		prescriptive.
Utah	Utah requires 40 hours biannually, with 6 hours in ethics, 2 hours in suicide prevention,	Idaho is less restrictive.
	15 hours directly related to Marriage and family therapy.	
	https://rules.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/r156-60.pdf	
Washington	Washington requires 18 hours of continuing education for associates and 36 hours for	Idaho requires 12 total
	licensed counselors biannually. These are broken down into suicide prevention, ethics,	hours biannually for all
	law, and various other requirements.	license levels: 6 hours of
		ethics and 6 hours in
		suicide assessment. Idaho
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-809-630	is less restrictive.
Wyoming	Wyoming requires 45 hours of biannually, with 3 hours of ethics and 3 hours of suicide	Idaho is less restrictive.
	prevention.	
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001#	