IDAPA 24.39.10

RULE 100.01

<u>Proposed Rule</u>: Journeyman. An applicant must pass an examination designated by the Board and either (a) submit evidence of a minimum of eight thousand (8,000) hours of work experience as an apprentice making electrical installations in accordance with the requirements of the jurisdiction in which the applicant obtained the experience and satisfactory completion of a four-year sequence of instruction approved by the Idaho Division of Career-Technical Education, or (b) submit proof of sixteen thousand (16,000) hours of electrical experience in accordance with the requirements of the jurisdiction in which the applicant obtained the experience.

- **a.** Examination. An applicant may sit for the exam after showing proof of completion of either the approved 4-year sequence of instruction or 16,000 hours of electrical experience.
- **b.** Provisional Journeyman License. A provisional journeyman license can be issued to an applicant who has completed the 16,000 hours of electrical experience but has not yet passed the examination.
- **c.** Work experience in appliance repair, motor winding, or communications will not count towards the requirements to take the journeyman examination or obtain a provisional journeyman or journeyman license.
- **d.** No more than two thousand (2,000) hours of work experience gained while engaged in the practice of a limited electrical installer or trainee may be counted toward the satisfaction of the experience requirements for journeyman licensure.

<u>Current Rule</u>: Same key elements as proposed Rule.

<u>Legal Authority</u>: I.C. § 54-1006(5) – mandatory for the Board to promulgate rules for the examination and licensure of journeyman. I.C. § 54-1007(2) – discretionary as to combination educational program and experience requirements for someone to sit for journeyman examination. The experience only requirement is set forth in I.C. § 54-1007(4).

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1006/https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1007/

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

The rule further details the statutory requirement for licensure of electrical journeymen. The statute and rule promote safe electrical installations by setting forth education and training requirements for electrical journeyman. This cannot be solved through non-regulatory means.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

The statute and rule requirements ensure individuals qualified through education, training, and experience are performing electrical installations, which promotes the health and safety of the public.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

| Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|--------------------------------------|--|
| N/A | |

| State | Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho |
|--------------|---|-------------------------------|
| | | rule more stringent? (if |
| 47.7 | | applicable) |
| Alaska | Pass examination and complete 8,000 hours of work experience. Completion of | |
| | U.S. DOL education program (576 hours) will count toward 1,000 hours of work | |
| | experience. | |
| | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#8.90.160 | |
| Montana | Pass examination, complete apprenticeship or training program, and 8,000 hours or | N/A |
| | work experience. | |
| | https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title 0370/chapter 0680/part 0030/section 0050/0370 | |
| | -0680-0030-0050.html | |
| Nevada | State does not license; cities and counties may require licensure -requirements vary. | N/A |
| Oregon | Pass exam and either complete: an approved apprenticeship program (which | N/A |
| | involves education and work experience); 576 hours of education and 8,000 hours | |
| | of work experience outside Oregon; or 16,000 hours of work experience outside of | |
| | Oregon. Specific types of work experience is required. | |
| | https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=227429 | |
| | https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors 479.630 | |
| | https://www.oregon.gov/bcd/licensing/Pages/individual-licenses.aspx | |
| South Dakota | Pass examination and complete 8,000 hours of work experience as an apprentice | Idaho requires 576 hours of |
| | working under an electrical contractor | education with 8,000 hours of |

| | https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/9760 20:44:16:08 | work experience. |
|------------|--|-------------------------------|
| Utah | Pass exam and either (1) 576 educational hours and 8,000 experience hours or (2) | N/A |
| | 16,000 experience hours | |
| | https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/search/R156-55b-101/Current%20Rules | |
| | R156-55b-302a | |
| Washington | Currently, pass exam and complete 8,000 hours and 96 classroom hours | Idaho requires 576 hours of |
| | Starting 7/1/23, will need to complete approved apprenticeship | education with 8,000 hours of |
| | https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=19.28.191 | work experience. |
| | https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-licensing-exams- | |
| | education/electrician | |
| Wyoming | Pass exam, complete 8,000 experience hours and 576 classroom hours | N/A |
| | https://wsfm.wyo.gov/electrical-safety/licensing | |
| | https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mEQ03dUOpfhlPJuXsGQ0FJHBwe3AenrS/view | |

Electrical installations are more proficient in Idaho based upon the electrical inspection pass-fail rate; thus creating more expedient construction timelines for consumers while complying to the adopted safety code installation standards.

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

| Category | Potential Impact | |
|--|---|--|
| Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or | Licensure fees collected are deposited in the occupational | |
| federal fund | licenses fund. | |
| Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small | The rule does not negatively impact Idaho businesses. | |
| businesses | | |
| Impact to any local government in Idaho | The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho. | |

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--------------------------------------|------------------|
| Net change in word count | (183) |
| Net change in restrictive word count | (1) |

IDAPA 24.39.10

RULE 100.03, 200.05

<u>Proposed Rule</u>: 100.03 Limited Electrical Installer. An applicant must submit evidence of a minimum of four thousand (4,000) hours of work experience in the same limited category in accordance with the requirements of the jurisdiction in which the applicant obtained the experience.

The types of limited electrical installers are identified and defined in Rule 200.05. The types are:

200.05.a. Elevator, Dumbwaiter, Escalator, or Moving-Walk Electrical.

200.05.b. Sign Electrical.

200.05.c. Manufacturing or Assembling Equipment.

200.05.d. Limited Energy Electrical.

200.05.e. Irrigation Sprinkler Electrical.

200.05.f. Well Driller and Water Pump Installer.

200.05.g. Refrigeration, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Electrical Installer.

200.05.h. Outside Wireman.

200.05.i. Solar Photovoltaic.

Current Rules: Same key elements as proposed Rules.

<u>Legal Authority</u>: I.C. § 54-1006(5) – mandatory for the Board to promulgate rules for the examination and licensure of limited electrical installers.

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1006/

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

The rule further details the statutory requirement for licensure of limited electrical installers. The statute and rule promote safe limited electrical installations by setting forth training for limited electrical installers. This cannot be solved through non-regulatory means.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

The statute and rule requirements ensure individuals qualified through training and experience are performing limited electrical installations, which promotes the health and safety of the public.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

| Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|--------------------------------------|--|
| N/A | |

| State | Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho |
|---------|---|-----------------------------|
| | | rule more stringent? (if |
| | | applicable) |
| Alaska | Power lineman journeyman must pass examination and complete 8,000 hours of | N/A |
| | work experience. | |
| | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#8.90.162 | |
| Montana | No similar license types | N/A |
| Nevada | No similar license types | N/A |
| Oregon | Limited Maintenance Electrician: pass exam & either complete apprenticeship | Idaho does not appear to be |
| _ | program, 288 hours education and 4,000 hours work experience outside OR, or 8,000 | more stringent for similar |
| | hours work experience outside OR | license types with similar |
| | Limited Energy Technician, Class A: pass exam & either complete apprenticeship, 432 | scopes of work. |
| | hours education and 6,000 hours work experience, or 12,000 hours work experience outside Oregon | |
| | Limited Energy Technician, Class B: pass exam & either complete apprenticeship, 32 | |
| | hours education and 4,000 hours work experience outside Oregon, or 8,000 hours work | |
| | experience outside Oregon | |
| | Limited Renewable Energy Technician: pass exam and complete apprenticeship | |
| | Limited Journeyman Sign Electrician: pass exam & either complete apprenticeship, | |
| | classroom training & 4,000 hours work experience outside Oregon, or 8,000 hours | |
| | work experience outside Oregon | |
| | https://www.oregon.gov/bcd/licensing/Pages/individual-licenses.aspx | |

| South Dakota | maintenance electrician – pay fee and issued to public or private entity which | |
|--------------|--|----------------------------------|
| | employs one or more persons to perform maintenance electrical work on land | similar limited license. |
| | and facilities owned or leased by the entity | |
| | https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/9781 | |
| Utah | Did not find similar license types | N/A |
| Washington | Following specialties require 4,000 hours and 48 classroom hours: residential; | Similar requirements for similar |
| | pump & irrigation; signs; limited energy system; HVAC/refrigeration system; | license types. |
| | and nonresidential maintenance | |
| | Following specialties require 2,000 hours and 24 classroom hours: domestic | |
| | well; restricted HVAC/refrigeration; appliance & equipment repair, etc. | |
| | https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-licensing-exams- | |
| | education/electrician#specialty-electricians | |
| Wyoming | Low voltage technician and Limited Technician— 4,000 hours and pass exam | N/A |
| | https://wsfm.wyo.gov/electrical-safety/licensing | |

N/A

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

| Category | Potential Impact | |
|--|---|--|
| Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or | Licensure fees collected are deposited in the occupational | |
| federal fund | licenses fund. | |
| Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small | The rule does not negatively impact Idaho businesses. | |
| businesses | | |
| Impact to any local government in Idaho | The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho. | |

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--------------------------------------|------------------|
| Net change in word count | (700) |
| Net change in restrictive word count | (25) |

IDAPA 24.39.10

RULE 100.04

<u>Proposed Rule</u>: Electrical Contractor and Limited Electrical Contractor. Applicant or its entity designee must pass an examination designated by the Board and submit an application signed by the applicant or an official representative of the entity making the application and countersigned by the supervising electrician.

- **a.** An entity applicant (such as, corporation, partnership, company, firm, or association) must designate in writing an individual to represent it for examination purposes. Any such designee shall be a supervisory employee and may not represent any other applicant for a contractor's license.
- **b.** In the event the working relationship between a contractor and its designee terminates, the contractor will notify the Division in writing within ten (10) days of the date of termination. The contractor may not purchase permits or make electrical installations unless another duly qualified designee passes the contractor's examination on behalf of the contractor.

<u>Current Rule</u>: The prior rule only allowed master electricians to become electrical contractors; journeyman could not become electrical contractors. Otherwise, the current rule was similar to the proposed Rule.

<u>Legal Authority</u>: I.C. § 54-1006(5) – mandatory for the Board to promulgate rules for the examination and licensure of electrical contractors limited electrical contractors.

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1006/

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

The rule further details the statutory requirement for licensure of electrical contractors and limited electrical contractors. This cannot be solved through non-regulatory means.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

The statute and rule promote safe installations by ensuring qualified journeyman or master electricians are supervising the electrical work, which promotes the health and safety of the public.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

| Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|--------------------------------------|--|
| N/A | |

| State | Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|-----------------|---|--|
| Alaska | Must employ an electrical administrator. http://ak.elaws.us/as/08.18.026 | N/A |
| Montana | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#12.32.015 Limited electrical contractor must designate journeyman. Unlimited electrical contractor must designate master. https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E141%2E505 | N/A |
| Nevada | Pass Business and Law and trade examinations and have employee or member who is a licensed journeyman for at least 4 years. https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-624.html#NRS624Sec260 | N/A |
| Oregon | Electrical contractor required designation of supervising electrician (similar to a master in Idaho). Limited electrical contractors required to designate limited journeymen. https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=227400 https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=4150 | N/A |
| South Dakota | Contractor: Pass exam and work as journeyman for 2 years, with 1 year commercial wiring. Class B: Pass exam and work as journeyman for 2 years, with 1 year in farmstead or residential wiring https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/9760 20:44:16:08 | N/A |
| Utah | Complete 25-30 hour pre-licensure course, two years of trade experience, and pass exam. General Electrical Contractor; Residential Electrical Contractor; Solar Photovoltaic Contractor; Sign Installation Contractor; Elevator Contractor https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/search/R156- | N/A |

| | 55a.%20%20Utah%20Construction%20Trades%20Licensing%20Act%20Rule/Current%20Rules https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter55/58-55-S302.html?v=C58-55- S302_2022050420220504 | |
|------------|---|-----|
| Washington | Must have an electrical administrator or master electrician. | N/A |
| | https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.28.061 | |
| Wyoming | Electrical contractor must employ master electrician. | N/A |
| | https://wsfm.wyo.gov/electrical-safety/licensing | |
| | https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mEQ03dUOpfhlPJuXsGQ0FJHBwe3AenrS/view | |

N/A

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--|---|
| Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or | Licensure fees collected are deposited in the occupational |
| federal fund | licenses fund. |
| Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small | The rule does not negatively impact Idaho businesses. |
| businesses | |
| Impact to any local government in Idaho | The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho. |

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--------------------------------------|------------------|
| Net change in word count | (268) |
| Net change in restrictive word count | (7) |

IDAPA 24.39.10

RULE 100.05

Proposed Rule: Continuing Education.

- **a.** To renew, journeymen and master electricians must provide proof of completion, during the prior three-year license cycle, of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education instruction consisting of eight (8) hours of code update covering changes included in the latest edition of the National Electrical Code and sixteen (16) hours of any combination of code-update training, code-related training, or industry-related training.
- **b.** To renew, an apprentice who has completed the education (if applicable) and experience requirements but has not passed the journeyman examination within two (2) years after completion of the education (if applicable) and experience requirements must provide proof of completion of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education instruction consisting of eight (8) hours of NFPA 70E training and sixteen (16) hours of code update training, code-related training, or industry-related training.

<u>Current Rule</u>: The current rule has the same requirements for journeymen and master electricians. It had more stringent requirements for apprentices as all apprentices are required to complete the continuing education beginning the initial year of licensure.

<u>Legal Authority</u>: Idaho Code § 54-1013(1) – discretionary https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1013/

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

The rule is geared toward ensuring journeymen, master electricians, and lifetime apprentices maintain knowledge of the current codes and standards of practice. It can be solved through non-regulatory means, including practice in the occupation, independently reviewing any code amendments adopted by the Board, or voluntarily taking the continuing education courses offered by third parties.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

Continuing education courses provide guidance to licensees who perform electrical installations throughout the State, focusing on

safe installation practices and providing code installation standards for new innovative designs, equipment, and materials. This continuing education decreases the likelihood of dangerous or potentially life-threatening electrical installations and of construction delays. The courses increase the likelihood of safe and compliant installations, which decrease or potentially eliminate the number of correction notices and re-inspections.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

| Summary of Law (include direct link) | | How is the proposed Idaho rule more | |
|--------------------------------------|-----|-------------------------------------|--|
| | | stringent? (if applicable) | |
| N | T/A | | |

| State | Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) | |
|--------------|--|--|--|
| Alaska | Every 2 years, 16 hours with 8 re: significant changes or updates to | Idaho requires continuing education for | |
| | National Electrical Code and no more than 8 hours may be industry | lifetime apprentices. | |
| | related. | | |
| | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#8.90.192 | | |
| Montana | Journeyman and master: 16 hours every 2 years, 8 hours must be | Idaho requires continuing education for | |
| | on code update | lifetime apprentices. | |
| | https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E141%2E2102 | | |
| Nevada | N/A – no state license | N/A | |
| Oregon | 24 hours every 2 years including code update hours and 4 hours | Idaho requires continuing education for | |
| | re Oregon Rules and Law | lifetime apprentices. | |
| | https://www.oregon.gov/bcd/ce/Pages/electrical.aspx | | |
| South Dakota | 16 hours every 2 years, 8 hours must be code related | N/A | |
| | https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/14649 | | |
| Utah | Every 2 years, 16 hours with 12 on code | N/A | |
| | https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/search/R156-55b- | | |
| | <u>101/Current%20Rules</u> R156-55b-304 | | |
| Washington | 24 hours every 3 years. 8 hours must be on the current code and 4 | N/A | |
| | hours must be on the state code | | |

| | https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-licensing-exams-education/basic-classroom-instruction-and-continuing-education | |
|---------|---|---|
| Wyoming | 16 hours every 3 years with at least 8 of those hours being on the | Idaho requires 8 more hours during the 3- |
| | most updated code | year period. |
| | https://wsfm.wyo.gov/electrical-safety/licensing | |

Electrical installations are more proficient in Idaho based upon the electrical inspection pass-fail rate; thus creating more expedient construction timelines for consumers while complying to the adopted safety code installation standards.

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--|---|
| Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or | The rule does not create a fiscal impact. |
| federal fund | |
| Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small | The rule does not negatively impact Idaho businesses. |
| businesses | |
| Impact to any local government in Idaho | The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho. |

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--------------------------------------|------------------|
| Net change in word count | +57 |
| Net change in restrictive word count | +1 |

IDAPA 24.39.10

RULE 200.06

<u>Proposed Rule</u>: Certification And Approval of Electrical Products and Materials. All materials, devices, fittings, equipment, apparatus, luminaires, and appliances installed or to be used in installations that are supplied with electric energy must be approved as provided in one (1) of the following methods:

- **a.** Testing Laboratory. Be tested, examined, and certified (Listed) by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL).
- **b.** Field Evaluation. Non-listed electrical equipment may be approved for use through a field evaluation process performed in accordance with recognized practices and procedures such as those contained in the 2012 edition of NFPA 791 Recommended Practice and Procedures for Unlabeled Electrical Equipment Evaluation published by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). Such evaluations shall be conducted by:
- i. A field evaluation body approved by the authority having jurisdiction. The field evaluation body shall meet minimum recognized standards for competency, such as NFPA 790 Standard for Competency of Third-Party Field Evaluation Bodies, 2012 edition, published by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA); or
- ii. In the case of industrial machinery only, as defined by NFPA 79 Electrical Standard for Industrial Machinery, 2012 edition, a field evaluation may be performed by a professional engineer currently licensed to practice electrical engineering by the state of Idaho and who is not involved in the design of the equipment being evaluated or the facility in which the equipment is to be installed.
- c. Availability of NFPA Standards. The most recent edition of NFPA 790 Standard for Competency of Third-Party Field Evaluation Bodies and NFPA 791 Recommended Practice and Procedures for Unlabeled Electrical Equipment Evaluation published by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) are available at the Division.

<u>Current Rule</u>: Same key elements as current Rule.

<u>Legal Authority</u>: Idaho Code § 54-1016(5) – discretionary

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1016/

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

The rule is designed to ensure products and machines do not present an undue hazard to life and property. It also provides a pathway for non-listed appliances, fixtures, products, and luminaires to acquire such listings without significant costs. This cannot be solved through nonregulatory means.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

The certification process involves an evaluation of the safety of the products and machines at issue.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

| Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|--------------------------------------|--|
| | |

| State | Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more |
|--------------|--|-------------------------------------|
| | | stringent? (if applicable) |
| Alaska | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#45.45.910 | |
| | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#8.70.085 | |
| Montana | Did not locate similar law | N/A |
| Nevada | Did not locate similar law | N/A |
| Oregon | Certification is required for the installation of an electrical | N/A |
| | product in connection with a business. The product will be | |
| | certified if it meets the safety standards set by the board; a | |
| | nationally recognized testing laboratory; or an evaluation by an | |
| | approved field evaluation firm. | |
| | https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_479.610 | |
| | https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_479.760 | |
| South Dakota | Did not locate similar law | N/A |

| Utah | Did not locate similar law | N/A |
|------------|--|-----|
| Washington | Laboratory testing | N/A |
| | https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-46B-999 | |
| Wyoming | Did not locate similar law | N/A |

| N/A | | |
|---------|--|--|
| I NI/A | | |
| I IN/A | | |
| 1 1/1 1 | | |
| | | |

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--|---|
| Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or | The rule does not create a fiscal impact. |
| federal fund | _ |
| Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small | The rule requires Idaho businesses to ensure an electrical |
| businesses | product is already certified or to seek certification. |
| Impact to any local government in Idaho | The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho. |

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--------------------------------------|------------------|
| Net change in word count | (12) |
| Net change in restrictive word count | 0 |

IDAPA 24.39.10

RULE 300

<u>Proposed Rule</u>: Civil Penalties. The acts described in this section subject the violator to a civil penalty not to exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000) for each separate count or offense.

- **01. Statute or Rule.** Failure to comply with any provision of Chapter 10, Title 54, Idaho Code or Board Rule.
- **02.** Licensure or Registration. Except as provided by Section 54-1016, Idaho Code, performance of electrical work without an active license or registration as required by Chapter 10, Title 54, Idaho Code. General contractors registered pursuant to Section 54-1016, Idaho Code who submit a bid on a multi-trade construction project which includes a licensed electrical contractor's pricing is not considered as acting or attempting to act as an electrical contractor.
- 03. Performance Outside Scope. Performance of any electrical installation, alteration, or maintenance by a limited electrical contractor, limited electrical installer, or trainee outside the scope of the limited electrical license or registration.
- **04. Employees.** Knowing employment of a person who does not hold an active license or registration to perform electrical work.
- **05. Supervision**. Working as an apprentice or limited electrical installer trainee without the required journeyman, master, or installer supervision or employing an apprentice or trainee without providing the required supervision.
- **06.** Fees, Permits, and Inspections. Failure to obtain a required permit, pay applicable fees, properly post a permit, or request an inspection of any electrical work.
 - **07. Corrections.** Failure to make corrections in the time allotted in the notice on any electrical work.
 - **08. Misrepresentation of Fees.** Misrepresentation of the permit or inspection fees to the customer.
- **09.** Advertising. Advertising to engage in the business, trade, practice, or work of an electrical contractor as defined in Sections 54-1003A and 54-1010, Idaho Code, without holding a current and valid electrical contractor license issued by the Division

or advertising without including the contractor license number in the advertisement. Advertising includes, but is not limited to: newspaper, telephone directory, community flier ads or notices; telephone, television, radio, internet, or door-to-door solicitations.

10. Order. Failure to comply with any lawful order of the Board or Division administrator.

<u>Current Rule</u>: Similar to proposed rule, but only allows the board to impose a \$200 civil penalty for a first violation, even if the violation is egregious.

Legal Authority: I.C. § 54-1006(5) – mandatory

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1006/

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

This rule is geared toward ensuring compliance with the law. It cannot be solved through non-regulatory means.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

When the Board's inspectors find legal violations during their inspections, they attempt to resolve many violations through warnings. When warnings are not effective, civil penalties are assessed.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

| Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|--------------------------------------|--|
| N/A | |

| State | Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|--------|---|--|
| Alaska | Failure to correct a code violation is subject to a fine of up to \$1000. | Idaho's rule does not appear |
| | Board can cancel a license as discipline; however, there does not appear to be an | to be more stringent as it |
| | alternative of a civil penalty in lieu of cancelling/revoking. | provides a pathway other |

| | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#18.60.650 | than revocation. |
|--------------|---|-------------------|
| | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#8.90.185 | than 10 vocation. |
| Montana | | |
| 1/1011/10 | https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title 0370/chapter 0010/part 0030/section 0120/0370- | N/A |
| | 0010-0030-0120.html | |
| Nevada | N/A re: journeyman since state does not license. Electrical Contractors may be | N/A |
| | fined anywhere from \$50-\$50,000, depending on the violation. | |
| | https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-624.html#NAC624Sec7251 | |
| Oregon | Can impose civil penalties of \$5,000 for each offense or \$1,000 for each day of a | N/A |
| | continuing offense. | |
| | https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors 479.995 | |
| | https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_455.895 | |
| South Dakota | Violations can lead to suspension, revocation or limitation on scope of practice. | N/A |
| | Unable to locate laws providing civil penalties. | |
| | https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified Laws/2060348 | |
| Utah | fine of up to \$1,000 for 1 st violation, \$1,000 for 2 nd , and \$4,000 for subsequent | N/A |
| | instance of unprofessional or unlawful conduct | |
| | https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter55/58-55-S503.html | |
| | https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/search/R156-55a/Current%20Rules | |
| | R156-55c-501-502, R156-55a-502-503 | |
| Washington | Penalties of \$50 to \$10,000, depending on type and seriousness of offense | N/A |
| | https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.28.131 | |
| | https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-46B-915 | |
| Wyoming | Civil penalty for unlicensed practice. | N/A |

| >T/A | |
|------|--|
| N/A | |
| | |

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--|--|
| Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or | The ability to impose civil penalties lies in statute. Any civil |
| federal fund | penalties collected are deposited in the occupational licenses |
| | fund. |
| Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small | The rule does not negatively impact Idaho businesses. |
| businesses | |
| Impact to any local government in Idaho | The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho. |

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--------------------------------------|------------------|
| Net change in word count | (139) |
| Net change in restrictive word count | (4) |

IDAPA 24.39.10

RULE 500

Proposed Rule: Starting on page 5, this Rule sets forth the permit fee schedule based upon building type and construction cost.

Current Rule: Same key elements as proposed Rule.

Legal Authority: I.C. § 54-1006(5) – mandatory

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1006/

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

Permit and inspection fees are imposed to cover the costs of inspections. Inspections cannot be provided through non-regulatory means.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

The Board is able to retain inspectors to perform electrical inspections.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

| Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|--------------------------------------|--|
| N/A | |

| State | Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho |
|--------|---|-------------------------------|
| | | rule more stringent? (if |
| | | applicable) |
| Alaska | Appears permit fees are set by localities, not State. | Idaho's permit fees appear to |

| | Localities can charge inspection fee of up to \$50. | be greater. |
|--------------|---|-------------|
| | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#8.70.060 | greater. |
| | https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#8.70.070 | |
| Montana | Inspections completed by state or locality. Permit fees set in rule. | N/A |
| | https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title 0500/chapter 0600/part 0060/section 0040/0500- | |
| | 0600-0060-0040.html | |
| | https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E301%2E431 | |
| | https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E301%2E461 | |
| Nevada | Contractor must apply for permits. (NAC 624.6966). Rules dictate how contractor | N/A |
| | conducts business and when it can obtain payments from clients based upon | |
| | permits and inspections. Fees appear to be set by locality. | |
| | https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-624.html | |
| Oregon | Permits are required and issued to electrical contractors. | N/A |
| | https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_479.550 | |
| | https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_479.560 | |
| South Dakota | Fees based upon type of dwelling and work. Minimum inspection fee is \$75. | N/A |
| | https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/9814 | |
| | https://dlr.sd.gov/electrical/fees.aspx | |
| Utah | It appears localities issue permits | N/A |
| | https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title15A/Chapter1/15A-1-S104.html?v=C15A-1- | |
| | <u>\$104_2014040320140513</u> | |
| Washington | Each county or local jurisdiction must inspect. Counties and local jurisdictions also | N/A |
| | set the permit fees. | |
| | https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.27.050 | |
| Wyoming | Fees based upon type of dwelling and work. | N/A |
| | https://drive.google.com/file/d/13A0lEamKVWsZ1GEAWpllwfO9gyRhJseg/view | |

| N/A | | |
|-----|--|--|
| | | |

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--|---|
| Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or | The ability to impose permit and inspection fees arises in statute. |
| federal fund | Any fees collected are deposited in the occupational licenses |
| | fund. |
| Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small | The requirement to obtain an electrical permit arises in statute. |
| businesses | As such, the rule does not negatively impact Idaho businesses. |
| Impact to any local government in Idaho | The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho. |

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--------------------------------------|------------------|
| Net change in word count | (1133) |
| Net change in restrictive word count | (8) |

IDAPA 24.39.10

RULE 600

Proposed Rule: Adopts the 2020 National Electrical Code with stated amendments.

Current Rule: Similar key elements as proposed Rule.

Legal Authority: I.C. § 54-1001

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH10/SECT54-1001/

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

The Idaho legislature mandated the adoption of the National Electrical Code with amendments by the Board in order to ensure safe electrical installations. This cannot be accomplished through non-regulatory means.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

The 2020 National Electrical Code and the Board amendments provide safe electrical installation guidelines.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

| Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable) |
|--------------------------------------|--|
| N/A | |

| State | Summary of Law (include direct link) | How is the proposed Idaho rule more |
|--------|---|-------------------------------------|
| | | stringent? (if applicable) |
| Alaska | Adopted 2017 Edition of NFPA 70, National Electrical Code and | N/A |
| | the 2017 Edition of the National Electrical Safety Code (ANSI | |

| | C2-2017). | |
|--|---|-----|
| https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#18.60.580 | | |
| https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#8.70.025 | | |
| Montana | Adopted 2020 National Electric Code and National Fire | N/A |
| Protection Association Standard NFPA 70 | | |
| | https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E301%2E401 | |
| Nevada | No state adoption – adopted at local level. If locality did not | N/A |
| | adopt, work must conform to most recent edition. | |
| | https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-624.html#NRS624Sec3017 | |
| Oregon | Adopted 2020 National Electrical Code with amendments | N/A |
| | https://www.oregon.gov/bcd/codes-stand/Documents/21oesc- | |
| | table1-E-2021April.pdf | |
| South Dakota | Adopted 2020 National Electric Code with amendments | N/A |
| | https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/9752 | |
| Utah | Adopted 2020 National Electric Code with amendments | N/A |
| | https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title15A/Chapter2/15A-2- | |
| | S103.html?v=C15A-2-S103_2021050520210701 | |
| | https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title15A/Chapter3/15A-3- | |
| | <u>S601.html?v=C15A-3-S601_2021050520210701</u> | |
| Washington | Adopted 2020 National Electric Code with amendments | N/A |
| | https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-46B-010 | |
| Wyoming Adopted 2020 National Electric Code without amendments | | N/A |
| | https://wsfm.wyo.gov/electrical-safety/wiring-permits-1 | |

N/A

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

| Category | Potential Impact |
|---|---|
| Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or | The rule does not have a fiscal impact. |

| federal fund | |
|--|---|
| Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small | The initial code adopted is statutory. As such, the rule does not |
| businesses | negatively impact Idaho businesses. |
| Impact to any local government in Idaho | The rule does not negatively impact local governments in Idaho. |

| Category | Potential Impact |
|--------------------------------------|------------------|
| Net change in word count | +176 |
| Net change in restrictive word count | +1 |