PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS

IDAPA 24.14.01

RULE 351 (WILL BE 100 SERIES)

(New rule changes from 20 hours every year to 40 hours every 2 years. 2 hours of ethics required. No other substantive changes)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is discretionary authority of the Board. Under Idaho Code § 54-3204(4) the Board has the power "to prescribe by rule the minimum amount and kind of continuing education to be required of each social worker seeking to renew a license in the state of Idaho;"

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	45 hours every 2 years. No self-study. Minimums: 6 contact hours of substance abuse education, 6 contact hours of cross-cultural education relating to Alaska Natives, 3 contact hours in professional ethics, and 3 contact hours in teletherapy practice. www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/SocialWorkStatutes.pdf	
Montana	20 hours every year. 10 hour maximum for self-study. 2 hour minimum for suicide prevention. https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E219%2E435	N/A

Nevada	30 hours every 2 years for associate social work. 36 hours every 2 years for clinical	Proposed Idaho rule
	social work. Minimums: 4 hours of ethics, 2 hours of suicide prevention, (associate) 10 field hours, (clinical) 12 field hours.	requires 40 hours every 2 years, but only 2 hours of
	field flours, (crimical) 12 field flours.	ethics.
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-641B.html#NAC641BSec187	
Oregon	Baccalaureate: 20 hours every 2 years, including 3 hours of ethics and 3 hours of cultural competence	Idaho is less restrictive for Clinical Social Workers, but more restrictive for
	Master's: 30 hours every 2 years, including 4 hours of ethics and 4 hours in cultural competence	Baccalaureate and Master's Social Workers, as it makes no distinction.
	Clinical: 40 hours every 2 years, including 6 hours of ethics and 6 hours in cultural competence	us it makes no distinction.
	10 hours of self study maximum.	
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=4123	
South Dakota	30 hours every 2 years. No more than 10 hours of self-study.	Proposed Idaho rule
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/10877	requires 40 hours every 2 years, but allows 20 hours of self-study.
Utah	40 hours every 2 years (or 20 for "SSW or CSW"). 6 hours of ethics, law, or technology,	N/A
	2 hours of suicide prevention. 10 hours of self study (or 5 for "SSW" or "CSW).	
	chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https://rules.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/r156-60.pdf	
Washington	36 hours every 2 years. Minimums: 6 hours of ethics, 2 hours of suicide prevention	Proposed Idaho rule requires 40 hours every 2
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-809-630	years, but only 2 hours of
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-809	ethics.
Wyoming	45 hours every 2 years. Minimums: 3 hours of Ethics, 3 hours of suicide intervention.	N/A
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001	

RULE 210 (WILL BE 200 SERIES)

(New rule removes "Pursuing Licensure as Independent Practitioners" rules. Other than that 100 hours of face-to-face training with supervisor, at least 50 hours of which must be a 1:2 supervisor:trainee ratio, with no more than 50 hours at a 1:6 ratio. Clinical Social Workers must have 3000 hours of supervised social work experience: 1750 of client contact 1250 of assessment.)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: The authority to create supervisor: supervisee ratios does not exist in the practice act.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	100 hours of face-to-face training with supervisor, at least 50 hours of direct supervision, with no more than 50 hours of group supervision. 2 years of full-time employment or 3000 hours of part time employment in not less than 2 years. https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/SocialWorkStatutes.pdf	Idaho defines direct supervision and group supervision. Idaho also splits up the 3000 hours between client contact and case assessment
Montana	100 hours of face-to-face training with supervisor, at least 50 hours of direct supervision (including 10 observation of service), with no more than 50 hours of group supervision 200 total hours of work experience in 18 months. Of those 2000 hours 25 must be with client populations. https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E219%2E504	(MT) 2000 hours /18 months = 111.11 hours per month (ID) 3000 hours/24 months = 125 hours per month
Nevada	3000 hours in no less than 2 years but no more than 3. At least 2000 hours in the area of psychotherapeutic methods. At least 1000 hours supervised by	Does not expressly delineate face-to-face requirements.

	licensed clinical social worker (remaining hours may include psychologists or psychiatrists.)	
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-641B.html#NAC641BSec187	
Oregon	100 hours of face-to-face training with supervisor, at least 50 hours of direct supervision, with no more than 50 hours of group supervision. 3,500 practice hours with at least 2,000 hours of direct client contact	N/A
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=292855	
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=225734	
South Dakota	30 hours per week with 4 hours of supervision time for two years, or 18-29 hours per week with 2 hours of supervision time for 4 years.	Does not give express guidelines for supervision ratios, though all are subject to
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/10889	board approval.
Utah	3000 hours with a minimum of 1,000 hours of supervised training. 100 hours under direct supervision	Does not give express guidelines for supervision ratios.
	https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-60a/Current%20Rules?	
Washington	3,200 hours with 800 hours direct client contact. 90 hours of supervised training with 50 with a social worker either one-on-one our group and 40 with any mental health practitioner, must be one-on-one.	10 fewer hours of supervised training and 950 fewer hours of client contact. More total hours required, however.
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-809-330	
Wyoming	3000 hours with 1200 direct client contact. 100 hours of supervision	550 fewer hours of direct client contact.
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001	

RULE 211 (REMOVED)

(New rule removes supervisor registration altogether)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: The authority to register supervisors does not exist in the practice act

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more
		stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	Alaska does not register or define supervisors.	N/A
	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/SocialWorkStatutes.pdf	
Montana	Montana does not register supervisors but established classes and experience required for supervision to count.	N/A
	https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24.219.421	
Nevada	Nevada requires Board approval for supervisors, and defines 3 years of experience and complete board approved training.	N/A
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-641B.html#NAC641BSec187	
Oregon	"A plan supervisor approved under Section 3 of this rule must pass the examination on BLSW Oregon rules and statutes described in OAR 877-020-0008(4) and (5), and must have completed at least fifteen (15) hours of initial continuing education hours described in OAR 877-025-0006(1) through (5) in techniques of supervision prior to	

	commencing the supervision of an associate and must complete at least six (6) hours of continuing education on supervision every five years."	
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=4121	
South Dakota	South Dakota does not register or specify experience or education of supervisors.	N/A
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:59:05:03	
Utah	Utah does not register supervisors, but requires 2 years of experience and sets a ratio.	N/A
	https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-60a/Current%20Rules?	
Washington	Washington does not register supervisors, but requires 2 years of experience and specific continuing education.	N/A
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-809-334	
Wyoming	Wyoming appears to require board approval to act as a supervisor as well as 2 years licensure for independent practice, 4 years of post-graduate experience, specific continuing education, and ratios.	N/A
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001	

RULE 100

(Supervision requirements and ratios, if any)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: The authority to create supervisor:supervisee ratios does not exist in the practice act.

Federal Law Comparison (where applicable)

Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	Alaska requires 100 hours of direct clinical supervision, with no more than 50 hours in group supervision. (Alaska also requires 3000 hours of "employment" in postgraduate clinical work). No supervision ratios. https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/SocialWorkStatutes.pdf	
Montana	Montana requires 100 hours of direct clinical supervision, of which half must be face-to-face. 10 must be direct observation of service delivery. No supervision ratios. https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24.219.421	N/A
Nevada	Nevada requires Board pre-approval for supervision plans. 3000 supervision hours must occur in no less than 2 and no more than 3 years. At least 2,000 hours of the be in the area of psychotherapeutic methods and techniques to families/groups. 32 hours per week, not to exceed 416 hours in each quarter, of postgraduate hours in the use of psychotherapeutic methods. No supervision ratios.	

	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-641B.html#NAC641BSec187	
Oregon	Oregon requires Board pre-approval for supervision plans. 100 hours in less than 5	N/A
	years but more than 2 must include 50 hours of individual supervision. 50 hours may	
	occur in a group. No supervision ratios.	
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=4121	
South Dakota	South Dakota requires CSW-PIP candidates to work at least 30 hours per week. The	N/A
	reports shall document that the supervisor has provided a minimum of four hours of	
	individual supervision per month. (Part time options also available)	
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:59:05:03	
Utah	Utah requires 3,000 hours of clinical social work training and minimum 1,000 hours of	N/A
	supervised training with 100 hours under direct supervision. 1:6 supervisor to supervisee ratio.	
	https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156-60a/Current%20Rules?	
Washington	Washington requires 90 hours of direct supervision, of which 50 must be by a Social	N/A
_	Worker. No supervision ratios.	
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-809-334	
Wyoming	Wyoming requires 100 hours of clinical supervision. Maximum of 2 supervisees for	N/A
-	the face-to-face requirement, maximum of 5 supervisees at any time.	
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001	