24.24.01 - RULES OF THE GENETIC COUNSELORS LICENSING BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY:

These rules are promulgated pursuant to Title 54, Chapter 56, Idaho Code.

(3-28-23)

001. SCOPE-

These rules regulate the profession of genetic counseling in the interest of the public health, safety, and welfare.

(3-28-23)

002. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

The document titled "National Society of Genetic Counselors Code of Ethics," adopted January 1992 and revised December 2004, January 2006, and April 2017, is incorporated by reference into this rule and is available at the Board's office and on the Board's web site.

(3-28-23)

003. -- 249099. (RESERVED)

100. LICENSURE

- **O1.** General. An applicant who in any state, territory or country has had a license revoked or suspended or has been otherwise disciplined by a Board, a government agency, or any other disciplinary body, or has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a felony must submit with his application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his current suitability for licensure.
- **O2.** Education. An applicant must hold a master's degree or higher in genetics from an American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC), American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG), Accreditation Council for Genetic Counseling (ACGC), or National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC) accredited program or master's degree or higher in a related field of study as approved by the Board. (3-28-23)
- **O3. Examination.** An applicant must pass an ABGC or ABMG administered genetic counselor certification exam, or another exam approved by the board. (3-28-23)
 - **04.** Certification. An applicant must provide proof of current certification from the ABGC or ABMG. (3-28-23)

101. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. PRACTICE STANDARDS

01. Unprofessional and Unethical Conduct. Unprofessional and unethical conduct is conduct that does not conform to the guidelines for genetic counseling contained within the (NSGC) Code of Ethics, incorporated by reference into Section 002 of these rules and approved by the Board as the Idaho Code of Ethics. (3-28-23)

201. -- 399. (RESERVED)

250400. FEES.

All fees are non-refundable except that, if a license fee is tendered but the Board does not issue a license, the respective license fee will be returned. Fees are established in accord with Section 54-5613, Idaho Code as follows:

Section 000 Page 1 JScholer_09272023

FEE TYPE	AMOUNT (Not to Exceed)
Application	\$200
Original License	\$200
Annual Renewal	\$200
Provisional License	\$200
License by Endorsement	\$200
Examination	Determined by third-party examination administrator
Reinstatement	As provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code

(3-28-23)

251. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. REQUIREMENTS FOR ORIGINAL LICENSURE.

O1. General. An applicant who in any state, territory or country has had a license revoked or suspended or has been otherwise disciplined by a Board, a government agency, or any other disciplinary body, or has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a felony or a lesser crime conviction must submit with his application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his current suitability for licensure.

(3 28 23)

O2. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board will consider the factors set forth in Section 67 9411, Idaho Code. (3 28 23)

03. Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. (3 28 23)

04. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant will bear the burden of establishing his current suitability for licensure. (3 28 23)

O5. Education. An applicant must hold a master's degree or higher in genetics from an American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC), American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG), Accreditation Council for Genetic Counseling (ACGC), or National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC) accredited program or master's degree or higher in a related field of study as approved by the Board.

(3-28-23)

96. Examination. An applicant must pass an ABGC or ABMG administered genetic counselor certification exam. The passage of the exam may have occurred prior to the effective date of these rules. (3-28-23)

O7. Certification. An applicant must provide proof of current certification from the ABGC or ABMG.

(3-28-23)

3401. -- **309**999. (RESERVED)

310. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.

The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who meets the following requirements:

(3-28-23)

01. General. Meets the requirements prescribed in Subsection 300.01 of these rules; and (3 28 23)

Section 000 Page 2 JScholer_09272023

02. Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current active license	se in the
profession and at the level for which a license is being sought, issued by the authorized regulatory entity of	
state, territory, or jurisdiction. The state, territory, or jurisdiction must have licensing requirements subs	stantially
equivalent to or higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure	must be
	3-28-23)
tecerved by the Board from the loss and agency.	3 20 23)
311. REQUIREMENTS FOR PROVISIONAL LICENSE.	
The Board may issue a provisional license to allow a person who has been granted active candidate status to	a engage
in the practice of genetic counseling. The holder of a provisional license may only practice under the	general
supervision of a person fully licensed under this chapter or a physician licensed in this state. (
the supervision of a person rang meensed ander and enapter of a physician neemsed in any state.	3 20 23)
01. General. Meets the requirements prescribed in Subsection 300.01 of these rules; and	3 28 23)
02. Supervision. While the provisional licensee is providing genetic counseling servi	cos the
licensee's supervisor need not be physically present; however, the supervisor must be readily accessible	
	3 28 23)
provisional neetisee by telephone of by electronic means for consultation and assistance.	3 40 43)
312. INACTIVE STATUS.	
01. Request for Inactive Status. Licensees requesting an inactive status during the renewal	of their
active license must submit a written request and pay the established fee.	2 28 23
detive needs must such a written request and pay the established rec.	3 20 23)
02. Inactive License Status. All continuing education requirements will be waived for any	Venr or
portion thereof that a licensee maintains an inactive license and is not actively practicing in Idaho. (
portion thereof that a needbee maintains an inactive needs and is not actively practicing in ratio.	3 20 23)
03. Reinstatement to Full Licensure from Inactive Status. An inactive licensee may rei	nstate to
active status by submitting a completed, board approved application and paying the appropriate fee, provide	
ABGC certification and one (1) year of continuing education immediately preceding application. (
The decention and one (1) year of community education immediately proceeding approximation	3 20 23)
313. – 499. (RESERVED)	
500. CONTINUING EDUCATION.	
All licensees must comply with the following continuing education requirements:	3 28 23)
	,
01. Requirement. Beginning with the second renewal of their license, a licensee will be rec	juired to
complete a minimum of two (2) Continuing Education Units (CEUs) within the preceding twelve (12) month	
(1) CEU and one (1) Professional Activity Credit (PAC) within the preceding twelve (12) months.	3 28 23)
	Í
02. Documentation. Each licensee will maintain documentation verifying continuing e	ducation
course attendance and curriculum, or completion of the educational activity for a period of five (5) years	from the
date of completion. This documentation will be subject to audit by the Board. (3-28-23)
	Í
a. Documented evidence of meeting the continuing education course requirement must be	e in the
form of a certificate or letter from the sponsoring entity that includes verification of attendance by the lice	nsee, the
title of the activity, the subject material covered, the dates and number of hours credited, and the present	ter's full
name and professional credentials. Documented evidence of completing a continuing education activity m	ust be in
such form as to document both completion and date of the activity.	3-28-23)
	- /
b. A licensee must submit the verification documentation to the Board, if requested by the Board	oard. If a
licensee fails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the hours attested to on the	
application, the licensee may be subject to disciplinary action.	3 28 23)
	,
03. Waiver. The Board may for good cause waive the requirements of this rule. The license	e should
request the waiver in advance of renewal and must provide any information requested by the Board to	assist in
	3 28 23)

94. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. CEUs and PACs not claimed in the current regear may be claimed in the next renewal year. A maximum of two (2) CEUs or one (1) PAC and one (1) CE be carried forward from the immediately preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one regear.	U may
501. – 699. (RESERVED)	
700. UNPROFESSIONAL AND UNETHICAL CONDUCT. Unprofessional and unethical conduct is conduct that does not conform to the guidelines for genetic courseontained within the (NSGC) Code of Ethics, incorporated by reference into Section 002 of these rules and apply the Board as the Idaho Code of Ethics. (3-	
701. 899. (RESERVED)	
900. DISCIPLINE.	
01. Disciplinary Action. If the Board determines that grounds for discipline exist for violations of these rules, or both, it may impose disciplinary sanctions again licensee.	ions of nst the 28-23)

901. 999. (RESERVED)

24.24.01 - RULES OF THE GENETIC COUNSELORS LICENSING BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY

These rules are promulgated pursuant to Title 54, Chapter 56, Idaho Code.

(3-28-23)

001. SCOPE

These rules regulate the profession of genetic counseling in the interest of the public health, safety, and welfare.

(3-28-23)

002. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE

The document titled "National Society of Genetic Counselors Code of Ethics," adopted January 1992 and revised December 2004, January 2006, and April 2017, is incorporated by reference into this rule and is available at the Board's office and on the Board's web site.

(3-28-23)

003. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. LICENSURE

- **01. General.** An applicant who in any state, territory or country has had a license revoked or suspended or has been otherwise disciplined by a Board, a government agency, or any other disciplinary body, or has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a felony must submit with his application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his current suitability for licensure.
- **02.** Education. An applicant must hold a master's degree or higher in genetics from an American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC), American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG), Accreditation Council for Genetic Counseling (ACGC), or National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC) accredited program or master's degree or higher in a related field of study as approved by the Board. (3-28-23)
- **03. Examination**. An applicant must pass an ABGC or ABMG administered genetic counselor certification exam, or another exam approved by the board. (3-28-23)
 - **O4. Certification**. An applicant must provide proof of current certification from the ABGC or ABMG. (3-28-23)

101. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. PRACTICE STANDARDS

01. Unprofessional and Unethical Conduct. Unprofessional and unethical conduct is conduct that does not conform to the guidelines for genetic counseling contained within the (NSGC) Code of Ethics, incorporated by reference into Section 002 of these rules and approved by the Board as the Idaho Code of Ethics. (3-28-23)

201. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. FEES.

All fees are non-refundable except that, if a license fee is tendered but the Board does not issue a license, the respective license fee will be returned. Fees are established in accord with Section 54-5613, Idaho Code as follows:

FEE TYPE	AMOUNT (Not to Exceed)
Application	\$200
Original License	\$200
Annual Renewal	\$200
Provisional License	\$200
License by Endorsement	\$200
Examination	Determined by third-party examination administrator
Reinstatement	As provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code

(3-28-23)

401. -- 999. (RESERVED)