PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS

ATHLETIC COMMISSION

IDAPA 24.15.01

RULE 116 (FEES)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is requisite authority, under Idaho Code 54-416, which allows the commission to "grant annual licenses in compliance with the rules prescribed by the commission, and the payment of fees, the amount of which is to be determined by the commission…"

State Licensing Fee Comparison:

										General
		Pro				Promoter-	Promoter-		Event Permit-	Fund
Fee Type	Amateur	Combatant	Manager	Matchmaker	Official-Initial	Initial	Renewal	Second	Initial	Support
									\$200 + \$1000	
Idaho	\$100(50)	\$150(75)	\$150	\$250	\$150(100)	\$1,000(750)	\$750	\$150(100)	(Event Tax)	No
Alaska					Does not re	egulate				
Montana					Does not re	egulate				
									\$100 + 9%	
Nevada	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$100	\$100	\$750	\$750	\$50	Event Tax	No
					\$10- for					
	\$10.00				timekeeper					
	per	\$15.00 per			\$25 for					
Oregon	license *	license **	\$40.00	\$40.00	judge/referee	\$100/\$500	\$100/\$500	\$15.00	6% event tax	Yes
					\$25- for					
South					timekeeper \$50-				\$1000-3% up	
Dakota	\$50	\$50	\$100	\$200	for judge/referee	\$300	\$300	\$25	to \$3000	No
					\$40- for					
					timekeeper				\$100+	
					\$50- for				Attendance	
Utah	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50	judge/referee	\$250	\$250	\$50	fee*	Yes

Washington	\$35	\$35	\$75	\$75	\$75	\$540, or \$220 for pro wrestling	\$540, or \$220 for pro wrestling	\$35	\$540	No
							-		\$100-\$-\$500	
									boxing \$500	
					\$10 or proof of				for everything	
Wyoming	\$50	\$50	N/A	N/A	self insured policy	\$250	\$250	\$10	else	No

RULE 101 (COMBATANT LICENSURE MEDICAL EXAMINATION)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is requisite authority, under Idaho Code 54-416, which compels the commission to "grant annual licenses in compliance with the rules prescribed by the commission... prescribed to... combatants"

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	Alaska charges \$50 for a license, and requires examination of a physician within 60 days.	Idaho has a shorter window for medical examinations.
	https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#12.06.060	
Montana	N/A	N/A
Nevada	Nevada requires examination within 90 days, Idaho within 30. Nevada charges \$25. Idaho charges \$35.	Idaho is more expensive and has a shorter window for medical examinations.
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-467.html	
Oregon	Oregon's rules only specifically dictate age, and reference "an evidence of eligibility to act or perform" without further definition.	examinations. If Oregon does as well, it is not listed as a licensing
	https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors463.html	requirement.
South	South Dakota requires Boxer Federal Identification card, physical exam within 12	N/A
Dakota	months, dialated eye exam within 12 month, blood pathogen test and financial responsibility and general fitness. SD also differentiates between boxers and MMA fighters, with MMA fighters having the additional requirement of a complete record of competitions and a photo ID.	
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/34567	
Utah	Utah requires fighters to be at least 18 years old, pass a physical examination, and provide evidence of a negative HIV and hepatitis test. http://utrules.elaws.us/uac/r359-1	Idaho mandates that fighters undergo an electrocardiogram (EKG) to check for heart conditions

Washington	Washington requires a physical, federal identification, a photograph, and certification from an organization. Physical includes eyesight, blood pressure, communicable diseases, maximum of 36 years of age, MRI, and EKG. https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=36-12&full=true&pdf=true	
Wyoming	Wyoming requires fighters to be 18. Licenses may be denied if disciplined by another MMA regulator. Pro boxers must register with the federal registry to participate in the US. https://mma.wyo.gov/rules	

RULE 100 ET. SEQ. (MANAGER LICENSURE)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is requisite authority, under Idaho Code 54-416, which compels the commission to "grant annual licenses in compliance with the rules prescribed by the commission... prescribed to... managers"

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	Alaska's rules are equivalent to Idaho's	N/A.
	https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#12.06.060	
Montana	N/A	N/A
Nevada	Nevada requires managers to attend a commission-approved manager's course.	N/A
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-467.html	
Oregon	Manager and Combatant licensure are combined under 463.025 and only specifically dictate age, and reference "an evidence of eligibility to act or perform" without further definition.	N/A
	https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors463.html	
South	Managers are required to have a license and to work with the commission	N/A
Dakota	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/34567	
Utah	Utah requires managers to be licensed and undergo a background check	N/A
	http://utrules.elaws.us/uac/r359-1	
Washington	WAC 36-12-250 lists restrictions on Managers. 36-12-011 defines a manager as someone licensed under RCW 67.08.100. RCW 67.08.100 states that the department may issue a manager a license upon application. Requirements are not present in any rule.	N/A

	https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=67.08&full=true&pdf=true https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=36-12&full=true&pdf=true	
Wyoming	Wyoming does not appear to license managers.	Idaho licenses managers.
	https://mma.wyo.gov/rules	

RULE 106 (PROMOTER'S LICENSURE)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is requisite authority, under Idaho Code 54-416, which compels the commission to "grant annual licenses in compliance with the rules prescribed by the commission... prescribed to... promoters"

ne proposed Idaho rule ingent? (if applicable)
andates that promoters
proof of liability e and submit detailed information to the
,

Washington	WAC 36-12-360 delineates the responsibilities of promoters, but does not	Idaho mandates that promoters
	delineate requirements for licensure as a promoter.	provide proof of liability
		insurance and submit detailed
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-830-475	financial information to the
		commission.
Wyoming	Wyoming requires proof of liability insurance, having a business license,	N/A
	submitting a financial statement, and passing a criminal background check. The	
	commission may also require additional documentation and conduct an interview.	
	https://mma.wyo.gov/rules	

RULE 615 (CHANGE OF DECISION)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is requisite authority, under Idaho Code 54-406, which allows the commission to adopt rules related to "(f) Procedures for hearings and resolution of disputes..."

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	The commission will not change a decision rendered at the end of a boxing contest unless (1) the commission determines that there was collusion affecting the result of the contest; (2) the compilation of the scorecards of the judges discloses an error that causes the decision to be given to the wrong contestant; (3) as the result of an error in interpreting a provision of this chapter, the referee has rendered an incorrect decision; or (4) the commission discovers any other act that might have caused one contestant to gain an unfair advantage. https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#12.06.060	N/A
Montana	N/A	N/A
Nevada	NAC 467.770 Change of decision after contest or exhibition: Factors considered by Commission. (NRS 467.030) Except as otherwise provided in NAC 467.579, the Commission will not change a decision rendered at the end of any contest or exhibition unless: 1. The Commission determines that there was collusion affecting the result of the contest or exhibition;	

	2. The compilation of the scorecards of the judges discloses an error which shows that the decision was given to the wrong unarmed combatant; or	
	3. As the result of an error in interpreting a provision of this chapter, the referee has rendered an incorrect decision.	
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-467.html#NAC467Sec182	
Oregon	230-080-0650 Change of Decision	N/A
	(1) A decision rendered at the termination of any bout is final. A decision shall not be changed unless the superintendent or Administrator later determines that any one of the following occurred:	
	(a) There was collusion affecting the result of any bout;	
	(b) The compilation of the scorecard shows an error which would mean that the decision was given to the wrong competitor;	
	(c) There was a clear violation of the laws or rules governing unarmed combat sports which affected the result of any bout.	
	(2) If the superintendent or Administrator determines that any of the above occurred with regard to any bout, the decision rendered shall be changed.	
	https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD= zO3oD-0ZVCU0nYQ1hwzvoroBHXfXqLKb1HzLgtsRxcuXbYFr8m4y!- 652817456?ruleVrsnRsn=240815	
South	A decision that is rendered by the judges at the termination of a contest may not	N/A
Dakota	be changed without a hearing before the commission, unless it is determined that	
	the computation of the scorecards show a clerical or mathematical error giving the decision to the wrong contestant, in which case such clerical or mathematical error	
	may be corrected by the judge by informing the Commission of the error.	

	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:81:03	
Utah	Except as otherwise provided in Subsection R457-1-507(6), the Commission will not change a decision made at the end of any contest or exhibition unless: (1) the Commission determines that there was collusion affecting the result of the contest or exhibition; (2) the compilation of the scorecards of the judges discloses an error which shows that the decision incorrectly awarded a win to the wrong contestant; or (3) as the result of an error in interpreting this section, the referee has made an incorrect decision.	N/A
	https://casetext.com/regulation/utah-administrative-code/cultural-and-community-engagement/title-r457-cultural-and-community-engagement-pete-suazo-utah-athletic-commission/rule-r457-1-pete-suazo-utah-athletic-commission-act-rule/section-r457-1-615-boxing-change-of-decision-after-contest-or-exhibition-factors-considered-by-commission	
Washington	N/A	N/A
Wyoming	Modification of Bout Result. The Commission may conduct a hearing on a result modification matter after the Board, in its sole discretion, determines that one or more of the following incidents occurred: (a) There were indications of collusion affecting the result of the bout; (b) The compilation of the scorecards of the judges disclosed an error which showed that the decision was given to the wrong contestant; or (c) As the result of interpreting the rules in error, the referee rendered an incorrect decision	N/A
	https://mma.wyo.gov/rules	