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24.24.01 – RULES OF THE GENETIC COUNSELORS LICENSING BOARD 
 
000. LEGAL AUTHORITY 
These rules are promulgated pursuant to Title 54, Chapter 56, Idaho Code. (3-28-23) 
 
001. SCOPE 
These rules regulate the profession of genetic counseling in the interest of the public health, safety, and welfare. 
   (3-28-23) 
 
002. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE 
The document titled “National Society of Genetic Counselors Code of Ethics,” dated April 2017, is incorporated by 
reference into this rule and is available at the Board’s office and on the Board’s web site. (3-28-23) 
 
003. -- 099. (RESERVED) 
 
 
100. LICENSURE 
 
 01. General. An applicant who in any state, territory, or country has had a license revoked or 
suspended or has been otherwise disciplined by a Board, a government agency, or any other disciplinary body, or 
has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a felony must submit with 
his application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his current suitability for 
licensure. 
 
 02. Education. An applicant must hold a master’s degree or higher in genetics from an American 
Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC), American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG), Accreditation Council for 
Genetic Counseling (ACGC), or National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC) accredited program or master’s 
degree or higher in a related field of study as approved by the Board. (3-28-23) 
 
 03. Examination. An applicant must pass an ABGC or ABMG administered genetic counselor 
certification exam, or another exam approved by the board. (3-28-23) 
 
 04. Certification. An applicant must provide proof of current certification from the ABGC or ABMG. 
   (3-28-23) 
 
101. -- 199. (RESERVED) 
 
 
200. PRACTICE STANDARDS 
  
 01. Unprofessional and Unethical Conduct. Unprofessional and unethical conduct is conduct that 
does not conform to the guidelines for genetic counseling contained within the (NSGC) Code of Ethics, incorporated 
by reference into Section 002 of these rules and approved by the Board as the Idaho Code of Ethics. (3-28-23) 
 
201. -- 399. (RESERVED) 
 
400. FEES. 
All fees are non-refundable except that, if a license fee is tendered but the Board does not issue a license, the 
respective license fee will be returned. Fees are established in accord with Section 54-5613, Idaho Code as follows: 
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FEE TYPE AMOUNT 
(Not to Exceed) 

Application $200 

Original License  $200 

Annual Renewal $200 

Provisional License $200 

License by Endorsement $200 

Reinstatement As provided in  
Section 67-2614, Idaho Code 

  

   (3-28-23) 
 
 
401. -- 999. (RESERVED) 
 


