PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS

BOARD OF LIQUIFIED PETROLUM GAS SAFETY BOARD

IDAPA 24.22.01

RULE 24.22.01.250

<u>Proposed Rule</u>: Supervised Practical Experience. Each applicant must provide proof that the applicant has obtained a minimum of two thousand (2,000) hours of practical experience in a Liquefied Petroleum Gas facility while the applicant was under supervision of a licensed dealer.

<u>Current Rule</u>: Supervised Practical Experience. Each applicant must provide proof that the applicant has successfully obtained at least one (1) year of practical experience in a Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) facility while the applicant was under supervision of a licensed dealer. A person in the process of meeting the practical experience requirement must complete the education and examination requirements and apply for a dealer license within eighteen (18) months of beginning to obtain supervised experience.

<u>Legal Authority</u>: <u>Section 54-5307, Idaho Code</u>, requires the board to specify any experience required prior to the issuance of the license.

Define the specific problem the proposed rule is attempting to solve. Can it be solved through non-regulatory means?

Moving from 1 year of experience to an hour requirement brings practical experience requirements into line with the requirements of other boards, which will allow for faster licensing and processing. This requirement cannot be solved through non-regulatory needs. This proposed rule also removes the timeline of 18 months for competition of the practical experience.

What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

An hour requirement instead of a defined length of time for practical experience will allow some applicants to become licensed quicker, allowing for more licensees in this field.

State Law Comparison

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	N/A no experience required	AS 43.40.094
Montana	N/A no experience required	MCA <u>15-70-402</u>
Nevada	N/A no experience required	NRS 590.465
Oregon	Less than 60 day work days under supervision after passing the	ORS 480
	exam	OAR 837-030-0100
South Dakota	N/A no experience required	<u>10-47B-71</u>
Utah	N/A no experience required	<u>53-7-3</u>
Washington	N/A no experience required	RCW 82.38.110
Wyoming	N/A no experience required	WY Sect 39-17-306

If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:

This rule change will bring this experience requirement in line with other regulatory boards and will provide a more accurate count of experience hours.

Anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders:

Category	Potential Impact
Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or	None.
federal fund	
Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small	No fiscal impact; may allow for more licensees.
businesses	
Impact to any local government in Idaho	None