PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS

BOARD OF MORTICIANS

IDAPA 24.28.01

RULE 410 (WILL BE 100 SERIES) (CONTINUING EDUCATION)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-1115A delegates responsibility to "the board regarding applications for renewal, continuing education, and fees."

State Law Comparison

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule		
		more stringent? (if applicable)		
Alaska	Alaska does not appear to require continuing education for morticians.	Idaho requires 8 hours of CEs per		
		year.		
	https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/MortuaryStatutes.pdf			
Montana	Montana requires 6 hours per year.	Idaho requires 8 hours of CEs per		
		year.		
	https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/_docs/arm/CH-147-FNR-as-of-6-30-2021.pdf			
Nevada	Nevada requires 12 hours every two years, or 6 hours per year.	Idaho requires 8 hours of CEs per		
		year.		
	https://funeral.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/funeralnvgov/Content/Education/Continuin			
	gEducationFAQ.pdf			
Oregon	Oregon does not appear to require continuing education for Morticians.	Idaho requires 8 hours of CEs per		
		year.		
	https://www.oregon.gov/omcb/Documents/Reference/OAR-830%202020.pdf			
South	South Dakota does not appear to require continuing education for Morticians.	Idaho requires 8 hours of CEs per		
Dakota		year.		
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:45			
Utah	Utah requires 20 hours every two year renewal cycle, or 10 hours per year.	N/A		

	https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter9/58-9-S304.html?v=C58-9-S304_1800010118000101	
Washington	Washington requires 5 hours every renewal year.	Idaho requires 8 hours of CEs per
		year.
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-843-095	
Wyoming	Wyoming requires 8 hours per year.	Idaho requires 8 hours of CEs per
		year.
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=035	

RULE 500 (FEES)

<u>Legal Authority</u>: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-1115 delegates responsibility to the board to determine fees for original licenses, examinations, annual renewals, and certificates.

State Licensing Fee Comparison

	Funeral Director	Funeral Establishment	Crematory Establishment	Mortician	Embalmers	Inactive License	Resident Trainee	Application Fee	Certificate of Authority
<u>Idaho</u>	\$85	\$125	\$200	\$85	N/A	\$40	\$50	\$100	\$50
(1 yr.)									
<u>Alaska</u>	\$185	\$185	\$185	N/A	\$185	N/A	N/A	\$150	Care and
(2 yrs.)									<u>Disposal</u>
									Permit: \$75
Montana	N/A	\$544	\$544	\$544	N/A	\$73-\$145	N/A	N/A	N/A
Nevada	\$375	\$375	\$375	\$375	\$375	\$175	N/A	\$375	N/A
Oregon	\$160	\$150	\$150	\$160	\$160	N/A	\$50	N/A	N/A
(2 yrs.)									
South	\$125	\$250	\$100	\$125	\$250	N/A	\$25	N/A	N/A
Dakota									
<u>Utah</u>	\$160	\$250	\$250	\$160	\$160	\$20	\$85	\$160	N/A

Washington	\$135	\$540	\$284	\$135	\$135	N/A	\$182	N/A	\$405
									(Cemetery)
Wyoming	\$125	\$150	\$125	\$125	N/A	N/A	\$75	N/A	N/A
(1 yr.)									