#### **PROSPECTIVE ANALYSIS**

### **BOARD OF RESIDENTIAL CARE ADMINISTRATORS**

# IDAPA 24.28.01

#### RULE 400.05 (WILL BE 100 SERIES)

**Legal Authority**: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-4205(c) gives the board authority to "make rules not inconsistent with law as may be necessary for the proper performance of its duties."

### State Law Comparison

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	Alaska requires administrators-in-training to be under the guidance of a preceptor who is licensed, employed, and agrees in writing to fulfill the duties and responsibilities outlined in the NAB Five-Step Program Administrator in Training Internship Manual (1997 edition).	
	https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#12.46.030	
Montana	"Preceptor" does not appear in the Montana rules or statute. 24.162.501 only states that "Administrator-in-training programs must be documented and signed by the licensed active nursing home administrator."	Idaho requires registration and board approval, as well as an orientation course.
	https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E162%2E501	
Nevada	Preceptors are required to have 2 years of licensed experienced, approved by the agency, as well as completion of the NAB Preceptor Training Program	N/A
	https://beltca.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/beltcanvgov/content/Documents/AIT/Applic ationForPreceptor(1).pdf	

Oregon	Preceptors are required to have been a licensed nursing home administrator for at least three years and have attended a board-approved workshop for preceptors in Oregon within three years preceding the date of application for registration.	N/A
	https://www.oregon.gov/oha/ph/hlo/pages/board-nursing-home-administrators- ait.aspx	
South	South Dakota defines a Preceptor as "a licensee who has been licensed for at least	Idaho requires specific education
Dakota	four years in South Dakota, has had no revocation or suspension of a license or other action taken as deemed necessary to protect the public, and has been approved by the board to train administrators-in-training"	and training, as well as registration.
	https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:49	
Utah	Utah requires 3 years of licensure, good standing, and working in a licensed health facility. https://rules.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/r156-11a.pdf	Idaho requires specific education and training, as well as registration.
Washington	Washington requires 3 years of licensure, good standing, and working in a licensed health facility. https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-843-095	Idaho requires specific education and training, as well as registration.
Wyoming	Wyoming requires licensure and completion of 5 hours of NAB Preceptor training.	Idaho requires 2 years of licensure and registration.
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?mode=7	

## RULE 200 (WILL BE 100 SERIES)

**Legal Authority**: This is a statutory authority of the Board. Idaho Code § 54-1604(a) gives the board authority to "develop, impose, and enforce standards consistent with this act which shall be met by individuals in order to receive and retain a license as a nursing home administrator which standard shall be designed to insure that nursing home administrators will be individuals who are of good character and are otherwise suitable, and who, by training or experience in the field of institutional administration, are qualified to serve as nursing home administrators."

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Alaska	(12 AAC 46.040. Continuing education required for license renewal. Repealed 12/17/79.)	Idaho requires continuing education.
	https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#12.46.040	
Montana	20 hours per year	N/A
	https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E162%2E2105	
Nevada	40 hours every 2 years (20 hours per year)	N/A
	https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-654.html#NAC654Sec093	
Oregon	20 hours per year	N/A
	https://www.oregon.gov/oha/ph/hlo/pages/board-nursing-home-administrators- education.aspx	
South	40 hours every 2 years (20 hours per year)	N/A
Dakota		
	https://doh.sd.gov/licensing-and-records/boards/nursing-facility/continuing-	
	education-requirements/	
Utah	40 hours every 2 years (20 hours per year)	N/A

#### **State Law Comparison**

	https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R156- 15/Current%20Rules?searchText=156-15-309	
Washington	36 hours every 2 years (18 per year)	N/A
	https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-843-130	
Wyoming	25 hours per year	N/A
	https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?mode=7	