THE DAMAGE PREVENTION BOARD

REPORTING VIOLATIONS: THE COMPLAINT PROCESS

Anyone may file a complaint against an alleged violator of Idaho’s damage prevention laws — Title 55 Property in
General, Chapter 22 Underground Facilities Damage Prevention.

To report a potential violation, a complaint must be submitted to the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional
Licenses (DOPL). Review the information below to learn about the end-to-end process.

File a complaint with the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) WITHIN
30 DAYS OF THE EVENT OR DISCOVERY OF THE EVENT.

Complainant discovers a +  Notify the respondent (alleged violator) in writing of the intent to file a complaint.

e eI N LT G R EEER ¢+ Submit the complaint and supporting documentation® to DOPL via Online Services at:
complaint edopl.idaho.gov/onlineservices/

*Supporting documentation can include: locate request ticket, photos, contracts, communications,
and any documentation that supports the complaint.

+  The DOPL administrator reviews the complaint and supporting documentation and investigates
DOPL administrator the alleged violation.

investigates the complaint +  The administrator notifies the respondent of the complaint with a “Notice of Probable Violation”
letter and a request to provide a response.

*  Respondent must submit their response to the complaint WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE DATE ON
Respondent provides their THE LETTER.

response to the complaint *  Respondent completes and submits the Damage Prevention Response Form and supporting
documentation to dpbcomplaints@dopl.idaho.gov.

N a i Theadministrator . .
*  Reviews the response and supporting documentation.
response + May request additional information from the complainant or respondent.

*  No violation: Notifies the respondent and complainant of their no violation determination with
Administrator makes aletter. - o

a determination . Ylolatlon. Notifies thg respondgnt gf the Qe:termlnathnl and the course of action. This may
include a formal warning, safe digging training, or a civil penalty. See page 2 for penalty
information.

*  Accept the determination and course of action: If training and/or civil penalties are
assessed, the administrator will provide details and due dates

»  Contest the determination: Complete the Contest Request Form, provide any additional
supporting documentation, and the $200 appeal bond WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE DATE ON

Respondent may accept or THE DETERMINATION LETTER.

contest the determination +  The administrator will provide date and time of the board meeting to the complainant and
respondent.

+  The complainant and respondent will present their case to the board. They can attend
in-person, at an alternative DOPL location, or teleconference.

Questions? Contact DOPL at:
Telephone: 208-334-3233

Email: dpbcomplaints@dopl.idaho.gov

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL &
PROFESSIONAL LICENSES

Damage Prevention Board website: dopl.idaho.gov/dpb/



http://edopl.idaho.gov/onlineservices/
http://dopl.idaho.gov/dpb/

THE DAMAGE PREVENTION BOARD

VIOLATION PENALTY STRUCTURE

The Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) and the Damage Prevention Board abide by the violation
penalty structure set forth in Title 55 Property in General, Chapter 22 Underground Facilities Damage Prevention and
IDAPA 24.39.90 Rules of the Damage Prevention Board.

TIERS EXAMPLES OF VIOLATIONS' PENALTIES?

Failure to maintain locates 1%t violation: Warning and training
Failure to pre-mark proposed 2" violation: $200

excavation area 3" violation: $500

Failure to cease excavation to report 4" violation:$1,000

unidentified facilities 5%+ violation:

Failure to notification service to notify > No damages: $1,000

facility owner of excavation > Damages: $5,000

Failure to use reasonable care 1%t violation: Warning and training
False notification of an emergency 2" violation: $100

Failure to report downtime to the board 3 violation: $200

Failure to identify facilities in contract 4" violation:$500

documents 5%+ violation: $1,000

'This is not a complete list of violations of Title 55 Property in General, Chapter 22 Underground Facilities Damage Prevention.

ZPenalties are based on the violation and any additional violations accrued within an 18-month window. If violation-free for at least 18
consecutive months, any new violation counts as the first.

Questions? Contact DOPL at:
Telephone: 208-334-3233

Email: dpbcomplaints@dopl.idaho.gov

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL &
PROFESSIONAL LICENSES

Damage Prevention Board website: dopl.idaho.gov/dpb/
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