
Zero-Based Regulation 
Prospective Analysis 

• Fill out entire form to the best of your ability, unless submitting a Notice to Negotiate
only fill out 1, 2, 5, and 7. The rest of the form must be completed prior to the adoption of the 
proposed rule.

Agency Name: 

Rule Docket Number: 

1. What is the specific Idaho statutory legal authority for this proposed rule?

Statute Section (include direct link) Is the authority mandatory or discretionary? 

2. Define the specific problem that the proposed rule is attempting to solve? Can the
problem be addressed by non-regulatory measures?

The State Occupational Therapy Licensure Board is financially in the negative and requires a 
fee increase to become solvent. 

This cannot be addressed without regulations change, as all administrative rules and statutes 
must be approved by the Idaho State legislature, and Idaho Code section 67-9402(2) states 
that all fees for licensing boards must be in rule or code by July 1st, 2026. 

Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses

24-0601-2501



3. How have other jurisdictions approached the problem this proposed rule intends to
address?

a. Is this proposed rule related to any existing federal law?

Federal 
citation 

Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho 
rule more stringent? (if 
applicable) 

b. How does this proposed rule compare to other state laws?

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho 
rule more stringent? (if 
applicable) 

Washington 
Oregon 
Nevada 
Utah 
Wyoming 
Montana 
Alaska 
South Dakota 

c. If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal
government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique
circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:

N/A



4. What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

5. What is the anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders? Include
how you will involve stakeholders in the negotiated rulemaking process?

Category Potential Impact 
Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any 
dedicated fund, or federal fund 

Impact to Idaho businesses, with special 
consideration for small businesses 

Impact to any local government in Idaho 

6. What cumulative regulatory volume does this proposed rule add?

Category Impact 
Net change in word count 
Net change in restrictive word count 

Cash balance forecasts show that this relatively modest increase in licensing fees should 
allow the board to regain a healthy cash balance. 



7. Should this rule chapter remain as a rule chapter or be moved to statute as suggested in Section 67-
5292, Idaho Code?

Category Impact 
What is the cost of publishing 
this rule chapter annually? 
(Multiply the number of pages 
x $56) 
How frequently has this rule 
chapter been substantively 
updated over the past 5 years? 
(Exclude republishing 
triggered solely by recent 
sunset dates) 
What is the benefit of having 
all related requirements in a 
single location in Idaho Code? 



Occupational Therapy 

State Law Comparison 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) 
Alaska The following fees are established for physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists, 

and occupational therapy assistants: 
(1) application fee for initial license, $150;
(2) license fee for physical or occupational therapist for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $200;
(3) biennial license renewal fee for physical or occupational therapist, $200;
(4) temporary permit fee, $65;
(5) limited permit fee, $65;
(6) license fee for physical therapist assistant or occupational therapy assistant for all or part of the initial biennial
license period, $130;
(7) biennial license renewal fee for physical therapist assistant or occupational therapy assistant, $130.
https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/alaska/12-AAC-02.320

Montana Application and License Fee 
     Occupational Therapist Application Fee - $190 
     Superficial Endorsement Modality Application - $20 
     Topical Medications Modality Endorsement Application - $20 
Renewal Fee 
     Active and Late: $110 / Inactive Fee: $50 

Nevada (a) For an occupational therapist:
(1) Initial standard license......................................................................................  $250 
(2) Renewal of a standard license...........................................................................  175 
(3) A temporary or provisional license....................................................................  150 
(4) Renewal of a temporary or provisional license...................................................  100 
(5) Convert a temporary or provisional license to a standard license........................  100 
(6) Reinstatement of an expired license...................................................................  200 
(7) Renewal of an inactive license...........................................................................  100 
(8) Convert an inactive license to a standard license................................................  75 



  (b) For an occupational therapy assistant: 
(1) Initial standard license......................................................................................            $175 
(2) Renewal of a standard license...........................................................................              125 
(3) A temporary or provisional license....................................................................              100 
(4) Renewal of a temporary or provisional license...................................................                75 
(5) Convert a temporary or provisional license to a standard license........................                75 
(6) Reinstatement of an expired license...................................................................              125 
(7) Renewal of an inactive license...........................................................................                75 
(8) Convert an inactive license to a standard license................................................                50 
 
  (c) General: 

  

(1) Processing of an initial license application..........................................................            $150 
(2) Late fee for renewal of a license.......................................................................              125 
(3) Verification of a license....................................................................................                25 
(4) Returned payment processing...........................................................................                25 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-640a.html#NAC640ASec160 
 

 
 

Oregon 339-005-0000  
Fees 
Fees are non refundable. Two year licenses shall be issued to all licensees in even-numbered years at the fee 
schedule listed below. On a case-by-case basis the Board may approve the issuance of a one-year license. 
(1) The fee for an initial Oregon or out of state occupational therapy license by endorsement is $160. The Board 
may also assess the actual cost of conducting a background check, including fingerprinting. 
(2) The two-year renewal fee issued for the occupational therapy license is $240. The Board may also assess the 
actual cost to the Board of conducting workforce demographics surveys. 
(3) The fee for an initial Oregon or out of state occupational therapy assistant license is $130. The Board may 
also assess the actual cost of conducting a background check, including fingerprinting. 
(4) The two-year renewal fee for the occupational therapy assistant license is $160. The board may also assess 
the actual cost to the Board of conducting workforce demographics surveys. 
(5) The fee for a limited permit is $25 and may not be renewed. 
(6) The fee for a temporary Oregon occupational therapist license for military spouses and domestic partners is 
$99. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-640a.html#NAC640ASec160


(7) The fee for a temporary Oregon occupational therapy assistant license for military spouses and domestic
partners is $99.
(8) The fee for an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant verification of Oregon licensure is $25.
(9) The fee for an occupational therapist and/or occupational therapy assistant electronic mailing list is $100.
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=UYJ_3S55vmk-
Hdy4GtV6HUYg9DKf7kuQUtKIYB3jOMxGl04txlSn!99228750?ruleVrsnRsn=301758 

South Dakota 20:64:02:05.  Fees. The following fees for licensure as an occupational therapist shall be charged: 
(1) An applicant applying for the initial license shall pay a fee of $50;
(2) An applicant applying for annual renewal of a license shall pay a fee of $50;
(3) An applicant applying for renewal of license after the license has lapsed shall pay an additional fee of

$25; and 
(4) An applicant applying for a limited permit shall pay a fee of $25.

https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:64:02:05 

Utah Profession Type                               Application Fee        Renewal Fee 
Occupational Therapist                    70.00                         47.00  
Occupational Therapy Assistant      70.00 47.00  
Occupational Therapist (OT)/Occupational Therapy Assistant (OTA) Compact 
FBI Fingerprint file search               $10.00 per person-COMPACT ONLY 
BCI Fingerprint file search               $20.00 per person-COMPACT ONLY 
OT Compact license 80.00 47.00  
OTA Compact license 80.00 47.00 
https://dopl.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/fee-schedule.pdf 

Washington Occupational Therapist Fees: 
Title of Fee Fee 
Original application 
  Application and initial license fee $150.00 
  HEAL-WA* surcharge 16.00 
Limited permit fee 55.00 
Active license renewal 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=UYJ_3S55vmk-Hdy4GtV6HUYg9DKf7kuQUtKIYB3jOMxGl04txlSn!99228750?ruleVrsnRsn=301758
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=UYJ_3S55vmk-Hdy4GtV6HUYg9DKf7kuQUtKIYB3jOMxGl04txlSn!99228750?ruleVrsnRsn=301758
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:64:02:05
https://dopl.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/fee-schedule.pdf


  License renewal 125.00 
  Late renewal fee 65.00 
  HEAL-WA* surcharge ($16.00 per year 
for two-year cycle) 32.00 

  Expired license reissuance 80.00 
Inactive license renewal 
  Inactive license 15.00 
  Expired license reissuance 15.00 
  HEAL-WA* surcharge ($16.00 per year 
for two-year cycle) 

32.00 

Duplicate license 30.00 
Verification of license 30.00 

Occupational Therapy Assistants 
Title of Fee Fee 
Original application 
  Application and initial license fee $150.00 
  HEAL-WA* surcharge 16.00 
Limited permit fee 45.00 
Active license renewal 
  License renewal 105.00 
  Late renewal fee 55.00 
  Expired license reissuance 70.00 
  HEAL-WA* surcharge ($16.00 per year 
for two-year cycle) 

32.00 

Inactive license renewal 
  Inactive license 15.00 
  Expired inactive license reissuance 14.00 
  HEAL-WA* surcharge ($16.00 per year 
for two-year cycle) 

32.00 

Duplicate license 30.00 



Verification of license 30.00 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-847-990 

Wyoming Section 3. Fees. The Board shall charge the fees for the following services. 
(a) Application Fee:

(i) OT License: $225.00
(ii) OTA License: $175.00

(b) Temporary License Application Fee:
(i) OT: $50.00
(ii) OTA: $25.00

(c) Limited License Application Fee:
(i) OT: $50.00
(ii) OTA: $25.00

(d) License Renewal Fee:
(i) OT: $110.00
(ii) OTA: $60.00

(e) Late Renewal Fee: $100.00
(f) License Verification Fee:  $25.00
(g) Duplicate Certificate Fee:  $25.00
(h) Reinstatement Fee: $150.00
(i) Re-Entry Fee:  $125.00
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=083

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-847-990
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=083
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