
Zero-Based Regulation 
Prospective Analysis 

• Fill out entire form to the best of your ability, unless submitting a Notice to Negotiate
only fill out 1, 2, 5, and 7. The rest of the form must be completed prior to the adoption of the 
proposed rule.

Agency Name: 

Rule Docket Number: 

1. What is the specific Idaho statutory legal authority for this proposed rule?

Statute Section (include direct link) Is the authority mandatory or discretionary? 

2. Define the specific problem that the proposed rule is attempting to solve? Can the
problem be addressed by non-regulatory measures?

Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses

The Physical Therapy Licensure Board is financially in the negative and requires a fee 
increase to become solvent. 

This cannot be addressed without regulations change, as all administrative rules and statutes 
must be approved by the Idaho State legislature, and Idaho Code section 67-9402(2) states 
that all fees for licensing boards must be in rule or code by July 1st, 2026. 

24-1301-2501



3. How have other jurisdictions approached the problem this proposed rule intends to
address?

a. Is this proposed rule related to any existing federal law?

Federal 
citation 

Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho 
rule more stringent? (if 
applicable) 

b. How does this proposed rule compare to other state laws?

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho 
rule more stringent? (if 
applicable) 

Washington 
Oregon 
Nevada 
Utah 
Wyoming 
Montana 
Alaska 
South Dakota 

c. If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal
government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique
circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:



4. What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

5. What is the anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders? Include
how you will involve stakeholders in the negotiated rulemaking process?

Category Potential Impact 
Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any 
dedicated fund, or federal fund 

Impact to Idaho businesses, with special 
consideration for small businesses 

Impact to any local government in Idaho 

6. What cumulative regulatory volume does this proposed rule add?

Category Impact 
Net change in word count 
Net change in restrictive word count 

Cash balance forecasts show that this relatively modest increase in licensing fees should 
allow the board to regain a healthy cash balance. 



7. Should this rule chapter remain as a rule chapter or be moved to statute as suggested in Section 67-
5292, Idaho Code?

Category Impact 
What is the cost of publishing 
this rule chapter annually? 
(Multiply the number of pages 
x $56) 
How frequently has this rule 
chapter been substantively 
updated over the past 5 years? 
(Exclude republishing 
triggered solely by recent 
sunset dates) 
What is the benefit of having 
all related requirements in a 
single location in Idaho Code? 



Physical Therapy  
 

State Law Comparison 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) 
Alaska The following fees are established for physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists, 

and occupational therapy assistants: 
(1) application fee for initial license, $150; 
(2) license fee for physical or occupational therapist for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $200; 
(3) biennial license renewal fee for physical or occupational therapist, $200; 
(4) temporary permit fee, $65; 
(5) limited permit fee, $65; 
(6) license fee for physical therapist assistant or occupational therapy assistant for all or part of the initial biennial 
license period, $130; 
(7) biennial license renewal fee for physical therapist assistant or occupational therapy assistant, $130. 
https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/alaska/12-AAC-02.320 
 

Montana 24.177.401 FEES  
(1) Applicant and license fees are as follows:  
(a) Original license application fee $100  
(b) Out-of-state license application fee 125  
(c) Temporary license fee 100  
(d) Renewal fee 60  
(2) Additional standardized fees are specified in ARM 24.101.403.  
(3) All fees are nonrefundable. 
https://rules.mt.gov/browse/collections/aec52c46-128e-4279-9068-8af5d5432d74/policies/5c10132a-d0d1-
492f-9acc-f830895ddf8f 
 

Nevada PT  
Application Fee                                                       $300.00 
Fingerprint Fee                                                        $39.00  
Exam Processing Fee                                              $25.00  

https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/alaska/12-AAC-02.320
https://rules.mt.gov/browse/collections/aec52c46-128e-4279-9068-8af5d5432d74/policies/5c10132a-d0d1-492f-9acc-f830895ddf8f
https://rules.mt.gov/browse/collections/aec52c46-128e-4279-9068-8af5d5432d74/policies/5c10132a-d0d1-492f-9acc-f830895ddf8f


National Exam Fee (payable to FSBPT)                $485.00  
 
PTA  
Application Fee                                                       $200.00  
Fingerprint Fee                                                        $39.00  
Exam Processing Fee                                              $25.00  
National Exam Fee (payable to FSBPT)                $485.00  
 
Other  
Change of Name                                                    $25.00  
Duplicate of Lost License                                      $25.00  
Business Address List via Email                           $50.00  
Licensure List                                                        $50.00  
Annual Renewal PT                                               $150.00  
Late Renewal PT                                                    $150.00  
Annual Renewal PTA                                            $100.00  
Late Renewal PTA                                                 $100.00  
https://ptboard.nv.gov/Licensure/Fee_Schedule/ 
 

Oregon 848-005-0020: Board Fees and Refunds 
(1) The following fees shall be paid to the Board: 
(a) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Examination Application Fee of $187.00, plus the actual 
cost to the Board of conducting a nationwide background verification. 
(b) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Endorsement Application Fee of $187.00, plus the actual 
cost to the Board of conducting a nationwide background verification. 
(c) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Military Spouse Temporary Permit Application Fee of $99. 
(d) Physical Therapist License Renewal Fee of $200.00, plus the actual cost to the Board of conducting a 
workforce demographics survey as required by ORS 676.410(6) as well as nationwide background verification. 
(e) Physical Therapist Assistant License Renewal Fee of $130.00, plus the actual cost to the Board of conducting 
a workforce demographics survey as required by ORS 676.410(6) as well as nationwide background verification. 
(f) Lapsed License Renewal Fee of $50.00 for renewal applications postmarked or received by the Board after 
March 31st of an even numbered year. 

https://ptboard.nv.gov/Licensure/Fee_Schedule/


(g) On-line renewal and application convenience fee not to exceed the actual processing costs of an on-line 
electronic transaction. 
(h) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Compact Privilege Fee of $50.00. 
(i) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Temporary Permits Fee of $50.00. 
(j) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Verification of Oregon Licensure or Verification of 
Application Status Letters/Forms Fee of $25.00. 
(k) Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) Check Fee of $25.00. 
(l) Miscellaneous Fees: 
(A) Physical Therapist and/or Physical Therapist Assistant electronic mailing list fee of $100.00. 
(B) Photocopying administrative fee of $25.00, plus ten cents ($0.10) per copy. 
(2) Board refunds of overpayments in any amount of $25.00 or less will be held by the Board unless the payor 
requests a refund in writing. 
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=280244 
 

South Dakota  20:66:01:01.  Fee amounts. The fees associated with physical therapist and physical therapist assistant licensing 
are: 
    (1)  Application for an initial license, one hundred twenty dollars; and 
    (2)  Biennial renewal of a license, one hundred twenty dollars. 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:66:01:01 
 

Utah Profession Type                               Application Fee        Renewal Fee 
Physical Therapist                             70.00                        47.00  
FBI Fingerprint file search                $10.00 per person  
BCI Fingerprint file search                $20.00 per person  
 
Physical Therapist Assistant              60.00                        47.00  
Trigger point dry needle pract. regis. 50.00 ------  
Compact license                                 47.00                        47.00 
https://dopl.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/fee-schedule.pdf 
 

Washington Physical Therapist Fees:  
Title of Fee Fee 
Original application   

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=280244
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/20:66:01:01
https://dopl.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/fee-schedule.pdf


  Application $80.00 
Active license renewal   
  License renewal 100.00 
  Late renewal penalty 50.00 
  Expired license reissuance 50.00 
Inactive license renewal   
  License renewal 35.00 
  Expired license reissuance 50.00 
Duplicate license 10.00 
Endorsement   
  Intramuscular needling endorsement 100.00 
Verification of license 25.00 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-
915-990 
 
Physical Therapy Assistant Fees 
Title of Fee Fee 
Original application   
  Application $75.00 
Active license renewal   
  License renewal 95.00 
  Late renewal penalty 50.00 
  Expired license reissuance 50.00 
Inactive license renewal   
  License renewal 35.00 
  Expired license reissuance 50.00 
Duplicate license 10.00 
Verification of license 25.00 

 

 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-
915-99005 
 

 

 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-915-990
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-915-990
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-915-99005
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-915-99005


Wyoming Section 2.  Fees. 
 (a) Physical therapist application fee:    $240.00 
 (b) Physical therapist assistant application fee:    $190.00 
 (c) Physical therapist annual renewal fee:    $75.00 
 (d) Physical therapist assistant annual renewal fee:  $50.00 
 (e) Reissuance of an expired physical therapist license:  $240.00 
 (f) Reissuance of an expired physical therapist assistant certificate: $190.00 
 (g) Duplicate certificate or pocket card:     $25.00 
 (h) License verification to another jurisdiction:    $25.00 
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=062 
 

 

https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=062
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