To obtain your salesperson license, you are required to complete 90 hours of prelicense education which include:
- Salesperson Prelicense Module 1 (45 hours) – This course is a study of fundamental real estate concepts.
- Salesperson Prelicense Module 2 (45 hours) – This course is the study of the knowledge and applied skills involved in listing, selling, buying, and closing real property transactions.
All courses must be completed within the 3 years immediately preceding the license application date. Prelicense courses may be taken live in a traditional classroom, through remote delivery via Zoom, or as self-paced online study. You must attend 100% of each course, and you must complete a final course exam for each of the courses with a 70% or higher passing score.
To obtain your associate broker’s license, you must complete a minimum of 90 hours of prelicense education which include:
- Brokerage Management (28 hours) – This course covers how to set up and run a real estate brokerage office in accordance with Idaho law.
- Real Estate Law (30 hours) – This course covers the principles of law governing interests in real estate and contract law with an emphasis on Idaho Law.
- Two electives from the following list:
- Real Estate Finance (20 hours) – Introduction to real estate financing, the sources and application of funds, commonly-used financial instruments, institutional structures and policies, and loan processing.
- Valuation & Analysis (20 hours) – Introduction to the appraisal process and the different approaches and techniques used to determine the value of various types of property, with an emphasis on residential brokerage practice.
- Idaho GRI 101 and 102 through Idaho REALTORS® (both portions must be taken to fulfill one elective requirement)
- Idaho GRI 201 and 202 through Idaho REALTORS® (both portions must be taken to fulfill one elective requirement)
- CCIM Designation Courses through CCIM Institute (attended live only and not completed by “challenge” or through online delivery unless the online course is ARELLO® certified). The options are:
To obtain your Designated Broker or Branch Office Manager’s license, you must meet the requirements to hold a broker’s license and you must also complete the Business Conduct & Office Operations (BCOO) course within the 3 years immediately preceding submission of your license application and submit the required office paperwork. Please see the Apply for or Renew a License page for more information.
The BCOO course is a review of Idaho agency law, procedures for trust accounting, and maintaining transaction files in accordance with Idaho License Law and Rules. Note: Completion of the Brokerage Management course within the appropriate time fulfils the requirement to take BCOO.
All courses must be completed within the 3 years immediately preceding the license application date. Prelicense courses may be taken live in a traditional classroom, through remote delivery via Zoom, or as self-paced online study.
You must attend 100% of each course. Click here to view the current course attendance policy. You must also complete a final course exam for each prelicense course with a 70% or higher passing score to receive credit for attending.
If you are attending a class through remote delivery (Zoom), you must agree to abide by the Student Remote Delivery Engagement Terms. Please take time before you attend a course offered through remote delivery to become familiar with these requirements. If you fail to meet these terms, the provider may remove you from the course and/or deny course credit.
Prelicense courses are offered by private education providers. Visit the Education Lookup to find a current schedule of prelicense courses in your area.
The Commission’s Approved Textbook List and study resources can be found by clicking here.
For broker and salesperson candidates:
If you currently hold an active real estate license in another state or jurisdiction, you may apply for an exam waiver that exempts you from taking the national portion of the licensing exam and the prelicense education. You must still take the Idaho portion of the licensing exam. Click here to access the waiver request form.
To request any other education waivers or an extension of time
Read the Special Consideration Policy for the detailed requirements that apply and a list of suggested documentation to be submitted with your written request. Incomplete requests will not be considered. You may find it faster and easier to meet the statutory education and exam requirements rather than requesting special consideration.
For broker license candidates only:
- If you currently hold an active law license and are currently practicing law, you may apply for a waiver of the broker prelicense real estate law course by written request.
- If you currently hold an active appraisal license and are currently actively practicing as an appraiser, you may apply for a waiver of the broker prelicense Valuation & Analysis elective course by written request.
Your written request must be emailed to BCRE-Education@dopl.idaho.gov. You must include the following items with your request:
- Proof of active licensure in relevant field
- Your contact information, including your current mailing address