Official Government Website

Welcome to the Board of Veterinary Medicine

Phase 1 of DOPL’s new licensing system is now online. See details here.

Please contact us with any questions via email bovminfo@dopl.idaho.gov or phone (208) 334-3233.

Additional Board Information

All ‘active status’ Veterinarians and Certified Veterinary Technicians (CVTs) in Idaho are required to earn and report a minimum of fifteen (15) Continuing Education (CE) credits every two (2) years.  That 2-year period starts July 1st of the year of initial licensure. 

Example:  If you receive your new license in January of 2021, your 2-year CE period is from July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2023.  CE courses taken before or after that time, (ex: March of 2020),  would not count toward your 15 credits. 

Continuing Education (CE) courses and completion certifications should be added to your online profile.  Your reporting year can be found in your online profile by going to page three (3) and looking for “Reported Year.”

Board of Veterinary Medicine

Board Fees

  

Renewal Fees for Active License/Certificate

 

Veterinarian

$175.00

Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT)

$75.00

Certified Euthanasia Technician (CET)

$100.00

Certified Euthanasia Agency (CEA)

$200.00

  

Renewal Fees for Inactive License/Certificate

 

Veterinarian

$50.00

Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT)

$25.00

  

Inactive to Active License/Certificate Fees

 

Veterinarian

$325.00

Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT)

$125.00

  

CEA/CET Application & Certification Fees

 

Certified Euthanasia Technician (CET)

$128.25

Certified Euthanasia Agency (CEA)

$100.00

  

Late Fees

 

Veterinarian

$200.00

Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT)

$50.00

Certified Euthanasia Technician (CET)

$50.00

Certified Euthanasia Agency (CEA)

$50.00

  

Veterinary Pro-Rated Licensing Fees

 

June

$303.25

July

$286.25

August

$269.92

September

$253.25

October

$236.58

November

$219.92

December

$203.25

January

$186.58

February

$169.92

March

$153.25

April

$136.58

May

$119.92

  

CVT Pro-rated Licensing Fees

 

June

$153.25

July

$147.00

August

$140.75

September

$134.50

October

$128.25

November

$122.00

December

$115.75

January

$109.50

February

$103.25

March

$97.00

April

$90.75

May

$84.50

Please follow this link for web payment.

Committee on Humane Euthanasia (COHE):
The Committee on Humane Euthanasia is established for the purpose of training, examining, and certifying euthanasia agencies and euthanasia technicians.

Certified Euthanasia Agency (CEA):  
A certified euthanasia agency is a law enforcement agency, an animal control agency, a humane society, or an animal shelter that has been inspected and certified by the Committee on Humane Euthanasia or the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board). To become a CEA, the agency must contact the Board and request an application. Once certified, the CEA must register with the Idaho Board of Pharmacy (BOP) and the US Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) and apply for controlled substance licenses.

Certified Euthanasia Technician (CET):  
A certified euthanasia technician is a person that has fulfilled the certification requirements and has been certified by the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine to perform euthanasia as an employee of the certified euthanasia agency. To become a CET, the CEA’s Lead CET must request an application from the Board of Veterinary Medicine. Once certified, the CET must register with the Idaho Board of Pharmacy (BOP) and apply for a controlled substance license using the CEA’s DEA control substance license.

**Information about Board of Pharmacy controlled substance registration can be found here.

Q: What are the continuing education requirements for Veterinarians and Certified Veterinary Technicians?

A: All ‘active status’ Veterinarians and Certified Veterinary Technicians (CVTs) in Idaho are required to earn and report Continuing Education (CE) credits every two (2) years.  That 2-year period starts July 1stof the year of initial licensure.  Example:  If you receive your new license in January of 2021, your 2-year CE period is from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2023.  CE courses taken before or after that time period, (ex: March of 2020),  would not count toward your 15 credits.

The link “2022 Renewal CE Vet & CVT Requirements” below shows the requirements for Vets and CVTs.

Q: How do I submit my continuing education credits?

A: CE courses and completion certifications should be added to your online profile by using the link IBVMChanges (Login) (idaho.gov).  Your reporting year can also be found in your online profile by going to page three (3) and looking for “Report Year.”

Q: How do Veterinarians, CVTs and Sponsoring Companies Request Approval to Create a Continuing Education Event?

A: Click the link “Request for CE Approval Form” below.  Complete the form, save, then email to bovminfo@dopl.idaho.gov.

Q: How do I request a verification of licensure?

Each state requires different forms of certification of licensure. Please check with the state where you are applying to see what is required before requesting certification from Idaho. Certifications can be obtained two ways from Idaho, both through your Online Services account, they can be found under the “Menu” option once logged into your account:

  1. A free Letter of Good Standing may be obtained through your Online Services Account. This letter contains all public information (not exam scores).
    1. From your online profile select the “Menu” link in the tile of the license you want a letter for.
    2. Select “Request a Good Standing Letter”.
  2. If the receiving state doesn’t accept web-based certifications or requires information exempt from third-party disclosure (example: exam scores) to be included in the certification, you will need to request a Certified Licensure History Letter through your Online Services account. There is a $10.00 fee for this service and you will be able to pay through your online account.
    1. From your online profile select the “Menu” link in the tile of the license you want a letter for.
    2. Select “Request a Certified Licensure History Letter”.
    3. You will be prompted to answer a question and proceed through a payment process. 

NamePositionExpirationOriginal Appointment
John CalhounNampa–VeterinarianSeptember 1, 2024May 11, 2020
Dawn MehraSandpoint–VeterinarianSeptember 1, 2025February 23, 2021
Stephen DahlquistJerome–VeterinarianOctober 15, 2026April 18, 2022
Nan E MuellerPocatello–VeterinarianSeptember 1, 2026February 17, 2023
Paul H MartinRigby–VeterinarianSeptember 1, 2028January 18, 2024
William “Gus” A BrackettRogerson–Public MemberSeptember 1, 2026January 18, 2024

Related Links:

What does a regulatory Board do?

How to Become a Board Member?

Board News

Board Meeting Calendar

ver: 3.5.2a | last updated: