Q. Can I send in my forms electronically?
A. Yes! Please email forms and documents to HP-Licensing@dopl.idaho.gov
Q. How long is the application process?
A. Once the Board of Nursing has received your completed application and all necessary documents your application will move into final review. Final review will take up to 5 business days.
Q. How long can my application remain open?
A. Applications and fees remain valid for one year from the date of submittal.
Q. How do I check my application progress?
A. Go to the Nurse Portal and monitor your progress regularly through the status link.
Q. What is required for a Name Change?
A. Email or upload (PDF preferred) a state issued driver’s license and the impetus (reason) for the name change, such as a Divorce Decree, or Marriage Certificate, or Court Order/Judgment.
Q. How can I best be notified about things that affect my licensure?
A. The Board of Nursing has gone paperless and thus relies on e-mail for communication. Keep your email up to date in the Nurse Portal and sign up for e-Notify via https://www.nursys.com/.
Q. How do I register for the NCLEX Exam?
A. Visit the Pearson Vue web site at https://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex/
Q. How do I find out my NCLEX results?
A. Examination results, available only from your Board of Nursing, will be emailed to candidates within two (5) business days of taking the examination.
Q. When can I re-test if I failed the NCLEX?
A. Exam applicants are eligible to re-test after 45 days.
Q. Can I send my fingerprints electronically?
A. Law Enforcement or finger printing stations may use LiveScan to scan fingerprints, but the images must be printed onto a card, (any standard fingerprint card will suffice) and mailed to us.
Q. Where do I send my fingerprints?
A. Mail to: Idaho Board of Nursing, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0061
Q. Why do I have to be fingerprinted when I reinstate my license?
A. As your nursing license is no longer active, and per Board of Nursing requirements, fingerprints are necessary for new applications. [ID Code 54-1401]
Q. Will I have to retake the NCLEX to reinstate my license back to the active status?
A. No, re-taking of the NCLEX is not required for reinstatement. Fingerprints, employment verification and potential completion of Continued Competence Requirements are part of the application process.
Q. Can I apply for a temporary license alone?
A. You must apply for a renewable license to be eligible for a temporary license. Cost $25
Q. How do I apply for a temporary license?
A. Log into the Nurse Portal and either apply within your application or apply for a temporary application (do not select a Short-term temporary application as this is conditional).
Q. How do I extend my temporary license?
A. Contact the board HP-Licensing@dopl.idaho.gov
Q. What is required for a graduate license?
A. You must have Approval to Test (ATT for the NCLEX); and this temporary license is only good for 90 days, it is conditional and cannot be extended.
VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE
Q. How do I request verification of my licensure via NURSYS?
A. Go to https://www.nursys.com/Select green box on right; “Nurse License Verification for Endorsement,” follow request instructions, and pay designated fee.
Q. How do I request an official verification of my license in Idaho?
A. Individuals who request that a Verification of Licensure be sent to another Board of Nursing (and were actively licensed in Idaho any time after 1989), must request Nurse License Verification for Endorsement through the NURSYS system. NURSYS is a comprehensive electronic information system that includes nurse licensing and disciplinary information and is maintained by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN). The fee for this service is $30.00 due to NCSBN. You may request this online verification at https://www.nursys.com/and will need to provide your credit card information at that time.
Individuals originally licensed prior to 1989 and who did not maintain an active license through 1989 need to first contact the Idaho Board of Nursing. At that time, licensure data is then uploaded to the NURSYS system for future verification of licensure. Then, the Nurse License Verification for Endorsement is available through the NURSYS system.
For states that do not currently participate in the NURSYS Nurse License Verification for Endorsement option (California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania), individuals need to submit the Idaho Board of Nursing Licensure Verification Form. (LINK TO PDF FORM ATTACHED)
Q. How do I request license verification from California?
A. ONLINE RN/APRN – https://www.breeze.ca.gov/, Submit “Request for License Letter,” with fee
MAIL – Attach a check or money order payable to “BRN” and mail to:
California Board of Registered Nursing
Unit PO Box 944210
Sacramento, CA 94244-2100
ONLINE LPN/LVN: https://bvnpt.ca.gov/consumers/license_verification.shtml
MAIL – Attach check or money order payable to “BVNPT”
California Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive – Suite 205
Sacramento, CA 95833-2945
Q. How do I request license verification of Idaho APRN license for another Board?
A. Each State BON has their own form, in general, but we will accept an email with a release and required information.
Q. What is an acceptable Certification for Advance Practice documentation for the application process?
A. Within the application process, national certifications are accepted from the awarding body, or the applicant (including wall certificate or wallet card – but no screen shots).
Q. What is a compact license and how do I apply?
A. Idaho residents can learn more and apply for a Compact License by visiting https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm.
Q. Where do I find the FAQs for prescriber mandatory checking of controlled substances?
A. PRESCRIBER MANDATORY CHECKING FAQ (link to PDF)
Q. What is needed for Employment Verification?
A. The Employment Verification form is designed for the applicant to complete. Please sign and date the top portion and then send it to the employer for completion and transmittal via email to the Board of Nursing at HP-Licensing@dopl.idaho.gov
Note: If the form does not come from the employer (or 3rd Party), it may be rejected.
Q. What is an acceptable transcript or affidavits of graduation?
A. Transcripts and Affidavits of Graduation must be received by the original institution or a transcript service and sent to the Idaho Board of Nursing either by mail or via email HP-Licensing@dopl.idaho.gov
Q. What are guidelines for reporting practice violations to the Board of Nursing?
A. Nurses who are grossly negligent or reckless in performing nursing functions or who otherwise violate the Nursing Practice Act or Board of Nursing Rules shall be reported to the Board of Nursing.
“Minor incident” means conduct that does not indicate the nurse’s continuing to practice poses a risk of injury or harm to the patient or to another person. Minor incidents need not be reported to the Board of Nursing if all of the following factors are present:
Potential risk of physical, emotional or financial harm or injury to the patient due to the incident is very low; and
The incident is a one-time minor event with no pattern of poor practice; and
The nurse exhibits a conscientious approach to and accountability for his/her practice by following policies/procedures relative to the incident (i.e., notifying supervisor, calling physician, completing an incident report); and
The nurse appears to have the knowledge and skills to practice safely.
The presence of contributing or mitigating circumstances may be taken into consideration. The Board recommends that:
An incident/variance report be completed for all minor incidents-to include a complete description of the incident, patient record number and witnesses; and
the nurse manager maintains the records of minor incidents and document the action taken to correct or remediate the problem; and
Three minor incidents in one year be evaluated by a peer review or administrative committee to determine if a report to the Board of Nursing is Nothing in these Guidelines is intended to prevent or discourage direct reporting to the Board of Nursing.
Q. What are the continuing education requirements for an APRN?
A. Continuing Education Requirements for renewing an APRN license include completing 30 contact hours of continuing education during the renewal period, which shall include 10 contact hours in pharmacology if the nurse has prescriptive authority. Contact hours will be prorated for APRNs whose initial license was issued midway into a renewal period (e.g. a new graduate whose initial license is valid for 1 year is required to attest to 15.0 contact hours of continuing education and 5.0 contact hours in pharmacology-related content).