Q: How can I verify when my license has been issued?
A: You will receive a licensure packet in the mail, including your license cards and a decorative wall certificate. Licensure status may also be verified by clicking on the link entitled License and Registration Search.
Q: I have let my license lapse, what must I do to activate that license?
A: A license that has been lapsed less than five years may be reinstated upon submission of a renewal application together with the payment of all back renewal fees, a license re-instatement fee, and proof of completion of continuing education as required in the rules. If a license has been lapsed for more than five years, a new application for licensure is required.
Q: How do I request a duplicate license?
A: The license/registration issued to you by the Division is public proof that you are entitled to pursue certain activities regulated by Idaho Law. If your license/registration becomes lost or destroyed, you may obtain a replacement from the Division. A replacement may also be requested if you have changed your name or address and wish to receive a license/registration bearing the updated information.
You may complete the Application for Duplicate License form online, print it out and sign it, and send it with the fee required by Idaho law to the Division. Your application will not be processed unless the fee is received with the application. A replacement card will be sent to the mailing address.
Q: I am applying for licensure in another state, and it requires verification of my Idaho license. What is the process? How long will it take to process my request?
A: Each state requires different forms of certification of licensure. Please check with the state where you are applying to see what is required before requesting certification from Idaho.
Certifications can be obtained two ways from Idaho:
- Free primary source verification of license/registration status may be obtained via the web at www.dopl.idaho.gov. Click on search licenses and registrations. These certifications contain all public information.
- For an official verification submit the Request for Official Licensure Certification Form, which must include a $10.00 fee. The processing time is 5-10 business days. The Division cannot accept credit card payments over the phone.
Q: Do I submit my continuing education hours to the Board office?
A: Only those licensees randomly selected for continuing education audit or renewing late must submit proof of their continuing education credits along with their audit or renewal application.
Q: Should I regularly review the laws and rules even if I’ve practiced as a psychologist for years?
A: Yes. As a professional, you should regularly review the governing laws and rules for your profession. It is important to be aware that the laws and rules can change, which may impact the way you are allowed to practice. Both the laws and rules are available on the Board website.
Q: What is the difference between a psychologist and a psychiatrist?
A: Psychiatrists are medical doctors. They hold either a Doctor of Medicine (MD) or a Doctor of Osteopathy degree (DO). Psychologists are not medical doctors. Psychologists hold doctoral level graduate degrees. Most licensed psychologists in Idaho have either a Doctor of Philosophy degree (Ph D) or a Psychology Doctorate (Psy D). Upon completion of their MD or DO degrees, psychiatrists can prescribe medications. In order for a psychologist to prescribe medicine in Idaho, they must have completed additional academic training and credentialing. Specifically, they need a master’s degree in Psychopharmacology. Psychologists who do not complete this additional education cannot prescribe medications in Idaho.
Psychologists’ unique niche as mental health team members skill is their expertise in the administration and interpretations of neuropsychology and psychological tests. Both psychiatrists and psychologists are trained to engage in psychotherapy and other types of mental health treatment services.
Q: What is the difference between a psychologist and a counselor?
A: Counselors are also licensed professionals in Idaho. Counselors can be licensed following the completion of the master’s degree. Psychologists are only licensed in Idaho if they have completed a doctoral degree. Clinical psychology graduate programs emphasize research methods. Counseling programs tend to emphasize the clinical practice issues more than research methods. Both professionals provide mental health treatment services.
Q: Do psychologists go to medical school?
A: Psychologists do not attend medical school as they are not medical doctors. Instead of attending medical school, psychologists complete advanced graduate education at universities after graduating from a college or university with a Baccalaureate degree. While graduate school psychologists are schooled in the science of psychology. They learn that when engaged in clinical practice methods that they use should be evidence based. Evidence based methods have been demonstrated to be effective based upon research studies conducted on them.
Q: Can psychologists prescribe medicine?
A: In Idaho, psychologists can prescribe medication if they hold a Certificate of Prescription Authority. Such Certifications are granted to licensed psychologist who complete advanced education above and beyond that needed for them to prescribe medication.
Q: Some psychologists have Ph.D. after their name, and some have Psy.D. What’s the difference?
A: The Doctor of Philosophy degree is a credential conferred by universities after students have completed advanced study and research in an academic field. Most graduate programs conferring Ph.D. degrees requires student to complete an original research project. Psy. D. degrees can be conferred by either a university or a professional School of Psychology. Psy. D. programs tend to emphasize the practice of the profession of psychology rather than advancing research in the field.
Q: I live in Idaho part-time. Can my psychologist in the other state where I live continue my treatment via technology while I am in Idaho?
A: Please review the Idaho Virtual Care Access Act for guidance.
Q: Do insurance companies cover the services provided by psychologists? What about Medicaid?
A: Yes, in order to confirm that a particular provide is covered by your insurance, it is best to call the psychologist’s office and provide the detail on your insurance provider, including details on your Medicaid/Medicare coverage. This call should be made prior to confirming an appointment.
Q: How can I find a psychologist who practices in my part of the state?
A: The Board provides a list of all licensed psychologists in Idaho. Click “Search for a License or Registration” on the Board home page.
Q: How do I determine whether a psychologist provides that kind of service that I need?
A: The Idaho Psychologist Association can be contacted about the services provided by psychologists in your area: https://www.idahopsych.org/
Q: What is the job market in Idaho?
A: The Board office does not maintain state job information. Please contact the Idaho Department of Commerce or the Idaho Department of Labor.
Q: Where do I find the FAQs for prescriber mandatory checking of controlled substances?
A: Please visit PRESCRIBER MANDATORY CHECKING FAQ.