Q: I am applying for licensure in another state, and they require verification of my license in Idaho. What is the process?
A: Each state requires different forms of certification of licensure. Please check with the state where you are applying to see what is required before requesting certification from Idaho.
Certifications can be obtained two ways from Idaho:
- Free primary source verification of license/registration status may be obtained via the web at https://apps.dopl.idaho.gov/DOPLPublic/LPRBrowser.aspx. Click on search licenses and registrations. These certifications contain all public information.2
- If the receiving state doesn’t accept web-based certifications or requires information exempt from third-party disclosure (example: exam scores) to be included in the certification, use this form, which must include a notarized signature of the license holder and a $10.00 fee. The Division does not take payments over the phone.
Q: Am I allowed to take the national exam (NPTE) before I officially graduate from my PT/PTA program?
A: Yes, candidates may sit for the NPTE no more than 90 days prior to the official graduation date. Before you are eligible to register for the exam, you must first submit to the Board the following material: A complete, notarized application form; including its addendum, the required fees (application, initial license, and administrative), the open book exam, and two (2) professional experience reference forms. You will then receive a letter providing exam registration information. Please refer to the Examination link for applicable deadlines.
Q: I just graduated from school. What do I need to do to sit for the examination to obtain my license?
A: You will need to submit a complete application to DOPL along with the required documentation and fee(s) before you are eligible to sit for the board exam (NPTE). Once this has been received you will be notified by mail. The letter will provide you with instructions for exam registration.
Q: I am a new graduate, and my transcripts are not yet available. Is there another form of documentation to show I have graduated from a nationally accredited school?
A: Yes, the Board may accept the Certificate of Professional Education form. This office must receive the original form that has been signed and certified by your program director verifying your education.
Q: Are their exam preparatory courses I can complete before (re)taking the national examination?
A: Yes, some of these courses are as follows:
* PEAT provided by The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy: Customer Log In – FSBPT
* International Educational Resources: Therapy Exam Prep – Prepare for the NPTE | NPTAE Online
* Team Educational Resources: Home – Therapy Team
Q: What is the time frame for receiving a license once an application and required documentation is submitted?
A: Once the application is complete, it is reviewed for compliance with law and rule. If compliance is confirmed a license will be issued in approximately 3-5 business days. For those which require Board review, the time frame varies and is dependent on the date of the next scheduled meeting.
Q: How can I verify when my license has been issued?
A: You will receive a licensure packet in the mail including your license cards and a decorative wall certificate. You can also check licensure status by clicking on the link entitled License and Registration Search. Updates to this site are done daily at 6:00 PM.
Q: Does Idaho have temporary licenses?
A: No. Licensure as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant is available through either endorsement or examination.
Q: How do I request a duplicate license?
A: The license/registration issued to you by the Division is public proof that you are entitled to pursue certain activities regulated by Idaho Law. If your license/registration becomes lost or destroyed, you may obtain a replacement from the Division. A replacement may also be requested if you have changed your name or address and wish to receive a license/registration bearing the updated information.
You may complete the Application for Duplicate License form online, print it out and sign it, and send it with the fee required by Idaho law to the Division. Your application will not be processed unless the fee is received with the application. A replacement card will be sent to the mailing address.
Q: How can I obtain a list of licensed physical therapists and/or assistants? Is there a fee?
A: You may obtain a licensure list from this site by clicking on the link entitled License and Registration Search. At the bottom of the search screen, you will click on “Advanced Search.” Once you have entered the appropriate licensing information hit the “Start Search” option. To view mailing additional contact information including mailing addresses, click on the “Send to Excel” option. There is no fee.
Q: Where can I find the requirements for licensure for foreign trained applicants in your state?
A: Qualifications for foreign trained applicants may be found in Board statute under I.C. 54-2212.
Q: If I am a foreign trained applicant, how do I know if my education will be accepted? Is an English proficiency exam required?
A: You are required to have your education evaluated by an approved credentialing agency. This evaluation must state that your education is substantially equivalent to the requirements of physical therapists or physical therapist assistants educated in United States accredited educational programs.
Yes, those whose native language is not English shall submit proof of successfully passing one (1) of the following English proficiency exams:
1.test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with minimum passing scores of two hundred twenty (220) for computer test and five hundred sixty (560) for paper test
2. test of English as a Foreign Language – internet based test (TOEFL IBT) with minimum passing scores of twenty-four (24) in writing; twenty-six (26) in speaking, twenty-one (21) in reading, and eighteen (18) in listening
3. as otherwise approved by the Board.
Q: Does Idaho allow dry needling?
A: A law to allow qualified physical therapists to practice dry needling passed the 2018 Legislature and went into effect July 1, 2018. The revised rules for the practice of dry needling, effective 2021, can be found under Rules 180 and 181.
All Dry Needling Certification applicants must hold a current, active, unrestricted license as a Physical Therapist issued by the Idaho Board and have been practicing as a licensed physical therapist for a minimum of one year. Prior to including the practice of dry needling such Physical Therapist must submit a dry needling certification application to the Board.
Any Physical Therapist who has held a current, active, unrestricted license issued by the Idaho Board and practiced as a licensed physical therapist for a minimum of one year and plans to include dry needling as part of his/her practice must submit a Dry Needling Certification application to the Board prior to the use of dry needling.
Q: Is Idaho a member of the FSBPT Licensure Compact?
A: The Idaho Physical Therapy Licensure Board has reviewed the Physical Therapy Compact (“Compact,” an agreement between member states to improve access to physical therapy services for the public by increasing the mobility of eligible physical therapy providers to work in multiple states). After thorough discussion, the Board has elected to defer membership in the Compact at this time. Idaho law currently allows certain licensure exemptions, such as for personnel in the armed services, and the Board provides quick issuance of licensure to applicants at minimal cost and inconvenience. The Board will continue to monitor the needs of applicants and act accordingly.
Q: Does the Board approve continuing education courses that include content that is not in the scope of the practice of physical therapy?
A: The Board requires continuing education courses for physical therapists and physical therapist assistant to be “integrally related and germane to the practice of the profession,” and “relevant to physical therapy.”
Using this standard, the Board’s approval of a course for continuing education credit does not necessarily mean the entire subject matter of the course is within the scope of practice of a PT or a PTA. PTs and PTAs treat patients in conjunction with a variety of other health care professionals. Such a collaborative effort can require a PT or a PTA to have familiarity with and understanding of the treatments provided by other professionals even though the treatments are not within the scope of practice of physical therapy. For this reason, the Board approves some courses for continuing education even where the subject matter of the course is outside the scope of physical therapy practice in Idaho.
Q: How many hours of continuing education do I need to maintain my license? Can I use excess hours for the next renewal?
A: Licensees must annually complete sixteen (16) contact hours of continuing education prior to license renewal. Hours in excess may be carried forward and may be used only during the next renewal period and may not be carried forward more than one (1) time.
Q: When do I provide the documentation to the Board?
A: There are two instances for which you are required to submit certificates of completion:
1) if you do not renew your license prior to the expiration date (your birth date) or
2) if you are randomly audited.
Q: Do continuing education courses/seminars require pre-approval by the Board?
A: No. If you have a question as to whether or not it would meet the criteria you may submit an application for board review.
The guidelines for acceptable CE credits can be found in the rules governing Physical Therapy.
PLEASE NOTE: CE courses, seminars, and/or other activities that meet the requirements as stated in Rule and are germane to the practice of physical therapy do not require pre-approval.
For all other offerings, you may request Board approval by submitting a completed Continued Education Approval Form.
For verification of Board approved courses/seminars click on the link below.
APPROVED CE COURSES
Q: Is there a listing of courses/seminars the Board has previously reviewed and approved for continuing education?
A: Yes, a list of approved courses/seminars may be found on the Board’s web site under the Continuing Education Requirements link.
Q: I am a provider for continuing education. How can I obtain approval for my course(s)?
A: Board approval may be obtained by submitting a completed Continued Education Approval Application Form. These applications are reviewed by the Board during regularly scheduled meetings. To view when the next meeting is scheduled, click on the link entitled Calendar of Events.
Q: How does the Board ensure compliance with the continuing education requirements?
A: The Board conducts annual audits to ensure compliance with the continuing education requirements. Audits may be initiated any time after you renew your license. By submitting your renewal and answering “Yes” to the question that you have met the continuing education requirements, you are certifying to the Board that you have already obtained proof of having completed the required continuing education.
When you are audited, you must submit a listing of all continuing education courses completed during the previous year AND proof of attendance documentation for each course. Continuing education hours accumulated during the twelve (12) months immediately preceding the license expiration date may be applied toward meeting the continuing education requirement for the next license renewal. Hours in excess of the required hours may be carried forward. Excess hours may be used only during the next renewal period and may not be carried forward more than one (1) time. If you are audited and you carried forward hours, you must submit complete documentation for both the audit period and for the previous year. Failure to submit the required documentation may result in Board action against you.
Q: If I move to Idaho, do I have to have a license certification?
A: Yes. You will need to contact the state board(s) where you are or have been licensed and have them send a license certification directly to the Board at email@example.com.
Q: I have let my license lapse, what must I do to activate that license?
A: A license that has been lapsed less than five years may be reinstated upon submission of a renewal application together with the payment of all back renewal fees, a license re-instatement fee, and proof of completion of continuing education as required in the rules. If a license has been lapsed for more than five years, a new application for licensure is required.
If you have additional questions, please contact the Division at (208) 334-3233 or firstname.lastname@example.org.